We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fishing trip you could ask for!”
Review of Maui Fun Charters

Maui Fun Charters
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Maalaea
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Marjorie Ann is a 36' Chesapeake Cabin Cruiser and Pamela is a 30' Force outfitted for Maui sport fishing and Maui bottom fishing. Private charters are available for whale watching in season (Dec-May). Used privately from Ma‘alaea Harbor, Maui since 2005 they are now available for charters. Both boats have recently been upgraded to be more accommodating to customers with an on board head, and the latest modern electronics and fishing tackle. Fish printing (by local Maui artist) and mounting are available for prize catches (not included in price). Fish for fun or keep your catch! Fun for the whole family!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fishing trip you could ask for!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We went out fishing for a while and we caught a ton of fish. We even caught a shark! Everyone on the boat was great, and treated us great as well. I highly recommend them for fishing in Maui! Everyone loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    7
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best Part of My Trip to Maui”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Bottom Fishing on the Marjorie Ann came highly recommended and they did not disappoint. Alex and Kelly made sure we had a great fishing experience and you can tell that they love what they do by sharing their wealth of knowledge about fishing and Maui in general. They limit the excursions to 6 passengers which makes it all the more personable (and better in my opinion). I've never been fishing before and they were super patient and helpful in showing me the ropes. Caught four fish so that was awesome. Everyone maxed out on the fish they caught. The boat was also well equipped and very clean. The cost was reasonable and well worth it. Had an amazing time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ctcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Point, MS
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kids loved it.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Booked a private charter so only our group would be on the boat. Thoroughly enjoyed the trip. We did not book the trip expecting to catch trophy fish. All we wanted was to catch some fish, regardless of type or size. We caught plenty! We told the captain that the trip was more for our 9 year old, and he did a good job making sure he caught fish. Also the deck hand, Alex, was great with the kids as well. He was very helpful and seemed to be having as much fun as we were. Will use again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wheelj06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip - especially for families”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We booked a private charter with these guys which was well worth the extra cost. Had the whole boat to ourselves and a lot of help for our 2 kids (age 5 and 9). Kelly and Alex were awesome - so knowledgable about where to go - they made sure to get us some fish for the kids right away and then we started heading over to spots looking for good eats! They were safe, responsible, courteous, professional, and yet easy going and fun to be around - I would recommend this trip to anyone. We caught lots of fish, including a great tasting gray snapper (uku) and a gold spot trevally...and a really interesting red/purple goat fish that we are having printed. I can't say enough about this outfit - if I could give it a higher rating I would.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shiloh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drouin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Maui NOT Fun Charters”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A friend and I went on a morning trip with 3 other people. We felt like we were at fishing school. Everyone had to do everything together e.g.: bait your hooks, wipe your hands, drop your lines over the side of the boat They spoke to us like we were little kids. We found them very patronising and way over the top about the cleanliness of the boat. They have a toilet on the boat but the door is locked and you are told you have to use a bucket in the corner but this is for emergencies only! We wouldn't go out with these guys again even if we were given a free trip. If you have ever been fishing before this is not the trip for you. We didn't catch anything worthwhile but that is the luck of the draw when you go fishing. You need to lighten up guys as we did not enjoy our experience at all and will not be recommending your business to any of our friends going to Maui for fishing. We went on another fishing trip the next day with a different company and loved every minute of it

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank travelbugsssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Fun Charters also viewed

 

Been to Maui Fun Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing