We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice complex in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kanai A Nalu Condominium Resort
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in unit 420 in this complex. Maalea is a great location, close to shopping, the airport and lots of things to do. The complex sits right on the beach, just steps from the complex to the ocean. I think all of the units have 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, with complete kitchens, laundry facilities in the units and ocean views from every unit. These units are all individually owned, so they are all decorated and outfitted differently. Our unit was very nicely furnished and fully equipped. This unit is also in the part of the building that is closest to the ocean. We could see and hear the ocean from the living room, and it was great to leave the windows open in the evening and go to sleep with the sounds of the ocean. The beach in front of the complex is sandy and great for sun bathing, boogie boarding and even snorkeling.

Overall, this was a great place to stay while we were on Maui, and I would highly recommend this complex, especially unit 420.

Room Tip: There are 20 units on each floor. The highest and lowest numbers are closest to the ocean (i.e. 415...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

When I visit Maui, I prefer to stay in Kihei. That being said, I decided to stay in Maalaea because a friend of mine had a condo that I could rent. I was absolutely not disappointed with staying here. It was a perfect location; a 10 minute drive to Kihei (you could walk to Kihei on the very long beach) and a 20 minute drive to Lahania. The condo was clean and neat and right on the beach. The shared area had a pool and BBQs for everyone's use. The condo was very quiet, I only heard footsteps above occassionally. One could walk to the Maalaea shopping center for whale watching trips, dinner or ice cream. We had no complaints with it being too windy as the days in February were mild. During whale season you could literally see whales in the bay. We would have our coffee on the lawn and watch the sun rise over Haleakala. My mind was changed during this trip and we will definitely be staying in Maalaea again as it is a great location on Maui.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank TulaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

I don't know where to start. We are very picky about our rentals and this one had no complaints. The location is perfect on the island. There is a beautiful ocean view from the balcony and even the living room. The owners are super people and a pleasure to deal with. We saw numerous Whales right from the couch. You are centrally located to everything. The aquarium is just around the corner as is many sightseeing and snorkel/dive boats.
The owners and renters here were so friendly and they adhere to the quiet hours. The parking is great and nobody bothers your things or vehicle. There are 2 bedrooms each with their own modern awesome bathroom. Plenty of room for the family and everything you need for a great stay. Washer/dryer large fridge with ice maker, beach towels, cable t.v. with dvd/vcr, stereo, microwave, dishwasher, etc. We did our laundry before we left. The kitchen is complete with everything you could need.
The condo unit 309 has all the comforts of home and can really help your budget. Maui is expensive, especially if you have a family. We used the owners coolers and packed a lunch every day for the beach. We had breakfast in the unit, packed a lunch, and went out every night for dinner. This helped us save hundreds on the trip. I could go on and on about our stay here at kana'i nalu unit 309, but don't be afraid of not having a good time here.
We will be back to Maui next year and I will not look for another place to stay. If you find a good thing stick with it. Did I also mention a pool on the water, outside BBQ grill and lounge chairs by the ocean....

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank mailboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

My third time at this complex; first time in this unit. Best feature is that both bathrooms have been skillfully remodeled with tasteful stone and tile, large showers, and quality cabinets. Excellent mattress & nice linens in master bedroom; good twins in 2nd bedroom. Loved the large lanai overlooking pool, beautiful landscaped grounds, and ocean. More spacious lanai with better views than side units; positioned to avoid hottest sun and strongest breeze. Easy entry/exit to ocean just a few steps from lawn.
Unit has A/C, W/D, and cable TV (living room only). The room I use LEAST on vacation is the kitchen, so did not mind lack of granite and stainless. Liked the free, reliable WiFi.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
5  Thank Barbara5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Views from the lanai and bedroom are fantastic. Real nice, quiet well maintained complex. Centrally located. #401 is beyond nice. It has everything to make your stay complete and unhurried. Quality dinnerware,flatware and cookware. Not the usual Walmart stuff found in most rentals. Furniture and bed the same quality. I have stayed all over Maui over the years and this unit is the best bar none. Planning my return already.
Skunkwerks

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Skunkwerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We went to Maui for our second time in May 2009. We stayed in Unit # 401 at this property. From the photos on their web site we expected a great place, and when we arrived we were NOT disappointed. The view from the lanai was incredible. It was such that one struggled to leave to go somewhere. The waves crash below the fourth floor room, the breeze, at least when we were there, makes it unecessary for AC. The unit is clean and well appointed. Our experience with the owner was very timely and pleasant. The only negative think that I can think of is that the elevator is not convenient to this unit, but it's not bad walk, and we are people who mostly take the stairs anyway. The top of the stairway ends right in front of this corner unit.

We are going back in February 2010 to watch the whales, and I'm told by more than one source that this location is among the best to do that. We looked at other places for our next trip in February, but our memory of the unit, the area and the beach made us choose this place again. The unit is located very near the Maalaea Bay Harbor if you want to do the boat trips available, and it is relatively close to Kihei, a place you will want to visit if you have never been there before. It is about a 20 minute drive from the airport depending on traffic. A Safeway market is only about 10 minutes away. If we ever go again after February, we will likely stay at this unit again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tnflaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

We just returned from a fabulous vacation to Maalaea, in mid February. Our condo was 319 in the Kanai A Nalu resort, and we were very happy with it. It was very clean, and beautifully decorated and bright. It looked right onto the ocean, and every day we were treated to amazing displays by everpresent whales! It was amazing. The only complaints I could possibly have about our particular unit was it would have been nice to have a hair dryer and a DVD player, and better loungers/chairs on the lanai. Otherwise we were completely happy.
The resort of Kanai A Nalu is set at the end of a dead-end road, and the location is very quiet. In addition, the quiet rules of the resort are respected, and it was always very quiet there, with no running and screaming either on the walkways and stairs, or on the lawns in front of us. It was all very clean and well kept, and though we didn't have an assigned parking stall, we were always able to find a parking spot.
Maalaea is as windy as advertised, sometimes crazily so, but it keeps it cool, and the only problem I ever found was walking on the beach in the high wind can be painful with the flying sand! But the beach starts right outside the resort, and winds on down forever - perfect for walks. There were plenty of lounge chairs, and you could lounge on the beautiful lawns in front of the ocean, or by the small by clean and lovely pool. (Would have enjoyed a hot tub as well, but there wasn't one).
Maalaea is quite small, and we found ourselves driving almost daily to Kihei (for groceries, restaurants, etc), but it wasn't a long drive. And we liked being out of the bustle of the busier places. Maalaea was very good as a base from which to drive nearly everywhere on Maui.
We booked our condo through Hawaii Vacation Condos Inc., and they were very helpful, and even booked our rental car for us at a great rate.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank DA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maalaea
6.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
33.6 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
15.8 mi away
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
Honua Kai Resort & Spa
#11 of 32 in Lahaina
3,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
8.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
8.2 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanai A Nalu Condominium Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanai A Nalu Condominium Resort

Address: 250 Hauoli St, Maalaea Village, Maalaea, Maui, HI 96793-5906
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Maalaea
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Maalaea
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kanai A Nalu Condominium Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kanai A Nalu Condominium Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanai a Nalu Condominium Hotel Maalaea
Kanai A Nalu Condominium Resort Maui/Maalaea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing