We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boat Ride, Snorkeling and Food.”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts! The nonprofit Pacific Whale Foundation offers thrilling and fun ocean ecotours based on more then 34 years of marine research and ocean ecotour experience. Pacific Whale Foundation offers cruises for every style of adventure, including ocean raft adventures, whale watches, wild dolphin encounters, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, and stargazing tours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels (including ocean rafts and double-deck catamarans) in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified marine naturalists and biologists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: 100% of the profits go to support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Boat Ride, Snorkeling and Food.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Went out for the full day snorkel trip. We were served breakfast, breads and fruit, which were great. We then went snorkeling at the Molikini Crater. The staff kept everything very safe, accounting for everyone after we were done to make sure no one was left benind. After a grilled lunch with salad and fruit, we were off again to snorkel in another location. The staff also presented an educational talk during the trip. Recommend this trip highly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DLH10120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,205
    619
    207
    106
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best snorkle ever!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We took a day trip with Pacific Whale Foundation to Molokini and Turtle Arches. The boat, a large cat, was fast, smooth, clean and well-kept. The crew were all knowledgeable and friendly. The snorkeling a Molokini was fantastic. Tons of fish of all sizes and colors and very clear water. I personally saw and swam near 7 different turtles at the Arches. Plus going and coming we had both Bottlenose and Spinner dolphins next to and under the boat. Definitely worth the moola!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank proferikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth every penny!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Took the snorkel trip to Molokini Crater and Lanai Island. Boat is very well staff, you get breakfast, lunch, snacks, and complimentary alcohol after the trip. All included in the fee. The staff is very knowledgeable and real friendly. Boat is huge and has a ton of seating inside/outside. Rent a underwater camera at the Pacific Whale Foundation shop before the trip. Cost is $35 and you can take about 1,000 pics and a lot of video. They will burn your pics to a CD after you return. Also, spend the $10 to rent the wetsuit top on the boat. Water can be chilly and it helps. Molokini Crater is sweet, very clear/blue water. Lanai Island has nice views too but water isn't as clear. Ride back to harbor does get bumpy but I found it fun.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Erlingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“They are true to their word!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We chose PWF because of their not-for-profit status and general environmental mission. We booked the 5 hr Dolphin watch and snorkel trip to Lanai. Unfortunately the day we went out, we were warned that the water and wind conditions were not great and to expect a rough ride (the happy surfers right outside the harbor should have been our first clue!) The crew was very informative and friendly. We were able to see a pod of spinner dolphins, but the water was very rough. The captain continued all the way to Lanaii in hopes he could find a good snorkel spot, but when we arrived, the crew decided it was still too rough to have a good experience snorkeling. They decided to return to Maui and offered us a full refund or a free rebooking within a week. Although we were disappaointed, we were thrilled to see a second pod of dolphins on our return, and the captain insured we spent plenty of time watching them. The crew was incredibly helpful and compassionate for those that suffered the ill-effects of the rough ride!
We were fortunate to be able to repeat the trip 3 days later, when the water was much smoother. We only saw 1 pod of dolphins,, but also saw several flying fish. We were able to snorkel this time and very much enjoyed the experience. The food was great and the crew was awesome. Chris loaned my husband his extension stick for his Go-pro, instructed him in some of the camera features he was unfamiliar with, and that resulted in some awesome pics from this most memorable trip! Thanks PWF, you are the best with customer service and stand by your word of making our experience memorable!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TucsonPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monclova, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Stargazing Trip”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The cruise was out of Lahina at 8pm and was beautiful! We had a fantastic Astronomer on board with a slick laser pointing out planets, stars, constellations in a moonless sky. Lots of interaction, great food and a very relaxing tour. My favorite part was seeing the southern cross. BEAUTIFUL!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing