We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A LITTLE HIDDEN GEM.”
Review of Taste

Taste
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A LITTLE HIDDEN GEM.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice little eaterie for the modern traveller. Spotlessly clean friendly staff and well presented, A good choice of food on offer at a very reasonable price.3 course lunch for £8.00 daily which cannot be faulted. Overall a very nice place too dine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    34
    23
    1
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A good little restaurant”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We regularly go in here after shopping in Cleveleys. The food is good and excellent value for money - especially the hot chocolate drink. Only one small thing, on a Saturday they do not always have some of the food advertised on the menu, ie toasted tea cake and croissants. Despite this 'blip', I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Worth noting, they do not take debit/credit cards so remember to take the cash with you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnrow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Value For Money”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've eaten here on several occasions when visiting a friend in the area. Always good value and very nice home cooked food. Last Saturday had vegetable samosas followed by mozzarella & bacon topped beef burger & trimmings followed by chocolate pot - £8 three course special. My wife had mushroom soup, baked cod and the same chocolate pot. Can'tthink of anywhere better to eat in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, UK
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Poor, disorganised service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The food in this venue was always very good, and we have been coming for quite a while. However on a few occasions we have thought the standards had slipped somewhat. Our recent visit saw us ordering a sandwich each and a portion of chips. We waited over 30 minutes for this to arrive, and it appeared that the kitchen had to go shopping for a number of the ingredients.

The quality of the bread and the sandwich overall was dissapointing. They used to be far better presented and the quality of the bread was much better. My egg and cress sandwich contained a fair proportion of eggshell and the egg was warm.
The plate came with a few chips on them ( so we were not told that the sandwich included a garnish of chips ) and then we got our 'extra' portion as well. The young lady serving was very pleasant, but when I complained about the standards she just smiled and walked away!!

We paid the bill and left. Its such a shame that this place appears to be sliding somewhat. We were not impressed at all and I don't think we shall visit again unless they get more organised and the service improves.

Dr Malc

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DrMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little dissappointed with the service”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We was looking forward to try the Bistro as recommeded to us I had the set menu of 3 courses starter and main was lovely and after a long wait I managed to get hold of a waitress to select my dessert which was was apple crumble and custard she placed the order with the chef again after a long wait it came, it was apple with what tasted of a lot sugar sprinkle over the top of it no crumble . The waitress that was originally served us did not seem to be bother finish serving us and the cafe wasnt even busy

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suehallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste also viewed

Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 

Been to Taste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing