We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Whale Watching Private Charter

We were in Maui celebrating a wedding and rented this charter to go whale watching with close... read more

Reviewed December 16, 2019
C9058YUsarahc
,
Maui, Hawaii
via mobile
Snorkeling and turtle town

We had a blast! Weather was perfect. We lucked out and saw two species of dolphins, bottle nose... read more

Reviewed December 11, 2019
ShelleyLL
,
Minnesota
via mobile
Read all 78 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maui
from $79.95
More Info
from $143.60
More Info
from $117.52
More Info
from $31.74
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
65
6
2
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
65
6
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private charter turtle town molokini crater fish avoid the crowds captain and crew great snorkeling the reefs whale watching cookies leilani dolphins board muffins species blast sunscreen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 78 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

We had an amazing Day out with Captain CJ and his crew. I loved that we had a smaller group and our schedule was flexible. The crew was very friendly and engaging. We started with hot coffee and a continental breakfast. The crew handed out gear on the way to Molokini. Be prepared with cash if you want to rent a wet suit. We had about an hour of swim time at the crater before the waves started getting a little to big and so we left for the next stop. On the way we saw a large pod of whales and it was a wonderful treat that Captain CJ stopped so we could see them frolic and play. On the way to the second stop we had a yummy lunch of hamburgers, chicken and hot dogs with veggies and pasta salad. A group even had veggie burgers. The second stop was at Turtle Town/Reef and we got to spend another hour and a half swimming with a ton of fish and several turtles on the reef. The crew even went out of their way to make sure we saw several turtles and pointed them out so everyone could see. On the way back it was an open bar with great Mai Tais and macadamia nut cookies. I highly recommend this tour. It truly was a Great day!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank 966danih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2017

Captain Tiffany and crew were excellent! We had so much fun snorkeling with 6 turtles and watching half a dozen whales frolicking. We saw more whales on the Leilani than we did on the official whale watching tour we took with another company so if you come in the winter save your money and just do this trip. They had an awesome playlist of songs and the food was great. Highly recommend this Best Day on Maui!

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank 429marthaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017

My husband, sister, BIL, niece, mother, and I went on Leilani for our snorkel tour. It was a great choice.

The boat is not one of the mega boats that Pride of Maui (this is a sister boat) and other companies have. Your not stuck with 60+ strangers vying for space and food. This boat seats around 30 or so people but our tour didn't even have that many people. In my opinion a smaller boat with less people is always better than a huge boat with tons of people. Especially when you're out in the water. You don't have all those people fighting to be in one area to see a turtle kicking you in the face with their fins.

Upon boarding the boat and getting safety instructions they provide breakfast. We had banana bread muffins, blueberry muffins and fresh fruit. Including Maui Gold pineapple (yum!). Then you're off to snorkel.

Unfortunately, and this is out of any company's control, the water conditions were terrible. Huge swells so there was no trip to the crater. But from what I hear the crater isn't what it used to be anymore. We ended up at two different reefs that were protected from the winds. Even there though the current was strong and you had to pay attention to not get caught in it.

We did still end up seeing turtles, tons of fish, eels, and even got to see a Hawaiian Monk Seal (only about 1400 left and facing extinction). We never saw any dolphins or whales but whale season hasn't started yet so we weren't expecting to anyway.

For lunch they served hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, pasta salad and had a veggie tray. All was good. They also opened the bar and served different beers and drinks such as Mai Tais. The drinks were endless and good.

The crew was very helpful and nice. My mother, who isn't a strong swimmer, they were very helpful with and provided her with extra flotation devices to help her feel comfortable in the water.

Date of experience: November 2017
3  Thank flyawayCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend . Great trip for the value! We loved the burgers, turtle town was amazing. Boat is well kept and staff is so nice

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 473breeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

We did not know what to expect but we own boats and are boaters so our expectations were pretty high. We arrived on time to find the crew and Captain to be extremely friendly and properly getting things stowed and ready for the trip. The day had very strong winds and we opted to not go to Molokini Crater. Why? because we know that snorkeling in high winds is no fun and we would be miserable. We decided to go to Mala sunk pier and it was a great choice. Note: We had several first time snorkelers on board and they were blown away by the crew and location. I we recommend a private charter for your party as we were the only ones on the boat. We had 17 in our family and I cannot compliment the crew enough from breakfast to lunch they were very attentive and friendly. Now what did we see snorkeling? We managed to see over a dozen turtles several sharks and three or four Moray eels. Our children still talk about the excursion and the food provided was perfect boat food for our family...burgers, chicken teriyaki and hot dogs. The side dishes were pasta salad and vegi plates. Tanya did ask if anyone was vegetarian and would accomodate anyone with diet sensitive needs we did not need this but it's worth mentioning. I would do it again in a heart beat and highly recommend this charter.

Last footnote: If you have your own snorkeling gear bring it and practice a little before going out it only heightens the experience. The boat we were on was the Leilani.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews