We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve - First Visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briardene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Briardene Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years Eve - First Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

We were a bit apprehensive about staying in a seaside B&B but as we have friends in Cleveleys we needed somewhere to stay on New Years Eve. We were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the Briardene, and although the decor could do with a revamp the friendliness of the staff and the clean room made for a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Disneyfan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    50
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
62
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had a 7 day visit to the Briardene which incorporated our Anniversary with friends. The first impression of the hotel was impressive and the friendliness of everyone made us feel that we had actually known them longer. The food was first class and the breakfast award was certainly warranted. Our anniversary meal in the hotel was great value for money, excellent choice of food, beautifully cooked and first class service - could certainly give higher priced hotels a run for their money. We could not find one fault with this hotel and, although this was our first visit, it most certainly won't be our last. We would recommend the Briardene to anyone visiting the Blackpool/Cleveleys area. Well done Briardene.

Room Tip: Can't speak for other rooms, but Deluxe Room on first floor was decorated to the highest standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snaith - East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and myself stayed at the Briardene at the same time as the party from the Isle of Man as we were there for a show in Blackpool. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to everybody, the cleanliness was first rate, the staff just could not do enough for you and the food was more than excellent,even the bar prices were very reasonable, it's nice to go somewhere and know that you are not being "ripped off".

So impressed were we with this hotel that we have already booked for next year to make sure we don't miss out on staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in october 2011. Right from coming in through the door the service could not have been better, the staff are the cream of humanity, nothing was too much trouble, the food served was on par with many first class restaurants, bar prices were very agreeable and the staff were brilliant.
The party of 8 I was with, were unable to travel home because of weather problems, the receptionist was able through her knowledge of the system to accommodate our group,not an easy task at the drop of a hat. The morning we were leaving, the hotel owner came in to see us and made our party feel completely at home. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Blackpool/Thornton Cleveleys area
Howard.

Room Tip: Just leave it to the receptionist, you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howard Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

As one of a party of 8 staying at this hotel i can say that there was a warm and friendly welcome, the rooms were clean and well appointed and the bathrooms were spotless a rare thing these days. the food was first class and there was plenty of it. the service was also of a standard rarly found these days frendly and efficiant .When our ferry was delayed for 24 hours the staff went out of there way to accomodate the extea nights stayfor us all.
I would recomend this hotel without resavations
Many thanks to the owners and staff for making our stay pleasant

Room Tip: just book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank doug011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenerife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at The Briardene for two nights, we had a warm welcome from Sandra and the room was superb. Spotlessly clean throughout , the tiles and the shower were gleaming. attention to detail was excellent with a really good hospitality trya with lots of choices and top quality. The bed was so comfy with lovley linen and great duvet . We had flat screen tv and even an iron and ironing board. the breakfast was cooked to perfection again with quality products and great choices. All the staff were freindly and helpful. there was private parking too. we will definately be returning !! we travelled from Tenerife for my daughters 21st, its a pity we didnt have the party there. thank you to all of you excellent and will highly recommend you .

Room Tip: we booked 2 rroms and both were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merry58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

On a recent UK holiday, we needed to stay in or near Thornton Cleveleys for some specific business. TripAdvisor was called into action to find acceptable accommodation for a couple of nights. We were delighted when we saw the very good to excellent reviews for the Briardene Hotel, so we booked it.

Upon arriving there, we double checked the address since the exterior didn’t meet the expectations from the reviews, but it was the right place. When we went inside, our impressions improved, we were met by a friendly lady who showed us our room and explained a couple of things. The hotel was better inside, clean and tidy, and has been run by a family for many years. There was nothing flash about the rooms, they appeared to have been recently re-decorated and I would describe them as clean, tidy and pleasant. Ours was just big enough to be comfortable and the bathroom likewise recently re-decorated with good towels.

The breakfast was quite good and a gentleman who is one of the family (eg merchant navy I recall) introduced himself and we had a good chat to him; they were certainly accommodating to requests. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and our guest had some special requirements. The hostess did a good job, explained things well for us and we were very pleased that she was very accommodating for our guest; that made for an enjoyable dining experience; thanks. The meal is sort of a contemporary version of 1960/70s style restaurant food – in fact we found it quite interesting and would dine there again.

Giving a rating for the Briardene proved a problem for us. If I compare it to most other B&Bs or small hotels we stayed in, then it is 3 star and I would say average quality and value for money (it was about 1 pound per person less than numerous better B&Bs that we rated very good or excellent, and we had better quality for less in two other B&Bs). Hence our average rating is not a negative about the hotel, but just getting the relativities right.

However, our view is probably better encapsulated in our final comment that we will stay here again on future visits if we need to return to Thornton Cleveleys.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vannofavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Cleveleys
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Bispham) Hotel
4.0 mi away
North Euston Hotel
North Euston Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
3.9 mi away
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
Savoy Hotel - Fleetwood
#2 of 3 in Fleetwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Shard Riverside Hotel
Shard Riverside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Poulton Le Fylde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,730 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briardene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briardene Hotel

Property: Briardene Hotel
Address: 56 Kelso Avenue, Thornton Cleveleys FY5 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Thornton Cleveleys
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Cleveleys
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Briardene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is situated just 250 yards from Cleveleys beach & with most rooms overlooking the Irish sea & the lake district or the Trough of Bowland & the Yorkshire Dales, only being one hours drive to the Lake District & Dales. 2 minutes walk into Cleveleys, with its new state of the art Promenade, Cinema, Ice Skating Rink, Parks and miles of golden beaches. Blackpool's fabulous new tram service from Starr Gate (South Blackpool) to Fleetwood, we are just 100 yards from the Express Tram stop. Buses stop directly outside our hotel. A ten minute tram ride will take you into Blackpool with all its glitter & entertainment or in the opposite direction to Fleetwood with its fishing/leisure harbour, Freeport shopping centre and its fabulous esplanade with gorgeous views of Morecambe Bay sands. At certain times of year, guides take parties across the sands of Morecambe Bay to visit most of the known ship wrecks of by gone days. The Fylde coast takes its name from the Norseman which means flat lands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Briardene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briardene Hotel Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing