We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome

I am so glad we went with this tour!! Everyone was so friendly and it was an extremely relaxing... read more

Reviewed November 7, 2018
Vacation61348635339
via mobile
Molokini Snorkel Tour

The Molokini snorkel tour was a half day trip spent at Molokini and Turtle Town. Our captain and... read more

Reviewed August 28, 2018
ginger_traveller_88
,
State College, Pennsylvania
Read all 71 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Maalaea
from $138.46
More Info
from $74.16
More Info
from $68.38
More Info
from $45.22
More Info
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
59
6
1
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
6
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private charter pasta salad turtle town molokini crater continental breakfast macadamia nut cookies safety talk fish smaller group maalaea harbor bbq lunch food was great mai tais second stop snorkel tour great snorkel humpback whales
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 71 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2017

My husband, sister, BIL, niece, mother, and I went on Leilani for our snorkel tour. It was a great choice.

The boat is not one of the mega boats that Pride of Maui (this is a sister boat) and other companies have. Your not stuck with 60+ strangers vying for space and food. This boat seats around 30 or so people but our tour didn't even have that many people. In my opinion a smaller boat with less people is always better than a huge boat with tons of people. Especially when you're out in the water. You don't have all those people fighting to be in one area to see a turtle kicking you in the face with their fins.

Upon boarding the boat and getting safety instructions they provide breakfast. We had banana bread muffins, blueberry muffins and fresh fruit. Including Maui Gold pineapple (yum!). Then you're off to snorkel.

Unfortunately, and this is out of any company's control, the water conditions were terrible. Huge swells so there was no trip to the crater. But from what I hear the crater isn't what it used to be anymore. We ended up at two different reefs that were protected from the winds. Even there though the current was strong and you had to pay attention to not get caught in it.

We did still end up seeing turtles, tons of fish, eels, and even got to see a Hawaiian Monk Seal (only about 1400 left and facing extinction). We never saw any dolphins or whales but whale season hasn't started yet so we weren't expecting to anyway.

For lunch they served hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, pasta salad and had a veggie tray. All was good. They also opened the bar and served different beers and drinks such as Mai Tais. The drinks were endless and good.

The crew was very helpful and nice. My mother, who isn't a strong swimmer, they were very helpful with and provided her with extra flotation devices to help her feel comfortable in the water.

Date of experience: November 2017
2  Thank flyawayCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend . Great trip for the value! We loved the burgers, turtle town was amazing. Boat is well kept and staff is so nice

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 473breeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

We did not know what to expect but we own boats and are boaters so our expectations were pretty high. We arrived on time to find the crew and Captain to be extremely friendly and properly getting things stowed and ready for the trip. The day had very strong winds and we opted to not go to Molokini Crater. Why? because we know that snorkeling in high winds is no fun and we would be miserable. We decided to go to Mala sunk pier and it was a great choice. Note: We had several first time snorkelers on board and they were blown away by the crew and location. I we recommend a private charter for your party as we were the only ones on the boat. We had 17 in our family and I cannot compliment the crew enough from breakfast to lunch they were very attentive and friendly. Now what did we see snorkeling? We managed to see over a dozen turtles several sharks and three or four Moray eels. Our children still talk about the excursion and the food provided was perfect boat food for our family...burgers, chicken teriyaki and hot dogs. The side dishes were pasta salad and vegi plates. Tanya did ask if anyone was vegetarian and would accomodate anyone with diet sensitive needs we did not need this but it's worth mentioning. I would do it again in a heart beat and highly recommend this charter.

Last footnote: If you have your own snorkeling gear bring it and practice a little before going out it only heightens the experience. The boat we were on was the Leilani.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2017

Captain Kiwi, Noah & Tanya were outstanding. The history provided by Captain Kiwi throughout the cruise was very helpful as well as informative. Just great time particularly when we noted that the boat only had 31 passengers on board. Although it advertises a capacity a little over 50, they stay in the 30 range which leaves more than enough room for everyone. Because we visited Turtle Town first, we had Molikini all to ourselves when we arrived later in the morning. My wife an I highly recommend this snorkeling tour .

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Bob8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the pier early and waited till the captain let us all board. It wasn't overly crowded which was nice and the boat was a reasonable size. We had the safety talk and out we went. What we liked was that the captain decided to go to turtle bay first and avoid the crowds and then the crater after. Alas we personally never saw a turtle but saw some nice marine life at the crater.

Some people in other reviews complained that they felt the talks and jokes were repetitive and the crew seemed disinterested but bear in mind how many times they do this a week. We found all 3 crew members attentive, helpful, interested in our safety and enjoyment.

Once we left the final stop we had a really nice BBQ lunch which included burgers, hot dogs, chicken, pasta salad and veggie options. There was plenty there for seconds and 'homemade' cookies after. They also opened up the bar afterwards and the beer, soft drinks and mai tais were flowing. They stopped serving drinks just before arrival back to the port, which was fair enough.

All in all we had no issues with this company and we spent ages reviewing the various providers. If you want a big boat and tons of people do Pride of Maui which is owed by same company. If you want a smaller more intimate but still fun experience then go with this one.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank JayandLuke2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews