We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience Molokini”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alii Nui

Alii Nui
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Afternoon Turtle Snorkel on Maui
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alii Nui is a custom built, one of a kind, luxury sailing catamaran with a reputation for providing the ultimate in service and amenities. We limit the number of passengers to provide plenty of room to relax and enjoy. The Alii Nui offers Morning Snorkel Sails, Afternoon Turtle Snorkels, Whale Watch Excursions, Sunset Sails, Royal Feast Dinner Sails, Wedding Sails, and new event, Club Alii Nui. Measuring an impressive 65' from stem to stern and 36' port to starboard, she is truly the premiere sailing catamaran on Maui!
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Experience Molokini”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and myself took this snorkel cruise July 27, 2013. We had always been curious about snorkelling at Molokini but were a little intimidated by its location. Alii Nui starts you off right by including pick up and drop off at your hotel. We did not need to bring any gear or towels or sunscreen as they provide all of these. We snorkelled in the bluest and clearest water we had ever experienced. It is very calm where the boat anchors. Food on board was good and wine and beer are included. Our ride back was a little rough, we could not sit on the front as water was hitting hard onto the deck. We were not able to stop at the turtle station because of this. Staff were friendly and accomodating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vivimaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    39
    8
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Event Planner - Review of Group (Private) Snorkel Charter”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Working with the Alii Nui was, by far, one of the best event planning experiences I can remember. Sailing on the Charter itself was just icing on the cake! Amazing all the way around!

A very special thanks to Carol Contreras who I worked with starting in December of 2012 to secure the Alii Nui for a private Charter in July 2013. Carol was so amazing to work with and I enjoyed all the interaction over the months we coordinated together. She was absolutely correct when she told me the Alii Nui was the very BEST catamaran on the Island.

On our sail date, in mid-July, Captain Tim and crew made the sail extremely memorable. Everyone was so personable and seemed to thoroughly enjoy interacting with the guests. If you are sailing on the Alii Nui be prepared to feel pampered. This is truly a classy operation and you are completely catered to!

If you are looking to host a group on a Alii Nui charter you can expect transportation to/from resort for up to 48 people; hot and very good tasting breakfast with a variety to choose from; snacks; lunch; wine & beer; sunscreen; towels; top of the line snorkel gear, flotation devices, his/her bathrooms; storage for personal belonging and plenty of room to relax (our group size was 55 with a few children) and more!

Given the choice, I would recommend snorkeling at Turtle Point vs. Molokini. At Turtle Point we were the ONLY boat in the vicinity which made the charter feel even more exclusive. It was very beautiful and lots of area to explore.

Overall Alli Nui Snorkel Sail is a must do and if you can afford to charter the entire boat, with the right size group, you will have an unforgettable experience and your guests will too.

Thank you to the Alii Nui for all you did to make this such a lovely group event.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible sunset cruise”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family went out for a sunset cruise inn July 2013. The entire experience was outstanding. From Lyle the crew member that met us at the hotel to the welcome on board by the long standing record holder in the girls 13-14 breast stoke champion at Congressional country club, we really enjoyed the experience. We were looking forward to the time on the boat and the sunset but the dinner exceeded every expectation.


We could not endorsee this boat and this crew more strongly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank hpkenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best snorkel trip ever!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have snorkeled with different companies all over the Hawaiian islands and a few on Maui but no one beats Alii Nui. We have snorkeled and taken their dinner cruises 13 times. With the snorkels trip they provide everything. They pick you up at your hotel (we stayed on the west side of the island), from the moment you step on the boat you are treated as the highest of royalty. All you need to do is bring your bathing suit, everything is provided from sun screen, towels, hot showers to all the snorkel gear you need including prescription snorkel mask if you wear glasses to a great breakfast and lunch. This was worth the price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Awesome crew, food was delicious and the cocktails were fantastic. We've done many snorkeling trips on several different boats in Maui and this was by far the very best! The Turtle Town snorkel trip with the Ali'i Nui will become a tradition for us on all our future trips to Maui.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alii Nui also viewed

 

Been to Alii Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing