We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely looking place, but something is missing”
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #52 of 74 Restaurants in Port Moody
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Murray Street
Description: The Boathouse - Port Moody is a casual-fine dining waterfront restaurant specializing in seafood cuisine prepared in a West Coast style.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely looking place, but something is missing”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We liked the meal. The food, service, and attention were fine. Our reservation seating time on a Saturday evening was respected, in fact they accommodated a table location change to the window without hesitation. Yet, something feels amiss in the atmosphere and I cannot put my finger on it. Perhaps the other reviews touch on this, there is a lack of style or essence that a restaurant should have and The Boathouse lacks. The location is great and the view is beautiful. I must admit I found it odd that our server often said "I don't know" when we asked about the food. Interestingly, when we asked how business was, the response was unhesitatingly "it has been slower than I would expect on these lovely days" and Vancouver has enjoyed many lovely days this summer

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EPMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    92
    83
    76
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
2 reviews
“Stay away”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We're foodies and this is one of our worst dining experiences. We had visited 2 years back when it opened and had a poor experience but thought since we had a gift card, we'd give it another chance, BIG mistake! In speaking to friends about our experience this is very common. We had out of town family in for a visit and were embarrassed by the whole experience. Although we had a reservation we had to wait for a table and seemed to be of little priority to the staff. We waited a long time to be greeted by our server, to get our drinks and didn't receive bread to the table for 30 minutes and that's only because we asked twice. When items were delivered to the table something was always missing. Of the 6 appies only the mussels and crab cakes were good. Our mains were delivered without cutlery and we had to flag wait staff. The mains were poor to average at best. The fries with the halibut were clearly frozen fries, nothing fresh. The kicker, the restaurant was over run with fruit flies which we had to battle during our meal. Obviously we passed on dessert. The bill (with 1 bottle of mid priced wine and 3 beer) was just under $400. All six of us felt the same way about the whole experience. What a joke. NEVER again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view, outside seating very nice.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Had a very nice salad. Enjoyable evening outside. Service was very good and we all enjoyed our meals. Not long of a wait even for a prime outside table.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob_Alexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
1 review
“Very disappointed by the food”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Had my birthday dinner with my husband. Lots of flies flying around. The food was a big disappointment. I ordered the taco's. It was hard to find any meat in there. Could have done a much better job myself and i am a terrible cook.
Never going there again for a dinner. Only ok for drinks and the view

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Busy”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our server was friendly. A little surprised we had quite a wait for a table midweek. The range of dishes was ok & the food tasted good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing