We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Maalaea
Open today: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience PacWhale Eco-Adventures
from $45.22
More Info
from $45.22
More Info
from $68.38
More Info
from $138.46
More Info
Reviews (13,891)
Filter reviews
13,891 results
Traveler rating
11,316
1,512
554
278
231
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11,316
1,512
554
278
231
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pacific whale foundation whale watch non profit ocean spirit wild rice fish humpback whales great trip knowledgeable crew great whale whale activity dinner cruise whale season snorkel trip marine life smaller boat breakfast and lunch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 13,891 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our Captain Callen, along with the crew Emily and Laura made the already amazing experiance just that much better. We were able to go swim with the turtles, whale watch between destinations and see thousands of beautiful fish. The crew paid special attention to everyone ensuring all guests were able to see some of the amazing marine life this beautiful ocean has to offer. They took care to point out turtles, unique shells, and interesting fish for everyone to take home a special memory of Maui.They changed the normal roation of activities due to good weather and managed to get us to be the only snorkling group at every stop we made. All emplpyee's combined knoweldge and obvious passions for marine education and conservation made the experiance exciting and memerable.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank 814sierras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra-PWF, Guest Relations Manager at PacWhale Eco-Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha. We love to hear that you enjoyed your snorkeling ecotour with us. Mahalo for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our trip was awesome. We saw two sets of mama and calf that were close to the boat and numerous whales farther away.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank my7reddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra-PWF, Guest Relations Manager at PacWhale Eco-Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your whalewatching ecotour with us. Mahalo for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So here we go!

I booked our snorkeling trip three months before the trip. On the day of the tour, the weather was so windy, so we called them to make sure that it is going to happen before driving for 1 hour to the harbor. They said it is clear over here we are good to go!!! As we were driving to the port, the wind was getting worst and worst. We got there, and the wind was so heavy that it was hard to open the car door!!! We got to the building to hear that the trip is canceled, which was so obvious considering the weather. I have no idea why they forced all those people to drive there in that dangerous weather condition when they have known from the morning that this is going to happen, perhaps to ruin half of your day!!!

Then they told us to stand in line for half an hour to reschedule. Of course, the Molokini snorkeling trip was fully booked until our return day (everyone gets this session months before their trip). Then they started to trick us into changing our trip to Laina snorkeling trip. They claim that everyone is believed this is better than Molokini!!!! We believed them and thought that they are local; they know better.

Moving to our snorkeling day, We got there by 7:30 AM and noticed that they are a lot of kids (two and three years old!!) In our boat. The first thought in our mind was how they are going to snorkel in the middle of the ocean; we got our answer later; they are not; the poor kids are there only to vomit. There was an old guy on the trip who was sick. He was in the blanket and woven hat the whole time in 80-degree weather and could hardly walk, but they let him in so he can vomit the entire 5 hours!!! It was more like a school trip than an adult going to snorkeling. Every 5 min, a 20 old kid would get a microphone and talk to us like we were five years old!! They oversold the tickets, so there were no seats for us; we were standing almost the whole trip!!!

On the trip, they give you breakfast and lunch. The breakfast is banana bread again to make you full and prepare you for vomiting, and then after the snorkeling, they provide you with a burger and hot dog, so people get ready for the next round of vomiting on the way back. It is disgusting everywhere in the boat people were vomiting!!!!

During the snorkeling session, only a handful of people out of those 60-70 people in the boat actually did snorkeling. And those like us that did snorkeling basically couldn't see much the water there was murky. I saw more beautiful fishes next to the black rock beach than there. We were really surprised how the people were in the boat for 5 hours getting tortured for absolutely nothing; at least we swim in the ocean for an hour!! My recommendations, save your money, and most importantly, your time in this beautiful island and snorkel on the right spots on Maui beaches without getting this tour and ruin half of your day.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank 816ladans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra-PWF, Guest Relations Manager at PacWhale Eco-Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I’m sorry to hear first about your initial tour. Weather can change quite rapidly here depending on where you are on the island. It can be windy on the west side and pretty calm on the south side at the same time, and change very rapidly. It’s sounds as if the weather changed from the time you called, however, making your drive a waste of time. I can certainly appreciate your frustration. Moreover, it sounds as if conditions weren’t ideal for your rescheduled snorkel trip. Please reach out to me directly at johngaskins@pacwhale.com so I can process a full refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The morning started up rough with sustained winds. The captain did an admirable job navigating the boat to Molokini crater. Once there the crew was helpful and friendly with snorkeling. Winds calmed by the final stop by Wailea to see the turtles. Trip was absolutely memorable. Five stars.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank calbear89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra-PWF, Guest Relations Manager at PacWhale Eco-Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your snorkeling ecotour with our crew. Mahalo for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very windy and wet start to the cruise. The crew did their very best to cope with the conditions and moved us to a warmer area . The astronomer on board was very interesting and made learning fun. The bonus was seeing whales right off the front of our ship. Would definitely do this again!

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank W3901VVlisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra-PWF, Guest Relations Manager at PacWhale Eco-Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Lisa. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your whalewatching ecotour with us. Mahalo for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews