We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever visited”
Review of Regal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Regal Hotel
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst hotel I have ever visited”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I have never stopped in a hotel room which has left me so disappointed and regretting not having used trip advisor. If your only salable feature is that you are the only hotel in the area to have a lift then something is definitely wrong. And something was wrong, not a door in the room opened without bumping into the undersized "double" bead and the heating was turned up to the max which in a room so small is enough to give the illusion of being in a very poorly decorated sauna. The only way to combat such heat is too open the small window in the bedroom / bathroom which overlook the refuse area.

Maybe the cocktail bar would be better? maybe it would had it been open at 6pm but then again it only seemed to serve bitter. it was however open at 9 am perfect for the a breakfast beer. Joking aside the breakfast was the best thing about my stay which may have coincided with the fact that i was to be leaving in less than an hour.

I would never stop there again and would recommend that anyone who was considering it should reconsider. there must be a better hotel in Cleverleys, or then again...

Room Tip: At the entrance to the Regal turn left or right and keep walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stever154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid70vic, Owner at Regal Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Stever154,

We are sorry to here that your stay with us was unsatisfactory and that your room was small.

This room, allocated to yourselves is a small en-suite double, and is used for short stay guests when we are full to capacity. Therefore I assume that your stay was when we were fully booked. I can only apologise for the size of the room, but can assure you that all our bedrooms have been recently refurbished during the winter months.

Also our cocktail bar is open all day for hotel residents and offers a variety of wines and spirits and draught beers. At 6pm, evening dinner would have been in service and our bar tender will have been serving our guests at their tables with wines etc. So there would have been no problem serving you beverages at this time.

Once again I sincerely apologise for your unhappy stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    16
    15
    20
See reviews for
34
53
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were booked into a hotel in blackpool for my birthday 25th march for two nights until we saw the state of it. After visiting friends in cleavleys someone suggested the regal so we called in on the of chance there would be rooms and thank god there was. I can not remember the ladies name who was on reception. But to us she was our saviour and rescuer. What a fabulous hotel the room we had was right on the front and big enough to hold a dance in it with two separate. Rooms for living. And sleeping . The breakfast was fantastic anything you wanted for a cooked full English breakfast. Overall fabulous

Room Tip: Fantastic old building. With everything you need for comfortable. Nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimmi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid70vic, Owner at Regal Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Kimmi1234,

We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and thank you for kind comments. We always enjoy good reviews from new guests as we are always looking at ways to improve our standards and service.

Our receptionist, Julie, remembers you well and is extremely pleased that she made your stay as comfortable as possible.

Once again thank you fore your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I popped into this "hotel" in order to have a few hot drinks whilst we waited for a doctor's appointment nearby, we do this quite often in London and thought it wouldn't be a problem. We walked in and it was as if we had been transported to the film, "The Shining," - with the old music, the 1970s furnishings - all we needed to complete the picture was an axe-wielding Jack Nicholson! We sat having cheap coffee (so cheap it was bad) and I could see from the looks we were getting from the staff behind the bar that we were not welcome. We were sitting perfectly quietly, reading our phones and drinking the coffee. The waitress was constantly staring and as soon as I had taken my last sip, she came to collect the cups. We went back to the bar to order more coffee, as we had more time to wait, and she said, "We don't only do hot drinks. You'll have to leave, this is our busy time." I looked around - there were several empty tables. This is ridiculous, for we have been in the London Ritz, the Dorchester, Fortnum & Mason, etc, and this poky, horrible little backwards place was unwelcoming and ultimately kicked us out! I have never, in all my travelling around the world, have had this situation. In sum, if you like walking into a hotel lounge full of pensioners, staring, rude staff, the smell of old furnishings in the air, disco balls, and tacky carpets from the 1970s, this is your place. I couldn't be paid to go back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid70vic, Owner at Regal Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate our customers honest feedback as this enables us to improve our service. I am always concerned when our customers have an unsatisfactory visit as we pride ourselves on our product quality and excellent customer service.

May I just clarify that we offer a Senior Citizens special everyday and we are very busy during peak periods with 'pensioners' as Cleveleys has a large population of resident Seniors. There are usually also people waiting for tables at these busy periods so also a reason why would need available seats and tables. Our products are always good brands and our coffee is Kenco Milicano so I apologise if this isn't to your taste, but we have never had anyone complain before.

Once again I do offer my sincere apologies to you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thornton Cleveleys hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had spent many happy days in Cleveleys. From our daughter being a baby (now 19) we had spent every month visiting her grandparents in Rossall. We always called in the Regal for lunch and sometimes Sunday dinner. It came as a lovely surprise when she had booked us in for her dad's birthday. We arrived Saturday afternoon and given room 35. The receptionist gave us the key and kindly asked us to go and check if everything was ok. The room was nice but overlooked the back of hotel. We went back and mentioned that it was ok but didn't like overlooking the back. She immediately gave us a choice of 3 other rooms. The room we decided on was number 23 and when we go back, which we definitely will, will opt for this room. So clean and comfortable. Beautifully decorated throughout overlooking the main street. A little side room with 3 seater settee and t.v was just the job. Double bed with another tv was very comfortable. We also had a small fridge. The morning breakfast had everything you could ask for. Excellent service and Tasty hot food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiverpoolPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel between Christmas and New Year. Receptionist very welcoming. Room good size, clean and warm. Breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty to choose from for Dinner. Found the hotel to be very comfortable. Christmas decorations were lovely as was the residents lounge. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 69Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Regal over the New Year Break and found the rooms clean, the beds comfortable, the meals excellent and the staff attentive and friendly, The only downside was thr New Years Eve 'entertainment' which was dire. Of the 60+ guests in the Hotel only around 20 stayed in to watch it. Those whe were in the know, which didn't include us, visited either the British Legion, Ex-servicemen's or Cleveleys WMC which all had good acts on!
We will stay at the Hotel again but not over a Festive Break!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

we went to check on our van and always love the main street at cleveleys.always stop for lunch at the regal as we have never had a bad meal there.last min decided to stop overnight .clean safe,welcoming,breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Cleveleys
0.2 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
212 reviews
3.8 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
528 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
146 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: 70 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thornton Cleveleys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Cleveleys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with café bar & restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Regal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing