We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, even during Bayram”
Review of Mercan Restaurant

Mercan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Sirince
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, even during Bayram”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went to the Mercan for Breakfast during Bayram, a holiday in Turkey. We arrived early enough in this charming town for the being almost the only guests there. We had a typical Turkish breakfast.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKaD1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Charming family restaurant”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a small family-run restaurant on a side street in Sirince. We had to ask one of the merchants on the main street where it was. He said it would be hard for us to find on own, so he called the restaurant and the lady came in 5 minutes to lead us up several residential alleys to her restaurant. Its uphill perch allows for a lovely view over the homes on the opposite hillside. The place is charming, with tables and chairs painted pastel colors and even pastel lightbulbs. We sat on the outdoor terrace, but they have courtyard seating and indoor seating as well. Menus is the usual Turkish mezes and choices but food was very good. We ordered a spinach and cheese gozleme (crepelike pancake), which the lady prepared by hand and cooked in an open fireplace on a cast iron grill. It was delicious. We also had the manti, a type of short Turkish pasta served with yogurt and sweet red pepper sauce, and the homemade borek. Both were also delicious. (I had manti later in the trip in another town, and it was so drowned in yogurt that I couldn't eat it. The proportions in this version were perfect.) The lady's son speaks some English. This restaurant is worth seeking out. They serve beer and wine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kona4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic local food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We ate dinner here on our first night in Sirince and we were so impressed that we returned the next night. Great local food!

Helpful?
2 Thank Patsquatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very Good and Very Reasonable”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We are staying in Sirince for two nights and decided to go to this restaurant the first night. The weather was quite chilly so we chose a table close to the open fire. I had a "pancake" with Spinach and Cheese and we watched it being made. My husband had a sliced beef dish with tomatoes and onions and I had a stir fried chicken dish also with tomatoes and onions. Our food was quite tasty however the onions were so strong that neither of us could eat them.

My Husband had a beer and our total bill was 37 TL that included one pancake and two entrees. Another family was eating there and the mother worked in an Information center in Selcuk so she helped us with our menu choices. It was fun to interact with some of the locals.

I would highly reccommend this restaurant. Good value!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JWS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great family owned restaurant with great prices”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I ate at this restaurant for dinner. There was only one other couple eating which was a bit concerning. Turns out the other couple was a local who worked at a Tourist office and spoke excellent English. She spoke highly of the restaurant and helped us with the menu. The old woman next to the fireplace makes "Turkish pancakes". This is dough that is rolled out extremely thin (like a crepe ). And filled with the filling of your choice. We chose spinach and cheese. It is folded over and grilled over the open fire. For the main we had a beef vegetable dish and a chicken dish. Total cost including a beer was 34TL.....the price was terrific and so was the quality.

Just watching the old woman make the Turkish pancake was worth the trip

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mercan Restaurant also viewed

 
Sirince, Izmir Province
 

Been to Mercan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing