We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous trip as always with PWF”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
More Info
$104.12*
and up
Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience
More Info
$137.96*
and up
Honolua Bay Snorkel Sail
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts at Pacific Whale Foundation! PacWhale Eco-Adventures offers thrilling and fun ocean adventures based on more than 37 years of marine research and sustainable ecotour experience. PacWhale has cruises for every style of adventure, including dolphin and whalewatch ecotours, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, holiday cruises and stargazing ecotours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified Marine Naturalists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: all profits support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip as always with PWF”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is my second trip with PWF - 2 years ago my husband and I went on a whale watch and this year I snorkeled Molokini and Lanai'i (which had the added bonus of whale watching). The young crew was extremely professional, informative, positive, and simply made the trip perfect. (An elderly lady I met onboard had an issue with breathing because of the heat to cold water change and she told me that crew members noticed her difficulty and acted immediately making her feel safe and secure in her 2nd effort out.) HIGHLY recommend!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,333
    638
    215
    112
    111
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“whale watching from Wailuku”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Booked 2hours whale watching excursion from Wailuku. We were fortunate to only have 12people on our cruise boat (Odyssey) - believe their capacity is ?40? (we booked day of excursion, bc they will cancel if not enough signed up). The guide & captain knew their info about humpback whale. We saw alot of whales, and witnessed 4 separate breaching occasions (from 3 differ humpbacks). I bought my binoculars, but didnt use 'em bc the whales were pretty close.

Make sure to book online for 10% discount. We were recommended Pacific Whale from the owners of our AirBnB. Able to buy snacks/drinks on board - we thought ahead and bought water with us.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tran234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WHALE SOUP”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We joined our friends on THREE "raft" trips from Lahaina in the last two weeks. ALL THREE were awesome. Our "captain" Ben - on all three trips was informative yet funny/entertaining during his safety discussion. All three biologists were enthused, excited and informative with our different adventures. We experienced trumpeting, breeching, fin, tail, and head slapping. Plus a double - double breech. It just doesn't get better than that. Great staff, friendly and knowledgeable.
WOULD GO AGAIN WITH THEM in a heart beat. Thanks so much!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualitin, Oregon
2 reviews
“Untimate whale watching”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This vacation we went on four whale watching trips with PWF and each experience was outstanding. We found all PWF staff extremely knowledgeable. Their enthusiasm and passion for the humpback whales as contagious! Our only regret was we couldn't go on more trips.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
303 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Pacific Whale Foundation Ocean Store”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We checked out the Pacific Whale Foundation Ocean Store located in the Ma’lalaea Harbor Shops. This is a nice shop offering a variety of sea related gifts. My wife ended up getting a tote bag with a beautiful sea turtle print. Make sure you check the shop out after your cruise to Molokini.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MitchPhyllis65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing