We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Hotel Baykal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Baykal
Ranked #2 of 3 Bogazkale B&B and Inns
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

After having been pressed by the annoying hotel guys at the entrance of Bogazkale I was so glad I found this hotel. Ahmet the hotel director is a relaxed, friendly and helpful guy speaking excellent English. The rooms are good and the prices are fair. The hotel lies nearer to Hattusha than the hotels at the entrance of Bogazkale which is a big advantage. The Baykal hotel is highly recommended in the German traveller guide by Bussmann/Tröger and I just can agree. Last but not least: Ahmet sent a jacket I forgot in the hotel to my home adress in Germany !! I enjoyed the stay in this hotel very much.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Olaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
askersund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Hotel Baykal is not a hotel . It is more a simpel hostel. The rooms are very small and have very old furniture. The bedding is bad. Breakfast is very little. Be aware of Cornerahmet. He might be dangeros. I will never go there again.You can park the car in front of the hotel. The famous ruins are very close. The new museum is in the same street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank songuelaskersund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nivelles, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here with our 2 kids and could choose a room which actually was almost like a small flat with a small entrance lobby with sofa, 1 room with one bed, and another with 2 beds sleeping 3. Bathroom was also big. They have a small courtyard on which it is very pleasant relaxing end of the afternoon with a beer... they have a restaurant where you can choose from the counter amongst the dishes they have prepared, and breakfast is similar. Owner ans youngsters were very friendly and helpful, and if you want you could buy a carpet (from shop of his brother before if I recall well).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgianInIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoeterwoude
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Visitors should be aware that the hotel is hostile to same sex couples. On a recent (June 2011) trip to Anatolia my girlfriend and I (same sex couple) and our friends (mixed sex couple) stayed for one night in the Hattusas Pension, Hotel Baykal owned by Ahmed Baykal in the village of Boğazkale. The owner took the opportunity to make a series of discriminatory and unpleasant remarks, expressed in terms of “advice”, summed up as lesbians were not tolerated in Turkey, and that we should not attempt to request a double room anywhere else. It is notable that he made these remarks AFTER we had checked out, and when my partner was unacompanied, rather than beforehand and to the fluent Turkish-speaker in our group.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
16 Thank Sweetwood2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here one night and our room was very simple but good for only a night: big but old beds, big space, not TV, WC and shower are shared. But the price was low (only 15 euro per night per room) and we liked owner of the hotel. He is very kind and helpful man! Breakfast is not bad: very tasty bread and wonderful tea! The owner said that there were more comfortable room in his hotel, but we need only beds for a night which would be not expensive, so this hotel was perfect for us. I think it would be nice place for budget trevellers and backpackers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and it was worth it. Good shower. Nice dinner. Kind and helpful owner. The whole hotel looks beautiful. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dido37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Baykal in September while travelling around Turkey. We chose the hotel as it allowed us to avoid the late morning crowds at the nearby Hattusha site. Although we stayed only one night we were made to feel welcome by the owner who provided us with an evening meal and maps of the Hattusha and Yazilikaya sites. He even managed to knock the price of a lift to Yozgat by the local taxi Mafia down by about 20 euros.

Well worth staying if you're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheeseontaoist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bogazkale
0.1 mi away
Baskent Demiralan Hotel
Baskent Demiralan Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bogazkale
17 reviews
17.5 mi away
Grand Ser Hotel
Grand Ser Hotel
#2 of 4 in Yozgat
36 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Asikoglu
Hotel Asikoglu
#1 of 3 in Bogazkale
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Durak Hotel
Durak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narlik
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hittite Houses
Hittite Houses
#2 of 3 in Bogazkale
24 reviews
17.8 mi away
Galata Camlik Hotel
Galata Camlik Hotel
#3 of 4 in Yozgat
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baykal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baykal

Property: Hotel Baykal
Address: Carsi Mah.Cumhuriyet Meydani No:22, Bogazkale 19310, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Corum Province > Bogazkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bogazkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL BAYKAL - Your House in Hittite Capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Baykal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing