We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mologno
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveler rating
22
8
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
22
8
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine shop italian cooking castelnuovo di garfagnana rita hospitality lucca meats tourists opportunity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 32 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

From the trip to Alex's wine tasting to the cooking lesson to a fabulous family style dinner, all amazing!!
We spent a wonderful day in the company of this family establishment. We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Jackozzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaLu1960, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2016

Thank you so much.
It was a great pleasure meeting you all . Good fun !!
Look forward to seeing you again at La Mezzaluna.
Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2016

What a fantastic experience this was. I stayed at La Mezza Luna to attend Rita's cookery course, the first time I had booked an activity holiday and was travelling alone. Rita and Alex could not be more welcoming and did everything possible to ensure all their guests had a great holiday. The cooking was fun as well as informative and the added excursions were so much better for having a local guide. I met some lovely people on the course making me feel that I was not really holidaying alone I would love to return one day and highly recommend La Mezza Luna and Rita's cookery course to anyone.
Thanks Rita and Alex,
Shirley x

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure meeting you and you were a
lovely group . Hope to see you again in Barga one day .
Best Wishes Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We went to La Mezza Luna on a whim, to see some of Northern Tuscany but mainly to enjoy learning about Tuscan cooking. From the moment Rita met us at the airport to when she and her partner Alex took us back a week later we felt as if we were being looked after by friends.

On our first night we visited Alex's winery over the road and with other guests enjoyed an evening of delicious local hams and cheeses and wonderful (non-headache-inducing!) local wines.

Next day the cooking began and we loved it! During the week we became adept at making so many types of pasta, delicious sauces, breads, tarts, pizzas, desserts - and wild boar stew! Rita didn't just show us, we had to do it all too. A real hands-on, and hands-in, experience! Pizza making, in the big wood-fired pizza oven, was a highlight.

Everything was taken care of, with Rita taking us on trips and visits and keeping us very well fed morning, noon and night. We visited places we would never have seen on our own and Rita's local knowledge and personal touch made all the difference.

Our accommodation was fine, not a five star super modern impersonal hotel, which we did not want, but spotlessly clean, comfy accommodation with everything we needed.

A short walk away is the railway station and we took ourselves off on our own one day to explore the medieval town of Lucca. Closer to Rita's is the beautiful hilltop town of Barga. In both we almost expected the Montague and the Capulet lads to emerge from the alleyways.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at La Mezza Luna and are very glad to have met Rita and Alex, our warm and helpful hosts. We loved the cooking, the company, the wine and the wonderful food.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

What beautiful kind words!
It is very much appreciated and thank you so much . It was a great pleasure for Alex and I to meet you both. This is our life... food, wine music and great company!
Thank you once again and hope to see you again in Barga one day.
Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

My family of 5 were greeted by Rita, who was a perfect hostess!! We started our day with a tour around the kitchen and then went off to her partner's wine shop and had some tasting and meat and cheese platter before our cooking began. WOW!!! We made pizza, tiramisu, focasia bread, Traditional Ragu sauce, Pomadora sauce. My 15 year old son said that this was his favorite day of our 10 day vacation in Italy!!!

Rita was so very generous and she charges very reasonable price for a perfect day!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen1967aliberti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaLu1960, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Thank you so much , it was a great pleasure meeting your wonderful family .. It was so fun helping you make the pizza and so glad that your children, especialy your son enjoyed their day as well!! I hope that you continue to cook and use my recipes and hope that we meet again one day in the near future. Best regards and thank you once again. Rita and Alex

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

My wife & I had a wonderful afternoon cooking class at La Mezza Luna with Rita. It far exceeded our expectations. We were instructed in hands-on preparation of bruschetta, farro soup, 4 freshly made pastas and sauces (ravioli in butter & sage sauce, tagliatelle with ragu, flat Tuscan maccheroni with salsiccia sauce, and spaghetti pomodoro), and tiramisu. Then we had a feast, with Rita providing great wines. She's a wonderful teacher and chef with a great sense of humor and a Scottish accent - not so strange for an Italian living in the Barga area. An educational experience and a great value ! Can't wait to show off our new recipes with friends back home.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank hocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaLu1960, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2016

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for your kind words. .It is very much appreciated.
I am happy that I made your day so enjoyable
Continue with your recipes and .If you need any suggestions do not hesitate to e.mail.
Hope to see you both again one day in Barga.
Warm regards Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews