We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for us...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terrace Houses Sirince
Certificate of Excellence
Toluca Lake, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not for us...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I want to preface this by saying that the town and this lodging choice might be perfect for some people, but definitely not for us.

My new wife and I were on our honeymoon visiting several cities in Turkey. We had a big guided outting planned for Ephesus one morning, and decided to stay in the nearby town of Sirince.

Sirince has been described by many people here as very charming. I've visitied mountain side small towns in France, with narrow cobblestone streets that I found charming, so it's not that the entire concept is lost on me, but I don't understand the appeal of Sirince.

The town itself reminds me a bit of a Disney ride. You drive up a narrow mountain road and arrive in the heart of Sirince. Granted, the place is tiny, so every part of Sirince is basically the "heart." To me, the trip up the hill was the ride, the town itself is the crowded and uncomfortable gift shop that you're forced to walk through before making it back out to open air. The town is nothing but shops that are selling trinkets, olive oil, honey, and the regional specialty of fruit wine. Don't even get me started on the fruit wine...using the term "wine" seems to lend legitimacy to this product, which it does not deserve.

I guess I should get to my review of the hotel!

So the Terrace houses consist of three individual houses you can rent nightly. We ended up in the largest, and most remotely located of the houses, the Grapvine house.

The challenge begins with trying to locate the main building where you need to check in. The town is so densly populated with people and tour buses, that driving around is nearly impossible. So we parked in a lot, and went on foot, trying to follow the directions provided us. Even with the directions, the poor signage makes it very difficult to find the building.

Once we found the buildind we were greeted by the Terrace Houses' owner's daughter, who was overseeing the operations for a few weeks. She was very warm and friendly, and helpful. She came back down to the parking lot with us (about a 5 minute walk from the main building) and got in our car to help direct us to the location of our particular house. The house was located off of a steep, narrow, dead end dirt road.

Once at the house, we immediately recognized that, much like the town itself, the house wasn't our style. The property is pretty large with a main house, a fireplace "room" separate from the main house, and a little grass area. The house is quite old (I forget the exact age), and it shows. The floors are all stone and the interior all feels quite old. To me, I didn't see charm here, rather I felt a bit like we were staying in a barn.

There is one bathroom in the 3 bedroom home, which is a massive room taking up 1/2 of the downstairs. The other 1/2 of the downstairs is devoted to the kitchen and dining area. Once upstairs, there is a master bedroom, a second bedroom (with two institutional looking beds) and a third room only accessed through the second bedroom. This third room is billed as a bedroom, but it isn't much larger than a large walk in closet, and the bed is in a little cubby with low celing clearance. You access that bed via a small ladder. This bed isn't somewhere i would want to sleep or have a guest sleep.

After settling in we went back to the town to verify we didn't miss anything. There is an odd juxtaposition between very poor elderly women practically begging you to buy items from them, and tourist trap fruit wine tasting rooms. The town literally shuts down at 8pm, with the exception of some restaurants.

For us, the Terrace Houses and the town of Sirince were not ideal. The rustic nature of the home made me feel like I was camping. The highlight for us was that it was only a one night stop over.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank UCSB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

The week we spent at the Terrace House (Fig House) was a wonderful experience. The renovated house is very well done and spacious. It has a garden and two sitting terraces where we sat and relaxed and admired the view over the village. Supplies are easily obtained either from the village or via mini buses (every 30min) to nearby Selcuk. The hospitality is supurb witlh full breakfast being served on the terrace at nearby house. We also enjoyed a week on the sister property on Burgaz Island off Istanbul coast. The island is charming and ferries are very easy to use. No private cars on the island, only horses and sulkies.
We will take fond memories home to Australia,

Room Tip: Fig House is close but private, not suitable for wheelchair access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bludenz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We lived 2 ½ weeks in the 200 years-old Grapevine House like in a different time. The owner had restored this two-floor-house very lovingly and faithfully. It is very spacious and has a magnificent view of Sirince and in the valley. You can relax undisturbed in large green garden with many fruit trees and two terraces.
And you needn`t to give up modern amenities like air conditioning, refrigerator, microwave and dishwasher.
In the morning you can sit in the terrace cafe and take a rich turkish breakfast. The owner speaks excellent English and is very, very helpful. He gives top-notch recommendations, interesting explanations and very good maps.
Who likes to travel individually, is interested in ancient archaeological sites and loves empty miles of sandy beaches and clear water who will find there a little paradise like we - Zylla family from Austria.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Zylla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We (a family of six, with two seniors and two teenagers) spent three nights in Grapevine House - it's a lovely cottage up on the hill of Sirince. Sirince is a much nicer alternative than staying in Selcuk if you want to visit the area of Ephesus and surround. Only 20 minutes by car from Selcuk, the little village has a nice ambience of its own. The owners of Grapevine House were extremely helpful. Very yummy breakfasts and dinners were served in the Terrace Cafe overlooking the village. The cottage was extremely comfortable and we had the best nights of sleep while we stayed there. The village has good restaurants - we loved Artemis and went there two times! Going to Ephesus was easy, and we also spent a day in the Water Park "Adaland" - the kids just loved it! Thank you everyone in Grapevine House and we would love to return one day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We recently stayed at Terrace Houses and cannot stop talking and thinking about it!
We were there with our 3 girls (6,12 and 15) and could not imagine finding such a marvelous place to stay abroad. We enjoyed every bit of it!! We even considered buying that other house just next to the place, in order to make sure we could come over and over again!!!
Dinner was so fantastic, we ate nowhere but here during our 48 hour stay and our 3 girls compared every meal we had afterwards to those marvelous ones! Could not find any better all over Turkey!!!
The Fig House was great but even better were Omer, Charlotte, their daughter and Aysel who gave us advices on our day trips an took care of us all along. On a particularly hot day, Omer even came up with an inflatable pool for our girls!!
Waking up to the birds singing, the incredible view of the valley from our windows, the smell of the flowers on our private terrace, the taste of fresh apricots from the tree next to the house....
We will keep on passing the word to everyone we know!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGBfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had a fantastic stay. The rooms were very stylish, the food was good and the hosts were super hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjaminkent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed with 2 other couples for several nights at the Terrace Houses. The host (Omer) and staff were very warm and gracious to all of us. We particularly enjoyed the rooms and fresh meals prepared for us on the lovely terrace over-looking the valley. A bonus was that the location allowed us to take day trips to Ephesus and Heiropolis from Sirince. The charm of the Terrace Houses matched the overall charm of the village. It was a highlight of our 3 week vacation to Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsibley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sirince hotels
0.1 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kayserkaya Cottages
Kayserkaya Cottages
#6 of 9 in Sirince
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doga Pension
Doga Pension
#1 of 9 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Salkim Village
Salkim Village
#4 of 9 in Sirince
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.3 mi away
StoneHouse ByIpek FarmHouse
0.0 mi away
Sirince Klaseas Butik Otel&Restorant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Houses Sirince? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Houses Sirince

Property: Terrace Houses Sirince
Address: | Sirince Village, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Sirince
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Terrace Houses Sirince 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are letting three fully furnished houses and suites in Sirince village, 15 minutes to the ancient city of Ephesus. We are open all year round. Houses are comfortably decorated with original pieces from all over Turkey, and have all kitchen facilities. Hot water by solar system and electricity. Fire places are also blowing hot air in to the rooms. Clima is in all houses. Sirince is famous with its vine, olive oils and peaches. And it is a heritage village with 600 people living . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Terrace Houses Sirince reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terras Evler - Terrace Houses Sirince Hotel Sirince

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing