We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out...”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
More Info
$104.12*
and up
Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience
More Info
$137.96*
and up
Honolua Bay Snorkel Sail
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts at Pacific Whale Foundation! PacWhale Eco-Adventures offers thrilling and fun ocean adventures based on more than 37 years of marine research and sustainable ecotour experience. PacWhale has cruises for every style of adventure, including dolphin and whalewatch ecotours, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, holiday cruises and stargazing ecotours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified Marine Naturalists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: all profits support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great day out...”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My second trip with this organization, another great time. Last time went in February about 8 years ago, saw about 25 humpback whales. No whales this trip, too early, but great crew with lots of info about the ocean and the local creatures that live in it, plus we saw a huge pod of spotted dolphins, very cool. They seem to love entertaining the crowd! I feel these people give good value for the money and it goes to a good cause. Will go out with them again if I have the opportunity!
BYO snacks and drinks, they don't have much to offer. Their big catamaran was nice and stable, good for me as I get seasick easily. Stay on the lower deck, outside at the front if you're like me!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chromedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,340
    638
    216
    112
    111
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

This whale watching trip is worth the expense. They are a non-profit and proceeds go back into research. We had a very knowledgeable crew. We saw whales and dolphins. They dropped the hydrophone and we heard the whale singing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
“Molokini Wild Side - FANTASTIC Trip”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Earlier this week, we went on a Molokini Wide Side trip with the PWF. We could not have asked for anything more. The crew on the ship were so attentive to everyone on board and knowledgeable about many aspects of the trip. it was also very evident that they loved what they did and wanted to share it with us. After snorkeling at Molokini, we went to the other side of the crater (not many trips take you there) and then a third stop near Olowalu to swim with the turtles. The last two stops differ from day to day.
Hats off to Gabe (the captain), Michael and Tim. Our entire family have a blast - and the best thing is knowing that the profits go to such excellent use. I would highly recommend Pacific Whale Foundations to anyone looking at which organization to go with. Five stars!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Great organization”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We went out on a whale watch but unfortunately we didn't see any whales but they offer you another trip for free up to 12 months from the first trip.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Snorkel Cruise”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We went on the Lana'i snorkel & dolphin cruise on November 15, 2013, and were not disappointed. We saw 2 humpback whales and lots of blue spotted & spinner dolphins. The ocean was pretty rough that day but we still managed to snorkel and see lots of fish and a turtle. The crew was awesome! Very knowledgeable, friendly and safety conscious. Lunch was also good. Would not hesitate to do it again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing