We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a visit- excellent food service & presentation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aroma Indian Restaurant and Lounge

Aroma Indian Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #4 of 73 Restaurants in Port Moody
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Moody, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“well worth a visit- excellent food service & presentation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We go here often and are never disappointed. The host is charming and the prices are reasonable for authentic Indian cuisine and ambiance.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgetteMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    42
    9
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in the tri-city area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Really the best Indian food and we've tried most of their competition. Prices are reasonable but you'll get more bang for your buck of you take out as opposed to eating in, portion size will more than double.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kwoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had just done a hike in the Buntzen Lake area and looked online to see if we could eat at a great restaurant in Port Moody. So, we looked up restaurants on trip advisor and Aroma Indian restaurant came up with 38 reviews and a 4.5 out of 5. Can't lose right? wrong.

The food was average at best. Ordered malai Kofta and Chicken Korma. We were asked how spicy and we said mild to medium. Mine came out with no spice at all and the korma came out so hot it burned both our mouths couldn't even taste the flavour. The actual koftas were total mush, barely kept their shape and not too much on the flavour side. It was very average. Nowhere near the amazing quality that we expected after reading these trip advisor comments.

The service was also lacking. They were nice and friendly, but they seemed more concerned about cleaning up tables than taking care of the customers. We had to wait quite a long time to order desert (the Kulfi and Rasmali were decent). Then had to wait a long time to get our bill. Felt neglected.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Idealistic74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The Best Exotic Aroma Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This Indian restaurant is superb. The food, service, and ambience are excellent. If you enjoy Indian food, this is the place to go. The prices are modest and the value is tops. We've visited three times, and have always left feeling satisfied and happy to have had such a delightful experience. The patio area is simple, but - ooo-la-la! - the interior is elegant and worthy of any romantic experience. This is a holding-hands/popping-the-question/planning-the-rest-of-your-life kinda place. Try the several different kinds of naan bread - betcha can't eat just one! As with many Indian restaurants, your spice choices are mild, medium, or hot.

Two very serious complaints: (1) The restaurant's website is amateurish and not at all reflective of the quality within. The website makes the place look like a "joint,"and makes the food appear unappetizing. (2) For such an elegant place with such fine service, the restaurant's drink menu has a several "shooter" selections in appallingly poor taste: The "Dirty Hooker," the "Pornstar," and the "Blow Job." This unfortunate website needs serious review by the restaurant's owner. Hire a professional photographer, sir!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PackMyBags815383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best Indian in Greater Vancouver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Go here all the time! Great meal no matter what you order, which is impressive in itself as they have a substantial menu that includes all the Indian favourites and then some. It is a family run business which is well reflected in the meals, as well as the facilities which creates a great atmosphere for any kind of meal and even just drinks as well. Highly recommend some of the best Indian in the Lower Mainland.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dylan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aroma Indian Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 

Been to Aroma Indian Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing