We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
St Mary's Bay

“Best fish and chips ever”

The Boathouse Fisheries
Price range: $4 - $12
Description: The Boathouse fisheries, Purveyors of Fine fish and Seafood, locally sourced where possible but always of the highest quality. Visit our shop for a friendly service from our highly experience fish mongers. Seafood menu served daily to eat in or takeaway Fish and chips Mussels Bacon and Scallop roll Kipper roll Prawn salad and much more! See our specials board for exciting dishes such as Kedgeree, Pan seared Scallops and Bouillabase We are not licensed for alcohol but but you are welcome to bring your own!
Restaurant details
Description: The Boathouse fisheries, Purveyors of Fine fish and Seafood, locally sourced where possible but always of the highest quality. Visit our shop for a friendly service from our highly experience fish mongers. Seafood menu served daily to eat in or takeaway Fish and chips Mussels Bacon and Scallop roll Kipper roll Prawn salad and much more! See our specials board for exciting dishes such as Kedgeree, Pan seared Scallops and Bouillabase We are not licensed for alcohol but but you are welcome to bring your own!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recommend going to the Boathouse 100% for your fish everything is so fresh. They do the best fish and chips for miles around. They have a few tables inside. The service is fantastic from all the staff. The staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank davidbV3405RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2019

I used to use these guys when they were based in Hythe and if anything they've got better. The fish from the counter is 1st class and you can ask them to get certain items in for you if they're not usually stocked. The little seating area is not that big, but the food won't take long to devour when it's put in front of you! Even simple dishes like whitebait are well executed, with great tartare sauce and a plentiful salad garnish and lovely salad dressing. If you're off to the beach in Dymchurch or New Romney, they're well worth a visit. I travel from Hythe (normally by bike) to get fish from there as it's the best around here by a mile.

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2019

What superb fish! Bought salmon and lemon sole to cook at home and enjoyed the best seafood tagliatelle ever for lunch at the Boathouse. How lucky we are to live within travelling distance of such a fantastic place.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2019

What a place this is. I’m heading back as soon as I can, home cooking. Couldn’t be fresher and prices are daftly reasonable. I hold my hat off to the family there

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whoshotmrburnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019 via mobile

We have been customers of The Boathouse since it opened ... purchasing shellfish, fish, celebration platters to more recently their fish n chips.
They never fail .... everything is prepared beautifully and wonderfully fresh. The fish n chips was simply delicious, the batter like no other I have ever tasted ... superb!
Visit... you will not be disappointed

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank ANDREA85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Fisheries also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing