We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect paddle”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocky Point Kayak

Rocky Point Kayak
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Port Moody
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rocky Point Kayak is located at the foot of the boat launch at Rocky Point Park in Port Moody. Our sheltered location offers easy access to the Burrard Inlet and the Indian Arm. The calm waters at Rocky Point have an abundance of bird and wildlife just a short paddle from shore. Stunning scenery and secluded beaches provide a quick wilderness escape despite being only 25 minutes from downtown Vancouver. We offer hourly, daily, or weekly rentals, of kayaks, canoes and stand up paddleboards. In addition, we offer Paddle Canada certified lesson programs and tours, and many weekly drop-in social paddles. We have the staff and equipment to host large group or corporate outing and specialize in school paddle trips and lessons. We operate seasonally from April 1 to the end of Thanksgiving. We have a large rental fleet with a diverse range of boats for novice, intermediate and advanced paddlers. Our rental fleet consists of single, double, family-friendly double kayaks, canoes, and stand up paddle boards.
Surrey, BC , Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect paddle”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Lovely location, safe from marine challenges, ideal to take out inexperienced companion. The staff were helpful and friendly and made sure we both had what we needed to have an enjoyable outing. Went with a Groupon...awesome deal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    15
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, dull pace”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband and I went out for Rocky Point Kayak's Moonlight tour on Saturday. Before the tour, we'd each been contacted several times about a change in our departure time, moving the tour to 6:30pm instead of 7 to accommodate the cool evening temperatures. Not a big deal but having arrived at 6:15 to allow time to sign the paperwork and get equipped, we were not impressed when the orientation and tour didn't start until well after 7. The tour group was also large (over 20 kayaks) compared to what we were used to, so launching and landing took a while. If you're looking for a more personalized experience, perhaps another tour is ideal.

The guides were very knowledgeable about the community, its history and the vistas, but the group as a whole was moving at a fast pace and instead of extending the distance to accommodate, kept asking everyone to slow down. As such, I found I spent less time kayaking and more time just sitting.

That being said, the inlet area surrounding Port Moody is spectacular. Having lived here for years, I had no idea about the seals living in the bay or the sea lion habitat nearby. The sunset over the mountains is quite spectacular to see and if you're a novice kayaker, the moonlight tour is ideal as the water is calmer and there are less boats to contend with.

I think next time we decide to go, we'll just rent the kayaks and opt out of the tour.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank avid_w0rld_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie C, Owner at Rocky Point Kayak, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Rocky Point Kayak. It''s because of feedback such as this that we are able to better our programs so everybody has an enjoyable time. We have changed our tours to accommodate 6 guests to 1 instructor so that it can be more tailored to the guests and to ensure getting on the water isn't such an ordeal. We hope that you'll give it another try and hopefully have a more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely park with lots to do”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Lovely park by the harbour, water park for the children and a swimming pool also kayaking and boat launch if you wanted or just a peaceful stroll or walk along the jetty

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moodymcsue
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“return visit just as much fun as our first”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Fiona got home from university just in time for Mother's Day. We celebrated both events with a kayak tour. Last time we rented and went out on our own. This time we joined a Mother's Day special tour group. We went out with 4 other paddlers and a guide for two hours. Having a guide with us gave us the courage to travel farther down the inlet, where we checked out Reid Point Marina and the sea lion research station. It was a glorious day, our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and the equipment was in great condition. From the water, the view of the shoreline and north shore mountains is spectacular. Along the way we were visited by curious harbour seals. The inlet was packed with power boaters, kayakers, sailing boaters and paddle boarders, but our guide kept us safely all together and got us back to shore with no collisions or upsets. Our Mother's Day treat included a delicious ice cream cone at the Rocky Point Ice Cream place. We had a lovely time and will definitely visit again. Next I think we'll try the Plod and Paddle on a Wednesday evening (walk or run one way and kayak the other), or maybe the Women's Kayak evening on a Thursday. These look like great, affordable ways to go for a cruise in our beautiful inlet. Hooray for Rocky Point Kayak!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank moodymcsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great summer fun on the water with friendly guides (and seals).”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

As older Australians we had no pre-conceived ideas about kayaking but our guide Tim assisted us from the Port Moody park area and then down the inlet. He pointed out seals on the lumber in the river and the local eagle high in a tree. This happy crew of young kayakers also teach people to paddleboard. The scenery during summer around Port Moody is terrific but beware of idiots in speed boats, especially on long weekends.
This actvity is ideal for children through to seniors and it's not as difficult as you think! The owner is a go getter who was raised in Port Moody. He also runs the local ice-creamery. We loved the park, the kayaks and the beautiful Burrard inlet. It was a great afternoon!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chiefgreyhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Point Kayak also viewed

Port Moody, British Columbia
 
Port Moody, British Columbia
Port Moody, British Columbia
 

Been to Rocky Point Kayak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing