We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Gotta love the Longview Steakhouse...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longview Steakhouse - MOVED

Longview Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Okotoks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gotta love the Longview Steakhouse...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Whenever we have something to celebrate we head out to the Longview Steakhouse and have done so for the past 6 years...The food is truly amazing and the service wonderful. We probably tried everything on their menu by now and have not eaten better anywhere else. It is a small intimate and very relaxing atmosphere with great Service by people who care. Try it! You will not be disappointed...call for reservations or you may be out of luck...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    7
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
251 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Best Steak Ever?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I hate to put this out there just in case I run into another good steak, but I think I have to say that this place has the best steak I have ever had. The staff is great and makes you feel like you are eating at home. The portions size are perfect for the price. This is fine dining in small town atmosphere. The restaurant is very cozy and busy. I would suggest reservations or you are not going to get in. The food is fresh and cooked to perfection. I would recommend this place to anyone in the Calgary area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkilburn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As always Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Reservations Required. Small intimate restaurant with fabulous food and great service. It will surprise you. PS. Don`t tell anyone else, or you may not get a reservation again.! They are that busy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianandFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“They do EVERYTHING right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A family-run business about an hour south of Calgary in the heart of real ranch-country with real cattle-drives and real cowboys lies this little non-descript steakhouse. They are family-run with father and one son waiting tables and another son and daughter working in the kitchen. They serve every one of the 45 seats with far more precision and quality than similar-sized restaurants with bloated staffs. Service, REAL service, is the first thing you notice about the Longview Steakhouse.

The second thing you notice is the incredible precision of the execution of their menu. We started with Fresh Scallops in Sambuca Creme. Perfect. Then came the Spicy Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Soup. Perfect again. Left us wanting more. Then came the specialty of the house: 10 oz Rib Steak in Red Wine Jus with Steamed Shrimp in Hollandaise (served with roasted potatoes, parsnips, green beans and carrots). Perfectly seasoned. Perfectly rested. Perfect medium. For dessert, Bread Pudding in Caramel Sauce with Vanilla Ice Cream.

They are fast and efficient too. Our total meal took just under an hour and a half. Not once did a waiter walk by our table without checking to see if we needed anything. Service. Service. Service.

This place is full every night. You will need a reservation.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AttitudeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The quality of the meat and the service are very high. A good clue is that the locals like to eat here and they know all about good beef! It's worth a drive from Calgary, including for the scenery.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longview Steakhouse also viewed

 
Longview, Alberta
Longview, Alberta
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing