We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Whale Foundation - Lahaina Harbour”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
More Info
$104.12*
and up
Sunset Dinner Cruise: Four Course Dining Experience
More Info
$137.96*
and up
Honolua Bay Snorkel Sail
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts at Pacific Whale Foundation! PacWhale Eco-Adventures offers thrilling and fun ocean adventures based on more than 37 years of marine research and sustainable ecotour experience. PacWhale has cruises for every style of adventure, including dolphin and whalewatch ecotours, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, holiday cruises and stargazing ecotours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified Marine Naturalists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: all profits support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pacific Whale Foundation - Lahaina Harbour”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Did the ecotour to view dolphins & snorkeling. Loved it! Saw lots of dolphins & snorkeled in 2 separate locations off of Lanai Island. All snorkeling equipment was provided including continental breakfast & BBQ lunch. The crew was extremely knowledgeable & took the time to answer all questions about the Hawaiian marine wildlife & habitats. Unfortunately didn't see any turtles but a definite must do activity especially for young children & first time snorkelers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,340
    638
    216
    112
    111
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dolphin Watch”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This trip was very good. We saw a lot of dolphins about 70 or more. They swam around and under us. The dolphins are very playful. You are not allowed to touch them. The crew was very courteous and helpful. They had sunblock for those who needed it. I definitely recommend this activity. We left from Lahaina Harbor.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarjelTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
1 review
“Definite must-do! Best value for your dollar.”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This trip was my son's first snorkel experience, and he loved it. Even though the water was a little cool (72 degrees), they let you rent a swim shirt so it's comfortable. The crew were exceptionally helpful, fun, and knowledgable about all the biology. We found a pod of spinner dolphins and got to watch them before snorkeling, and were able to find a sea turtle on the way back to the harbor. Breakfast was banana bread and fruit, and lunch was grilled chicken, burgers, and hot dogs with all the fixings. It's the best value of all the activities we did on Maui.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Billi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As good as any of the others I imagine”
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Fairly stock standard big boat tour but with more of a spin on actual education of the marine wildlife and Eco system an how it's impacted.... All the trimmings on the breakfast cruise with breakfast, tea, coffee, juice etc... Lunch was a BBQ, real nice too, all though the constant referral to the open bar and the captain picking up the " tab" wore thin pretty quickly, I have never been encouraged to drink so much!

On saying that I felt a bit bad for the poor turtles at turtle arches and we were encouraged by the staff of the eco to "yell out" when we saw one so others could see.... All that ensues is a whole load of flippers in your face and a poor turtle being hunted by those that are a bit too excited and eager, and don't get the minimal impact thread of the tour... Which I though was a huge shame, and surprised that this was tone of he tour, not just be cool and let them swim by and enjoy them in their habitat...

So overall, it does what it says on the box... But a bit disappointed in the "in water " direction.

Helpful?
Thank BinkyandSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pacific Whale Foundation Sunset Dinner Cruise - Lahaina, Maui”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our second dinner cruise with PWF, and it was just as perfect as the first one! The food was excellent and the music was very enjoyable. It is well worth the extra charge for the premium seating, with a table for two and a wonderful view!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richb102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing