We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican food south of the border”

Arturo's Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $20
Restaurant details
McAllen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food south of the border”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great service. From waiters who have been there over thirty years., especially Lalo, the best waiter there. You will be treated like you are eating in a country club. Anything you want, they have. The new location in Weslaco, doesn't come close, go to progreso location, skip weslaco.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    18
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Old School!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I really can find much to complain about at Arturo's. It's actually boring to eat here. While the place is clean service is fast, but not real friendly. The food is okay. When you got to Mexico is this really what you are looking for? You can stay home and go to a chain restaurant and get the same level of service, only with some smiles!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tydewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nothing like Arturos”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We live north of Progresso about 2 hours away and visit often. We would eat nowhere else but Arturo's. We have eaten there for over 10 years (not in one sitting, mind you). Food, drinks, entertainment (somewhat limited) are all excellent. The wait staff is second to none, particularly Juan who has been "our" waiter for many years. Another plus is you can park there for free if you patronize the restaurant and don't have to worry about your car or it's belongings. Tip the parking attendant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DonB939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good food, great service”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Another one of the places that my mom and dad used to eat at. I must admit it was a while before i had eaten here again, and i must say that it was very good. Had the cheese enchiladas, had rice and beans. Also had the cheese nachos for an appetizer and let me tell those were the best ever. Even better than the enchiladas! Service here hasnt changed at all, when you are there they treat you well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cds72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Treated like Royalty”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I ate there Sunday and the late lunch was absolutely wonderful. Everything from the chips, the salsa, the enchiladas, tamales, rice, beans, guacamole, fries, bollilos was so fresh. The waiter staff clad in their suits did a superb job attending to our needs.I know of no restaurant this side of San San Antonio that has such great food and outstanding service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gabe1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arturo's Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
 
Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
 

Been to Arturo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing