We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bohemian paradise, distinctive menu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Sirince B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Nisanyan House, a boutique hotel perched high in the hills of Şirince (see-rin-chay), is about 11 kilometers outside of Selçuk and Ephesus. It’s a place with a lot of personality, reflecting the owners and creators, Mujde and Sevan*. I loved the charm of Şirince and am glad we stayed there rather than Selcuk.

Tips: 1) If driving, follow the website directions exactly! 2) It would be important to have reservations in advance for dinner as the inn can accommodate about 30 in all of its various rooms but the dining room seats about 16. 3) I preferred the bed setup in our friend's cottage. I think they were in cottage 2. The problem with our bed arrangement (cottage #1?) is that it was attached on two sides (the foot and the side) and it was difficult for the inside person to get out at night if necessary. So ask about the bed setup. (The shower also was open to the toilet area with no shower curtain or partition.) 4) Lastly, you should be aware that the cottages are in an agricultural area, which means that beetles may crawl in one way or another. We had one bug visitor and a few bees. They have a can of bug spray in the room for a reason, I imagine.

We stayed with friends in the cottages, which are decorated with weavings, antiques and accessories - outside and in. The cottages are perched toward the top of the hill overlooking the town, and our patios and the open air breakfast room were perfect places to relax and watch the light changing over the agricultural fields that surround the inn. No sounds but the occasional donkey braying, peacock calling (yes, peacocks) and bell jingling of a herd of goats that were being rounded up for the night.

The inn is a small complex: five or so small buildings that have been converted into freestanding cottages connected by a gravel path that winds past the pool, an enclosure for geese and ducks, and several fountains and water features. There’s also a building with four or five rooms with eclectically furnished rooms and suites. Finally there’s a main building with a small seating area (the office and reception) and dining room where breakfast and dinner are served.

The restaurant has a great reputation for good reason. We particularly enjoyed “tavuk güveç” (chicken and vegetable casserole); “bonfille” (beef steak served with lots of garlic); lamb shank; börek pastry filled with spinach, feta, eggplant and tomato; “warm stuff salad” (made of warm red cabbage, green cabbage, walnut, dried apricot, green onions and cold carrots, cucumber and lettuce); stuffed sweet red peppers served cold with rice, feta, walnuts and herbs; vermicelli dessert and their chocolate soufflé. Dinner was about $75 for two, including wine.

*Twenty years ago or so, Mujde bought a donkey shed in the small town, about the time that the townspeople were convinced they should tear down all of the old stuff. She felt that the old buildings were charming, and she went about improving the donkey shed into a charming dwelling over a seven year period. Then she met and married Sevan, a travel writer, and they fixed up some of the villagers’ donkey sheds to prove to them that they could look good and shouldn’t be torn down. Apparently these were radical ideas to the local government; after one dispute, Sevan was jailed for 7 months. Not so many years later, he’s been recognized with a “Freedom of Thought” award.

Room Tip: Ask about the bed arrangement: one of the cottages (#1?) has a bed built in at both the foot and one...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betsysSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
There are newer reviews for Nisanyan Evleri Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 372 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

Sirince is a very picturesque area. You can trust 100% what is written on the hotel webside. The hotel is above the village therefore you escape from all the noise of all the tourists during the day. The houses and cottages are authentical Ottoman stile, inertial as well. We had a house with hammam. Very clean, no TV!!! The breakfast is great, all homemade, including all the vegetables, cheese and jams. We loved it! Restaurant is also great, not a large menu but very delicious and good service with a wonderful view! Stuff extremely nice and helpful! I can write a lot…..but don’t miss it, great place if you go there with friends or family as a couple or even on your own!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tzvetana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

First of all, the hotel has many room types and yes, they are not cheap. The rooms in the main lodge are smaller while the rooms in the Tower and the Cottage are huge with living, working, sleeping section. Before you make a decision on the room, it is wise to email the hotel and ask them what you need. Please note that the available rooms on booking.com are not the same as what the hotel really has to offer. When I first tried to book the hotel through booking.com, they said only 2 rooms left but when I emailed the hotel, turned out I have a lot more options than the two tiny rooms in the main lodge so I opted for a tower room which was perfect.

The Tower room we stayed was huge with cute colorful floral pattern sofa along the room walls with windows, the hard wood floor was covered with a tasteful oriental rug. The bathroom is huge, decorated in modern Greek style with a good pressure shower and modern looking zink and toilet, equiped with all amenities like a five star hotel. The bedroom corner was a step above the living area, with the bed and a curtain, bookshelves and a lavender poupouri.

The hamam is a cute little private dome near the reception area. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were all incredible, home-made with fresh ingredients.

The whole hotel area is so cute, with great view of Sirince town, cobbled stone, plenty of parking, trees, donkeys, wild flowers. We spent only one night and 2 days in Ephesus area and we opted to spend almost a day around the hotel since it was so peaceful and romantic.

If you can afford the price, I would have no second thought in choosing this place.

Room Tip: Choose tower room or cottage room if Room 1 in the main lodge is not available.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PRATANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

A hard to get to hotel up in the mountains, but worth the extra hassles getting there. Beautiful, if not eclectic room decor and most excellent food, dinner and breakfest. Quaint setting overlooking the old village. Some of the best food we had during our vacation in Turkey, but beware, the prices are European!
There is a small haamam on the premises that is tastefully decorated and stocked with everything you need. They didn't mention there was any extra fee for using it, but at checkout, they wanted to add another 50 JD for use of it. Best to ask upfront the extra costs.
Highly recommend staying in the special place!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nutrinut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

What a delight! Fabulous rooms in main hotel; lots of options for smaller and larger groups in different cottages. Designed and decorated in much style - great colors, etc. Food excellent in small restaurant. Great views down on the town of Sirince. Hardly imagine a more idyllic spot! Cute hamam - try it.

Room Tip: In main hotel, have a room with a view of the town.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is a lovely little inn at the very top of the mountain. They greeted us with refreshing elderberry drink upon our arrival and led us to our room, which had a double bed, wardrobe and perfect little bathroom. Everything was impeccably decorated with various antiques and custom linens -- it was fun just to walk around and sit in the various rooms in the inn.

The restaurant attached was incredible! We had the best meal of our trip there and the breakfast is just as incredible, including a beautiful view of the town below.

NOTE: if you are driving it is up a very steep and narrow road. If this makes you nervous, I imagine you could park at the bottom and a staff member would come pick you up.

They also very helpfully booked a guide for Efes for us -- and she was wonderful!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here in March 2012. We had the Turkish Bath house which was lovely. You felt like you had traveled back in time with the rusticness of it but still had the conveniences you want. The stone house is a great change of pace from staying at the resorts. We had 2 bedrooms - for the 3 of us - both had it's own bathroom. The beds weren't the best - that might be my only complaint - but they weren't the worst I have had at a hotel either. The living room & kitchen were quaint & charming. A fireplace was in the kitchen area & a fire was going when we arrived. A basket of wood is supplied each day to keep it going. The refrigerator had eggs, butter, jam, juice & other drinks in it that was complimentary.
Dinner was delicious. You need to call about an hour ahead with your order, then it is made fresh for you. You can stroll down to the dining room at your leisure to have a drink or just get there about the time your dinner is to be ready. The dining room is quite lovely, very old world feeling. Food was very good & wine was also. The after dinner drinks that they make themselves - cherry liqueur & walnut liqueur - are also complimentary & serve yourself.
Breakfast in the dining room was also delicious. Fresh warm biscuits were to die for. Could have made a meal on just those with fresh jam.
The tower is worth the climb. Great views from it & a fun place to take a bottle to wine to enjoy on a warm evening.
The staff were very friendly & warm. If you are a cat lover, there are many friendly cats that will make you feel at home.
We would highly recommend a stay here if you are visiting Ephesus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzdsny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sirince
0.2 mi away
Kirkinca Hotel
Kirkinca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sirince
256 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ephesus Hillside
Ephesus Hillside
#15 of 33 in Selcuk
9 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ayasoluk Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sirince Evleri
Hotel Sirince Evleri
#2 of 4 in Sirince
107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gullu Konaklari
Gullu Konaklari
#2 of 15 in Sirince
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
StoneHouse ByIpek FarmHouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisanyan Evleri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisanyan Evleri Hotel

Address: Merkez Sirince Koyu, Sirince 35920, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Sirince
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sirince
Price Range: $129 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nisanyan Evleri Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are four types of accommodation on offer: Inn - double or twin rooms - all en suite, breakfast included. Houses - fully independent historic houses - sleep 4-5 - all en suite, breakfast basket provided. Cottages - modest comfort in beautiful farm setting - all en suite, breakfast included. Guesthouse - economy double and twin rooms, one suite - all en suite, breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Nisanyan Evleri Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing