We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing whale watching!!!”

Pacific Whale Foundation
Book In Advance
More Info
$116.12*
and up
Molokini And Turtle Arches Snorkeling Trip
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience Maui's amazing ocean environment with the experts! The nonprofit Pacific Whale Foundation offers thrilling and fun ocean ecotours based on more then 34 years of marine research and ocean ecotour experience. Pacific Whale Foundation offers cruises for every style of adventure, including ocean raft adventures, whale watches, wild dolphin encounters, snorkel trips, sunset cocktail and dinner cruises, and stargazing tours. You'll cruise on ultra-stable, eco-friendly vessels (including ocean rafts and double-deck catamarans) in the company of knowledgeable, friendly certified marine naturalists and biologists. Choose Pacific Whale Foundation and make a difference: 100% of the profits go to support efforts to protect whales, dolphins and the ocean environment.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing whale watching!!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Saw tons of whales and the guide was very nice and knowledgeable. Definitely worth it!!!

Helpful?
Thank nuggsrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,212
    619
    207
    106
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great whale-watching trip!”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

My husband and I took the 4pm (March 13th) whale-watching trip with Pacific Whale Foundation. We really enjoyed it, saw a lot of whales, big and small, a couple of breaches, a lot of whale tails and fins. The crew members were very friendly and well-educated in the marine science business. I'd like to thank the captain of the boat Joe and a marine biologist Robyn who made this trip very enjoyable and educating. We got a chance to listen to the whales' songs via a hydrophone. This was our second trip with Pacific Whale Foundation, and we hope to go on more trips with them in the future. It's a great non-profit organization, check out their website to see all the good work they're doing. And they have a lots of shirts and other souvenirs at their shop in Ma'alaea. Mahalo Nui Loa to PWF!!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank marion1stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
“Check the cancellation rules!”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Mixed views on this. I booked and paid for the snorkel tour and whale watch. Before we left we were told that as it was choppy and there had been rain, there would be no snorkelling. The tour would not be cancelled and if you wanted to reschedule, there was a 50 % fee. It was pretty choppy - many people were seasick, and the boat returned to the harbour to let two people off half way though. Apart from that we did see whales and turtles and they did take us on a nice boat tour to see the coastline. I just would never have paid such a high price for a whale watch tour.

I booked through an agent, so I guess I didn't really know about the cancellation issues - I'll check more in future. I do understand that the company can't just lose all revenue if the weather is bad, but I did feel a bit like the company didn't provide the service I paid for (a snorkel tour) but there was no refund/ridiculously high reschedule charges.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank squeedget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificWhale, Manager at Pacific Whale Foundation, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
We are sorry that you were not able to go snorkeling during your Pacific Whale Foundation Eco-Adventure. Maui is known for its generally wonderful weather, but every so often, nature dishes up conditions that make it unsafe for our guests to get into the water to snorkel. As an organization, we are always looking to improve our customer service and changed our policy regarding rescheduling snorkel trips due to weather. If the captain decides, prior to the departure of the cruise, that snorkeling will not be possible, we will announce it to all passengers and offer them the chance to go out with us that day, or reschedule at no added fee. In this way, we can accommodate those intrepid folks who think nothing of a few raindrops or some choppy conditions, as well as those who have their hearts set on snorkeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views on the Sunset Dinner Cruise on the Discovery!”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This cruise had an amazing view of the sunset. We paid an additional $20 to get premium seats and it was definitely worth it. They served us steak and fish, but to be honest it was not the best. The fish tasted like frozen fish fillet and the steak was pretty tough. I did like the appetizer of taro bread with spinach and artichoke dip. The dessert was also pretty good. It was taro bread pudding and thick brownies. The meal came with unlimited cocktails, and those were also good. Our server Annie was nice and helpful. Overall it was a good dinner cruise with a killer view of the sunset.

Helpful?
1 Thank ninasarreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PacificWhale, Manager at Pacific Whale Foundation, responded to this review, April 19, 2011
Thank you for joining us on a sunset dinner cruise. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with the steak and fish. Our steak is 100% all–natural, grass-fed beef raised here on Maui by the Maui Cattle Company. Grass-fed beef is very healthy and sometimes can be a little less tender than meat from corn-fed cattle. Our fish is mahi-mahi. It is caught fresh here in Hawaii by fishermen who fish with poles or trolls (not longlines), the most sustainable way to catch mahi-mahi. Our goal is to choose locally grown, locally raised and locally caught food products whenever possible, as part of our effort to reduce our carbon footprint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theflowerladies
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great whale watching experience at great price!”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

We loved the whale watching catamaran ride with Pacific Whale foundation. We were visiting in March, so there was a lot of activity. We didn't see any whales breach, but we saw a mother, baby and escort whale approach our boat within 25 ft. Very exciting! The price is definitely affordable and the best deal on the island!
However, if you are prone to sea sickness or aren't sure; go prepared - probably 25% of the passengers were sea sick the entire trip. Fortunately, not my family! I felt bad those passengers, because they missed all the excitement!

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank theflowerladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacific Whale Foundation also viewed

 

Been to Pacific Whale Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing