We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice snorkeling trip”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cruise with the experts at Pacific Whale Foundation on Maui's top-rated ocean ecotours based on more than 38 years of marine research and sustainable ecotourism experience. PacWhale has cruises for every style of adventure, including whale and dolphin watch ecotours, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and sunset dinner cruises, holiday cruises, stargazing ecotours, and more. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels with knowledgeable, friendly certified Marine Naturalists. Choose PacWhale Eco-Adventures and make a difference: all profits support research, education and conservation programs to protect marine wildlife and the ocean environment. Cruises depart from Ma'alaea & Lahaina Harbors.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed February 26, 2012

They took good care of us and furnished everything. Saw lots of whales and had fun snorkeling at Molokini. Turtle town part of the trip was disappointing, but not their fault. Overcast weather made visibility poor. They could cut an hour out of the trip and it would be better.

Thank Mr_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9,666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"whale watch"
in 835 reviews
"non profit"
in 287 reviews
"ocean spirit"
in 130 reviews
"molokini wild side"
in 79 reviews
"fish"
in 668 reviews
"wild rice"
in 114 reviews
"lanai snorkel"
in 104 reviews
"humpback whales"
in 256 reviews
"great trip"
in 335 reviews
"sunset dinner cruise"
in 180 reviews
"whale season"
in 150 reviews
"mother and calf"
in 80 reviews
"whale activity"
in 108 reviews
"snorkel trip"
in 260 reviews
"knowledgeable crew"
in 82 reviews
"great whale"
in 85 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 122 reviews
Filter

8,954 - 8,958 of 9,667 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2012

We were booked on the Pacific Whale Watch for 11:31pm on Feb 13 from Lahaina. We took a shuttle from the pier where our ship was docked to Lahaina and then checked in with Pacific Whale Watch. I knew of no problems at that point. We were told to wait in a certain area, A little closer to tet time I heard people talking about how the tour has been cancelled. I went to inquire at the desk and was told that the tour had been cancelled due to mechanical difficulties and we could have a refund or book tomorrow, The latter was not an option. I understand having to cancel but wish they would have told us sooner. It was still very disappointing.

4  Thank nanasnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregkaufman, Manager at Pacific Whale Foundation, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Thank you for your comments. You were booked to depart on the Ocean Discovery whalewatch from Lahaina harbor. This vessel completed its morning cruise and as it came into port, the transmission failed on one engine. This was unforeseen and happened just after you had checked-in. We were unable to provide an additional vessel at that time and did allow all passengers a opportunity to go again or receive a full refund. While we understand you are disappointed in the outcome, we did everything in our power to notice and accommodate our guests. The vessel was repaired a few hours later and continued whalewatches as normal. Unfortunately mechanical issues, such as this one, are out of our control and must be repaired immediately to ensure our vessels are safe and in compliance with USCG regulations.
We hope you will give us another try next time you are on Maui. Aloha, Greg Kaufman, President and Founder, Pacific Whale Foundation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This organization provides many different boat-based excursions. We chose the whale-watching, since we were there at the peak of humpback whale season. My preliminary research pointed me in their direction, and it was spot-on. The PWF is a non-profit focused on marine mammal conservation, education, and research. They take their role seriously, and it is evident in their work. Their boats dock from either Lahaina or Ma'alaea harbors. A marine biologist narrates each cruise and answers questions. At this time of year I am sure that just about any boat could find whales, but for these people it is a passion, and it shows. And all of the proceeds go to further the cause. It's a no-brainer.

1  Thank SDiCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We booked a sunrise whale watching cruise with the PWF in February. The experience was worth every penny. The staff and crew were professional, attentive and friendly. They are very knowledgeable and we had a great time. A pod of whales swam around our boat for at least 30 minutes and the experience was thrilling. Two hours is just the right amount of time for this trip. I thought I would want a longer experience, but the two hours was just right. One note - they told us to check in 45 minutes before the cruise. We arrived 20 minutes before the departure and had to hustle to get to the boat in time. They really do mean the 45 minute check-in. When I come back to Maui, I will definitely book another cruise with them to see the whales. The experience was breathtaking.

Thank TulaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We went on this whale watching excursion on the second cruise of the morning. We saw every possible whale activity. The naturalists on board were knowledgeable and helpful. It was the highlight of our trip. i would go again in a heartbeat.

Thank Seattletravel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing