We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leilani private cruise”
Review of Maui Boat Trips

Maui Boat Trips
Ranked #7 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our Ocean Freedom and Reef Explorer are 40' jet boats. This means our boats have no propellers and cruise at 25-27 knots, providing less travel time and more time on site. Snorkel Maui's underwater paradise exploring Olowalu, Coral Gardens, Molokini & Turtle Town. These are must see spots off the coast, which will provide for an unforgettable adventure for all ages.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Reviewed February 25, 2018

We had an amazing family adventure aboard the Leilani. We saw whales upclose just outside the harbor within minutes of the cruise. The crew was informative and answered all our questions. We snorkeled over at Molekini and continued whale watching. We were verasatile and trusted the crew to know where to go. We got to experience a very rare whale shark sighting. The food was plentiful- with continental breakfast and later a bbq lunch. We highly recommend the Leilani Private cruise. We had 24 of us and there was just enough room not to feel crowded. We had 13 children ages 4-14 and all of us had a blast.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank GrandmaLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"private charter"
in 6 reviews
"pasta salad"
in 6 reviews
"turtle town"
in 12 reviews
"molokini crater"
in 7 reviews
"continental breakfast"
in 5 reviews
"macadamia nut cookies"
in 2 reviews
"safety talk"
in 2 reviews
"fish"
in 17 reviews
"smaller group"
in 3 reviews
"maalaea harbor"
in 3 reviews
"bbq lunch"
in 3 reviews
"food was great"
in 4 reviews
"mai tais"
in 3 reviews
"second stop"
in 2 reviews
"snorkel tour"
in 3 reviews
"great snorkel"
in 2 reviews
"humpback whales"
in 3 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 71 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing Day out with Captain CJ and his crew. I loved that we had a smaller group and our schedule was flexible. The crew was very friendly and engaging. We started with hot coffee and a continental breakfast. The crew handed out gear on the way to Molokini. Be prepared with cash if you want to rent a wet suit. We had about an hour of swim time at the crater before the waves started getting a little to big and so we left for the next stop. On the way we saw a large pod of whales and it was a wonderful treat that Captain CJ stopped so we could see them frolic and play. On the way to the second stop we had a yummy lunch of hamburgers, chicken and hot dogs with veggies and pasta salad. A group even had veggie burgers. The second stop was at Turtle Town/Reef and we got to spend another hour and a half swimming with a ton of fish and several turtles on the reef. The crew even went out of their way to make sure we saw several turtles and pointed them out so everyone could see. On the way back it was an open bar with great Mai Tais and macadamia nut cookies. I highly recommend this tour. It truly was a Great day!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank 966danih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Captain Tiffany and crew were excellent! We had so much fun snorkeling with 6 turtles and watching half a dozen whales frolicking. We saw more whales on the Leilani than we did on the official whale watching tour we took with another company so if you come in the winter save your money and just do this trip. They had an awesome playlist of songs and the food was great. Highly recommend this Best Day on Maui!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

My husband, sister, BIL, niece, mother, and I went on Leilani for our snorkel tour. It was a great choice.

The boat is not one of the mega boats that Pride of Maui (this is a sister boat) and other companies have. Your not stuck with 60+ strangers vying for space and food. This boat seats around 30 or so people but our tour didn't even have that many people. In my opinion a smaller boat with less people is always better than a huge boat with tons of people. Especially when you're out in the water. You don't have all those people fighting to be in one area to see a turtle kicking you in the face with their fins.

Upon boarding the boat and getting safety instructions they provide breakfast. We had banana bread muffins, blueberry muffins and fresh fruit. Including Maui Gold pineapple (yum!). Then you're off to snorkel.

Unfortunately, and this is out of any company's control, the water conditions were terrible. Huge swells so there was no trip to the crater. But from what I hear the crater isn't what it used to be anymore. We ended up at two different reefs that were protected from the winds. Even there though the current was strong and you had to pay attention to not get caught in it.

We did still end up seeing turtles, tons of fish, eels, and even got to see a Hawaiian Monk Seal (only about 1400 left and facing extinction). We never saw any dolphins or whales but whale season hasn't started yet so we weren't expecting to anyway.

For lunch they served hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, pasta salad and had a veggie tray. All was good. They also opened the bar and served different beers and drinks such as Mai Tais. The drinks were endless and good.

The crew was very helpful and nice. My mother, who isn't a strong swimmer, they were very helpful with and provided her with extra flotation devices to help her feel comfortable in the water.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank flyawayCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend . Great trip for the value! We loved the burgers, turtle town was amazing. Boat is well kept and staff is so nice

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 473breeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Maui Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing