We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience...”

Arturo's Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My first dining experience in Nuevo Progreso was an excellent one. Enjoyed their special luncheon plate consisting of tacos, tamales, enchiladas, beans and rice. All their meals come with chips and salsa. Food was served hot and fresh with excellent service. Must also give them credit for having clean rest rooms and unexpected attendant service. Definitely leave them a tip for great service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bonaventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
321 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Still a Great Restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had not been here in a few years, but we were so glad we came back. It still has the well-dressed waiters that give impeccable service, the delicious food of various kinds (the Game Dinner including steak and frog legs, Enchiladas, Chalupas, Nachos, Pico de Gallo, etc.), and the quaint attendants in the restrooms that you tip a few coins. There is something special about Arturo's - it has been a fine restaurant for many years and looks like it will continue to be.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Njoytravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elpaso
Level Contributor
217 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Fun Trop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Ordered the special plate that had tacos, enchiladas, beans and rice, Pretty good food and cheap beer. Had a great time in Nuevo Progreso, fun, laid back town!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ty b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another wonder lunch at Arturo's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My mother and I had lunch at Arturo's last week. It was wonderful!! We shared the Arturo's special and had ice tea to drink. The Arturo's special includes two tacos, two tamales, one enchilada, covered with a wonderful sauce, rice and beans. Of course every lunch or dinner starts with fantastic chips and 2 types of salsa. The service was excellent, our ice tea was refilled before it was half finished. Don't forget to finish your meal with Arturo's sundae or flan. I have enjoyed having meals at Arturo's for many years. Last summer we had 30 people at Artruo's for a family reunion dinner....I will post pictures with this review. FYI, I have NEVER felt unsafe in Progreso Nuevo. We drive over and park in Arturo's (free with $10 purchase of food or drink) guarded parking lot. They don't mind if you leave a car for the day, so park and go shopping, have a meal and enjoy Progreso Nuevo. Be sure to tip the parking lot attendant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank motherdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Cabrito is Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had the cabrito and it was delicious. Every time I go down to visit my family in Weslaco we have to make the trip to Arturos. The service is very good and it is nice to sit down and enjoy some good food in air conditioning. I suggest if you make a trip across the boarder that you eat the local food so don't bother ordering the Tex-Mex food on the menu you can get that kind of food in any state in the US. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaydog37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arturo's Restaurant also viewed

Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
 
Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
Nuevo Progreso, Tamaulipas
 

Been to Arturo's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing