We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a scene from The Shining!”
Review of Regal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regal Hotel
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Like a scene from The Shining!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I popped into this "hotel" in order to have a few hot drinks whilst we waited for a doctor's appointment nearby, we do this quite often in London and thought it wouldn't be a problem. We walked in and it was as if we had been transported to the film, "The Shining," - with the old music, the 1970s furnishings - all we needed to complete the picture was an axe-wielding Jack Nicholson! We sat having cheap coffee (so cheap it was bad) and I could see from the looks we were getting from the staff behind the bar that we were not welcome. We were sitting perfectly quietly, reading our phones and drinking the coffee. The waitress was constantly staring and as soon as I had taken my last sip, she came to collect the cups. We went back to the bar to order more coffee, as we had more time to wait, and she said, "We don't only do hot drinks. You'll have to leave, this is our busy time." I looked around - there were several empty tables. This is ridiculous, for we have been in the London Ritz, the Dorchester, Fortnum & Mason, etc, and this poky, horrible little backwards place was unwelcoming and ultimately kicked us out! I have never, in all my travelling around the world, have had this situation. In sum, if you like walking into a hotel lounge full of pensioners, staring, rude staff, the smell of old furnishings in the air, disco balls, and tacky carpets from the 1970s, this is your place. I couldn't be paid to go back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sid70vic, Owner at Regal Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate our customers honest feedback as this enables us to improve our service. I am always concerned when our customers have an unsatisfactory visit as we pride ourselves on our product quality and excellent customer service.

May I just clarify that we offer a Senior Citizens special everyday and we are very busy during peak periods with 'pensioners' as Cleveleys has a large population of resident Seniors. There are usually also people waiting for tables at these busy periods so also a reason why would need available seats and tables. Our products are always good brands and our coffee is Kenco Milicano so I apologise if this isn't to your taste, but we have never had anyone complain before.

Once again I do offer my sincere apologies to you and your husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    38
    16
    15
    20
See reviews for
34
53
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had spent many happy days in Cleveleys. From our daughter being a baby (now 19) we had spent every month visiting her grandparents in Rossall. We always called in the Regal for lunch and sometimes Sunday dinner. It came as a lovely surprise when she had booked us in for her dad's birthday. We arrived Saturday afternoon and given room 35. The receptionist gave us the key and kindly asked us to go and check if everything was ok. The room was nice but overlooked the back of hotel. We went back and mentioned that it was ok but didn't like overlooking the back. She immediately gave us a choice of 3 other rooms. The room we decided on was number 23 and when we go back, which we definitely will, will opt for this room. So clean and comfortable. Beautifully decorated throughout overlooking the main street. A little side room with 3 seater settee and t.v was just the job. Double bed with another tv was very comfortable. We also had a small fridge. The morning breakfast had everything you could ask for. Excellent service and Tasty hot food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LiverpoolPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel between Christmas and New Year. Receptionist very welcoming. Room good size, clean and warm. Breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty to choose from for Dinner. Found the hotel to be very comfortable. Christmas decorations were lovely as was the residents lounge. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 69Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at the Regal over the New Year Break and found the rooms clean, the beds comfortable, the meals excellent and the staff attentive and friendly, The only downside was thr New Years Eve 'entertainment' which was dire. Of the 60+ guests in the Hotel only around 20 stayed in to watch it. Those whe were in the know, which didn't include us, visited either the British Legion, Ex-servicemen's or Cleveleys WMC which all had good acts on!
We will stay at the Hotel again but not over a Festive Break!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

we went to check on our van and always love the main street at cleveleys.always stop for lunch at the regal as we have never had a bad meal there.last min decided to stop overnight .clean safe,welcoming,breakfast excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

we celebrated our ruby wedding in the room upstairs that has a mini bar.we invited 24 guests to celebrate our ruby wedding. the food was good, staff friendly and service good. we had a menu thats catered for everyones needs and there was no complaints. the room was decorated for us thanks for that lovely gesture. thank you all at the regal for making my evening so special
judth & fred

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanette709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff at this hotel obviously dont understand the importance of customer service and how to be polite. We had booked this hotel for one night a week before we went. When we arrived we were told very rudely that the room we had booked and paid for had been double booked and was now unavailable. The receptionist did not appologise or try to rectify the problem just told us we would have to make do! We were given another room which was of a lesser standard and when I asked for a discount on the price due to their error you would have thought Id asked for blood. The room we were given was dirty, the bathroom door was hanging off its hinges and there wasnt any toilet paper or towels provided. When I asked for these basics I was treated with a huge sigh from the receptionist and told she'd see what she could do but it really wasnt her problem! In the morning we were woken by the cleaners at 9.30am even though we had been informed that check out was at 11.30am. At 10.30am we had the so called manager hammering on our door ordering us to get out, when I opened the door he threw an envelope in my face and said "theres you refund now get out of my hotel". The refund consisted of £6.00! I have travelled extensively across the world and have never been treated like this in a hotel where they made the initial mistake. I would advise all to stay clear of this hideous place, the staff need some serious training in customer service!

Room Tip: Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yvette260480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thornton Cleveleys hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Cleveleys
0.2 mi away
Briardene Hotel
Briardene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thornton Cleveleys
212 reviews
3.8 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
530 reviews
3.6 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
147 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,983 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
3,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: 70 Victoria Road West, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 1AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thornton Cleveleys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Cleveleys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with café bar & restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Regal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Hotel Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing