We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best half day trip on Maui” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alii Nui

Alii Nui
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Afternoon Turtle Snorkel on Maui
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Alii Nui is a custom built, one of a kind, luxury sailing catamaran with a reputation for providing the ultimate in service and amenities. We limit the number of passengers to provide plenty of room to relax and enjoy. The Alii Nui offers Morning Snorkel Sails, Afternoon Turtle Snorkels, Whale Watch Excursions, Sunset Sails, Royal Feast Dinner Sails, Wedding Sails, and new event, Club Alii Nui. Measuring an impressive 65' from stem to stern and 36' port to starboard, she is truly the premiere sailing catamaran on Maui!
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best half day trip on Maui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

My wife and I have done many excursions during our holiday travels over the years. But the morning Molokini snorkel we did on June 11th was exceptional. Weather definitely was on our side, that and a super cool captain and awesome crew made for a perfect experience. Food was excellent, service superb and great snorkeling views made for a most enjoyable trip. Also the boat was not over booked so moving about was no problem. Thanks Alii Nui Captain and Crew.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    668
    39
    8
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the Royal Feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

When you thought the food couldn't get any better from the 'heavy pupu' fare, the Alii Nui adds the Royal Feast nights.
With a well trained crew that caters to every guest, its just an amazing experience. This is a must do for everyone that travels to Maui.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SunseekerChuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape San Blas, FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Whale Watch Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were in Maui March 2013 and went on several trips on the Alii Nui. It is an awesome boat and the crew treat you like royalty. Great food and drinks. On.one of our whale watches, the mother and calf were under the boat and several males circled and went under the boat and came up beside us for about 40 minutes.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneCapeSanBlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhannon, West Virginia
Level Contributor
281 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Unexpected Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Having been on several catamaran snorkeling excursions before, I was pleased with the high level of hospitality. We were offered a hot breakfast and a lunch buffet. The waters were quite rough and the captain said we traveled in 50 knot winds. The snorkeling was good, despite the rough waters. I was impressed that the captain called out to me as I was snorkeling alone and wanted to ensure that I had a buddy to swim with me... I did, but she was not off the boat yet. The staff were excellent. (Word of caution to those who get sea sick - don't eat a large meal or it will end up on the deck of the boat. It is not fair to the staff to clean the mess up... parents listen up too. There was a child who became violently ill because the parents allowed the girl to eat a large breakfast... bad idea. The staff were exceptional.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fun in the Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Overall the experieince was very good on the Alii Nui. First rate ship, food and crew. The crew was engaging but not overly fun...something you want on a day on the ocean. Would have been good if they played music onboard also. I've been on many catamaran excursions where the music makes the day fun.

We booked the tour to Turtle Point. Be aware they go to Molokini 3 days a week and the other days to Turtle Point. Word of warning....the weather dictates where you go even if you book a tour to a certain spot. Even though we booked a tour to Turtle Point we never stopped there at the captian's discretion because it was too windy at that location to make snorkling enjoyable. Instead we were brought to a reef about 100 yards off shore. Luckily there were some sea turtles there otherwise it would have been very boring as there were not a lot of fish. We actually could have swam there from the shore so it was a little disappointing that this is the place they settled on.

It was very windy that day - a perfect day to sail - but the captain decided to motor in to harbor instead. It seemed that he wanted our excursion to end sooner than later. It was Memorial Day so maybe they wanted to get some holiday time as well.

All in all a nice day but could have been better......

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellinman26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alii Nui also viewed

 

Been to Alii Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing