We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice curry”

Michael's Indian Restaurant
Cuisines: Indian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

A very nice dining experience but the Curry was a bit to spicy for my wife and myself. Tikka and mahkani should be mild to medium but found them to be a bit too spicy. On the other hand the Garlic Naan was huge and was excellent In taste and texture. Tone down the spice and would have been Excellent.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    48
    22
    37
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Absolutely faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

My lover took me to Michaels after we had spent a special day in Blackpool
She had been several times but it wasmy first
The service and the staff was first class, but the food was ......"World Class"
If you are looking to impress, take your friends and family here.
Lynn & Den

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bananamanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst curry we've ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Maybe there was a different chef on Sat 25th May because despite some good-ish reviews on here, it really was the worst curry and we have curry every 2 weeks or so in lots of places. We ordered 4 different dishes but they all had the same reddish gloopy tomato ketchup tasting sludge with far too much chopped (raw) spring onion and coriander in them. Not much meat and weird taste and texture - sort of sweet/sour. Bombay Aloo was even cut in small chunks and the potato was pink in a reddish sauce instead of the big pieces we expect in a yellow juice. The Sag Aloo was like a gloopy brown gravy with chopped spinach in it - not bright green and fresh tasting. If we had been eating in we would have sent the food back and refused to pay, but it was a takeaway. The only good thing was the lovely big naan bread.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank deborahsaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No thanks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Maybe we are spoilt as we had loads of brilliant curry restaurants nearby when we lived in London, but the curry here is not good. We had a banquet meal, which would have been good value if the food was edible, but it wasn't. Just loads of tasteless sauce with little real meat. On the other hand, the naan bread was one of the best I've ever tasted. Just as well, otherwise I would have left hungry. I agree with the other reviewers; stick to fish and chips as there are loads of good fish restaurants nearby.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Expensive takeaway”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

average food,expensive and delivery charge ridiculous.spent 50 on a takeaway and nothing free with it? in manchester we get free starter and free delivery if you spend 20 pound or more.next time think we will stick to fish and chips when we visit,,,,,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
Thornton Cleveleys, Lancashire
 

Been to Michael's Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing