We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Successful "repair"”
Review of Onyx Steak Seafood Bar - CLOSED

Onyx Steak Seafood Bar
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Onyx is a fresh and innovative twist on a classic Steakhouse. We are devoted to cuisine and wine and we show it off by providing an extensive Wine List and serving top cuts of meat that we dry-age ourselves, in-house. That said, we're not above having a little fun! Come in for a drink, an amazing meal or snacks, and fall in love with a room that instantly relaxes you. Between the diverse menu, the vibe of the room and the energy of our staff, we know that you'll feel comfortable in our hands.
Port Moody, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Successful "repair"”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Celebration of our wedding anniversary was spoiled by a lack of professionalism by the staff, especially the chef. Everyone can make a mistake but not everyone knows how to repair it. Kudos to the owner - he phoned us, apologized and invited us for a dinner on the house! We will definitely go back and recommend the place to our friends!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marialuczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    33
    13
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
“Definitely better then the keg”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had the opportunity to head out to Onyx in Port Moody a few nights ago. Had heard and read mixed reviews, but I figured it was worth a shot to find out for myself. I definitely has a better experience then others. Our steaks we're cooked just as we asked, and the ages of both we're over 40 days. We had the petit filet and the 10 oz and both were like butter in our mouths. Both had a very nice crust on them which our server explained was due to the "onyx" seasoning containing brown sugar but either way it was not burnt, and was very delicious. Sauces we're the perfect consistency. There were some flaws and they have a way to go for perfection but I think some other diners must have gone on an off night. We will definitely be returning and spreading the word.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“OK but not exceptional”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are keen to try and support local establishments, so decided to try this place out. While it was ok, we cannot say it was exceptional. Would we go back?, probably not, there are lots of choices in the area, some new and most of which need local support to help them survive. Sometimes you have a memorable meal and/or experience and we cannot say we experienced either at Onyz.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VancouverLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wannabe that isn't.. Poor over-priced food, even worse service”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My strip loin steak was aweful, returned it and the server didn't even ask if I wanted a replacement, AND STILL charged me for the steak even though I had only eaten 1/4 of it. She said she didn't think it was a problem..

When you leave silver skin on, and don't trim your steaks properly then there is a problem!

Avoid

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RdeCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what you get”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Thought we would try it out. The food was really disapointing for the price. The restaurant really lacked attmosphere and it was full of loud noisy people. Also reeked of smoking around the entrance. Should have gone with my gut feeling and walked away when the smokers were hanging out near the door.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank arbourvista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Onyx Steak Seafood Bar also viewed

Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing