We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
More Info
$104.12*
and up
Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience
More Info
$137.96*
and up
Honolua Bay Snorkel Sail
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts at Pacific Whale Foundation! PacWhale Eco-Adventures offers thrilling and fun ocean adventures based on more than 37 years of marine research and sustainable ecotour experience. PacWhale has cruises for every style of adventure, including dolphin and whalewatch ecotours, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, holiday cruises and stargazing ecotours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified Marine Naturalists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: all profits support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Sylva, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing !”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The crew was top notch and very passionate about there job. knowledgeable ,seem very concerned about the guests experience. Did not get within 100 yards of the whales ,but that is the rules. I guess we ,me are so use to SeaWorld I wanted the whales to come right up beside the boat so I could pet them and then take of and do a double flip. What was interesting is that we sailed to right in front of our hotel about half mile out.4 Four Seasons ,were my wife enjoying a Cabana and almost same view with the exception of a few breach's a couple yards out, so well worth the price and the information. But its a roll of the dice of how close you will get to whales. If want to get real close, rent a paddle board and or kayak . But could have risks and a lot of paddling . I thought the nicest thing about the trip was when crew lowered microphone into water and told about the whale songs.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dpreston53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,405
    648
    226
    113
    113
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Thar she blows!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was a great whale watching trip. The captain and crew were wonderful about educating us about the whales' behavior and habitat. We learned a lot and saw many whales. We had a wonderful time and got some awesome pictures of whales breaching and slapping their tails.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacefulhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent snorkel and dolphin watch”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have taken a number of snorkel trips and whale watches in Maui and we all agreed this was the best one yet. The boat ride to Lanai was a little rough, 2 of the 8 in our party were feeling a little sea sick but once we stopped for snorkeling the waters calmed down. The crew was great, spent extra time with the kids to ensure they enjoyed the trip too. The snorkeling was excellent. Way better than any other locations we have been to in Maui. The food was good and they even gave us free drinks since we didn't have ideal weather. Compared to our weather in Wisconsin it seemed ideal to us but we did enjoy the extra effort the crew made. We saw a lot of whale and dolphins. The crew was great about finding them and we were even able to see a baby dolphin with its mom. I would highly recommend this trip and would difinitely take another trip with Pacffic Whale Foundation!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorenbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fun but the snorkelling was disappointing”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I did the Molokini & Lanai & Wild Dolphin trip, which I purchased from their shop in Lahaina. A few points - the staff on this trip are first rate and the food and drink were very good. But there were some disappointments. Firstly, there were no dolphins. None. And apparently this is quite the norm, so to specifically ask for a trip where there are dolphins, be sold one without any caveat and not get to see any was pretty disappointing. Secondly, I specifically asked in the shop if it was cheaper online and I was told it wasn't, yet when I checked it was indeed significantly cheaper to buy online. Thirdly, the snorkelling is pretty average and we didn't spend long in the water - probably about an hour forty or so. We saw a turtle, and someone apparently saw a seal, but other than that the number of species was pretty limited and the coral quite drab. Still, I'd probably have given it three stars except for the way it was promoted and sold to me.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Travinport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun boat ride, average snorkelling”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We went on the snorkel trip to Molokini and Turtle Arches 7am-12pm. Banana bread, coffee cake fruit, and juice/coffee included. The boat trip was fun and we saw quite a few whales on the way but to be honest, we had better snorkelling at Black Rock and Po'Olenalena beach. Better visibility, more character, better fish life and more turtles. Still, the staff was very knowledgeable and they did a talk about fish and turtles for the kids, which was great.

The water is cold but they have neoprene shirts for rent $10 to keep you warm - be sure to get one that fits you properly or the water will trickle in and keep you cold! You can also rent an underwater camera for $40 at the PWF desk at check in. The memory card is big but be warned that the battery dies quickly.

If you have kids, they have a special boogie board for kids to lie on in the water - the boogie board has a window kids can look through. Ours wore their life jackets and masks/snorkels but felt secure with the extra support of the boogie board. Ask the staff on the boat for them - they are free.

When you buy a family membership for $60 per year, you are supporting a good cause and get 20% off any merchandise in the gift shop.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ironmom69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing