We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gullu Konaklari
Nearby Hotels
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkinca Hotel(Sirince)(Great Value!)
$79
$52
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ephesus Hillside(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
$31
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rilican Hotel(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ephesus Palace(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
$25
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Nur Pension(Selcuk)(Great Value!)
$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
126
35
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
35
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bazaarstayed here for two nightsglass of local winebeautiful terraceephesustownhillsidefireplace
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 177 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed a night in this hotel, and found the built, landscape to be so gorgeous it felt like we were somewhere in Italy. Perfect place when you would like serenity, only 15 minute drive from Ephesus. Too bad, breakfast was too basic. We were served just bread and half a dozen fruit jams - not a single warm meal such as the simple eggs. I am not asking for porridge or anything lavish, but considering we were to embark on a 5-hour tour with no knowledge of where to source for snacks, this breakfast is definitely inappropriate for a place like Gullu Konak. I would come again though, and ask for more variety of breakfast :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Venisiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

When booking to see Ephesus, please stay in the charming village of Sirince in this wonderful hotel. It is charming and well appointed. The staff are friendly and accomodating. The property is nestled on the side of a hill and there are plenty of outside lounge areas for summer enjoyment. The restaurant is a seperate building and is quite charming, as is the summer glass enclosed lounge.
I was traveling alone and found the room to be quite adaquit and the bathroom had a lovely rain shower and seperate deep tub...and a heated towel rack...needed as I was there the beginning of Dec.
The village is quaint and charming...lots of local crafts, like knitted booties, socks, mittens and gloves, as well as some more commercial finds. If you go up to the old church ruins, you will also find hand made local soaps and glass items.
I totally enjoyed my stay there...I give everything 100% on this one...I would go back and recommend to even my most discerning traveling friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steffie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

For our stay in the Ephesus area, we spent two nights at Güllü Konak and had a wonderful time. The rooms were superb, the staff was excellent, the food was very good and the setting was gorgeous. The hotel itself is set on a hill in Şirince and has a wonderful view of the valley around it. The rooms are located in different stone buildings throughout the property with plenty of gardens, fountains, and lounge areas in between. Inside each of the uniquely decorated rooms and other public areas, there is vintage artwork, antiques, and other pieces distinct to the region. There are plenty of small shops right outside the front gate with small bottles of local olive oil, wines, and other artisan products.

We were there in the middle of summer, but the weather there was always pleasant and beautiful. The pictures really don't do the property or its rooms justice. Everything was stunning from the moment we stepped through the stone hewn gate into the courtyard with its gurgling fountain and sprawling floral arrangements. Our room was a very nice suite in a separate house which was accessed via walk through some gorgeous gardens and orchards. Our suite was beautifully appointed with comfortable linens, books, and had all the nice luxuries you would expect from a high end boutique hotel. The bed was very comfortable and had a view towards the hillsides. The shower and bathroom were great, although the bathroom could be described as “tight quarters” for two people trying to get ready at the same time. It wasn’t a small bathroom, but it was kind of linear in nature and there was not any real counter space, so it was awkward for us to use the pedestal sink at the same time. Our room had a separate seating area that was perfect in helping us plan out our next day's activities and play games in the evening. There is also Wifi access available for free in the room.

The restaurant on the upper level was amazing. Güllü Konak is set into the side of a hill, so the restaurant was “above” the entrance and had a rooftop feel (all the dining was done outdoors under a pavilion), even though it technically was not a rooftop, but just set higher on the hill. The view from the restaurant level was absolutely stunning and overlooked the town and olive groves planted on the hillsides. There is plenty of extra seating on the level as well with cushioned lounge chairs, sofas, and tables set between beds of roses so you can sit and watch the sun dip below the horizon in the evening before dinner. The food was great and the chef was flexible in the timing of the meals which was important because we had tours scheduled early in the morning and, on the day we departed, we needed to leave before normal breakfast hours. Each night they would ask what time we wanted breakfast and then they would accommodate us accordingly. They had a great selection of food – especially cheeses and local produce.

This hotel is very close to Ephesus, so it makes it a great place to stay if you plan to spend a day or more touring the ruins. We only wish we'd had more than 2 nights to enjoy the property; it was a highlight of our 2 week tour of Turkey. Overall, we really loved Güllü Konak and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steph_Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We had a few problems during our stay at the Gullu Konaklari, but may be it was due to the time of year (end of October). For starters, we had no hot water until very late in the evening the first night. Also,we had hot water problems the last night of our stay. On our second day we returned to our room after a day of site seeing to find the bed was not made up and the room was not cleaned (not a big problem, but not what we expected). With all the problems the manager did give us a complementary dinner. On the positive side the hotel is very nice and very clean. The hotel's location (Şirince) is wonderful, a very interesting village. And this location is convenient for travel to area's various historical sites.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank niagarariverfatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Absolutely charming country house. The dining,lounge area felt like being in a comfortable family home rather than a business establishment. The terrace/garden was so tranquil, with captivating views. They grow all their own produce, so naturally the meals were superb. Unfortunately there are beautiful little chocolate treats sitting on plates in the sitting room,so I took an extra kilo of weight back on the flight.
There is no TV in the room, so we had to talk to each other, a good thing I suppose...
Sirince is well worth a visit, very quaint. The grape wine is very very drinkable.
Tariff is a little on the high side for Turkey, but couldn't complain about the great standard.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klattu_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews