We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Whale Watching Private Charter

We were in Maui celebrating a wedding and rented this charter to go whale watching with close... read more

Reviewed December 16, 2019
C9058YUsarahc
,
Maui, Hawaii
via mobile
Snorkeling and turtle town

We had a blast! Weather was perfect. We lucked out and saw two species of dolphins, bottle nose... read more

Reviewed December 11, 2019
ShelleyLL
,
Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 78 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maui
from $79.95
More Info
from $114.88
More Info
from $117.52
More Info
from $31.74
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
65
6
2
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
65
6
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private charter turtle town molokini crater fish avoid the crowds captain and crew great snorkeling the reefs whale watching cookies leilani dolphins board muffins species blast sunscreen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 78 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2018

Captain CJ and is crew were awesome!!!! We had so much fun. We started our tour at turtle town because there were so many other boats at molokini, so that really made it enjoyable because we pretty much had both places to ourselves and didn't feel so crowded while snorkeling. Captain CJ and his crew were really friendly and alot of fun to be with. This was the best money we spent while vacationing and would totally do it again.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank kirstine92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We booked Maui Boat Trips for a snorkel tour. They're docked at Slip 68 at Maalaea Harbor. You'll want to arrive a little early to find parking ($3 pay to park) and check in/sign waiver. There was around 25 people on the boat plus the captain and his 2 deck hands. They offer wet suit tops for $10 each (bring cash). They also provided hippy sun screen for anyone that needed it. I'd suggest it if you're not wearing any. They provided the snorkel gear and foam noodles if you wanted one. We hit Molokini Crater and Big Beach areas. They provided morning snacks and lunch with drinks on the way back to the harbor. Take some Dramamine if you get motion sickness. If you're lucky, you'll see some humpback whales on the trip! They'll bust out the tip box at the end, so keep a few bucks handy.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank DoodleDogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018

We had an amazing family adventure aboard the Leilani. We saw whales upclose just outside the harbor within minutes of the cruise. The crew was informative and answered all our questions. We snorkeled over at Molekini and continued whale watching. We were verasatile and trusted the crew to know where to go. We got to experience a very rare whale shark sighting. The food was plentiful- with continental breakfast and later a bbq lunch. We highly recommend the Leilani Private cruise. We had 24 of us and there was just enough room not to feel crowded. We had 13 children ages 4-14 and all of us had a blast.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank GrandmaLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing Day out with Captain CJ and his crew. I loved that we had a smaller group and our schedule was flexible. The crew was very friendly and engaging. We started with hot coffee and a continental breakfast. The crew handed out gear on the way to Molokini. Be prepared with cash if you want to rent a wet suit. We had about an hour of swim time at the crater before the waves started getting a little to big and so we left for the next stop. On the way we saw a large pod of whales and it was a wonderful treat that Captain CJ stopped so we could see them frolic and play. On the way to the second stop we had a yummy lunch of hamburgers, chicken and hot dogs with veggies and pasta salad. A group even had veggie burgers. The second stop was at Turtle Town/Reef and we got to spend another hour and a half swimming with a ton of fish and several turtles on the reef. The crew even went out of their way to make sure we saw several turtles and pointed them out so everyone could see. On the way back it was an open bar with great Mai Tais and macadamia nut cookies. I highly recommend this tour. It truly was a Great day!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank 966danih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Captain Tiffany and crew were excellent! We had so much fun snorkeling with 6 turtles and watching half a dozen whales frolicking. We saw more whales on the Leilani than we did on the official whale watching tour we took with another company so if you come in the winter save your money and just do this trip. They had an awesome playlist of songs and the food was great. Highly recommend this Best Day on Maui!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank 429marthaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews