We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is Paradise!!!”
Morning coffee on the deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Morning coffee on the deck
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Morning coffee on the deck
Steps up to the Beach House from your secluded beach
View of the Beach House from the blue lagoon
Your location - Fofoa Island, Vava'u Islands, Kingdom of Tonga
Natural beauty in the details
Bamboo clad bathroom
fully equipped kitchen
Outside dining
Your boat Lavinuella
view from the deck
Join us swimming with humpback whales
your beach
Kid friendly/family fun
Fruit basket from the organic garden
View from your deck
The view from the master bedroom
village of Hunga
Swimming with humpback whale calf
Onsite Massage
Kitesurfing on the lagoon
Fresh fish for dinner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Fofoa, Vava'u Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Dnies1986
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is Paradise!!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

When Tripadvisor had the possibility to add more points to a place then just 5...this one would receive a great 10+.
We slept in the Coral Cottage for 6 nights, amazing place. The view on the sunset is I think the best.
The outside shower so beautiful, cool to watch turtles swim by when you are taking a shower.
Snorkeling when you step out of bed and then relax in the hammockseats on your own terrace.
The crew is amazing, they make you feel like you are part of the family! So friendly and always prepared to help you out with just about anything you need!
We love that the place is self sustained really interresting to see how everything works! Everything works like a charm...
The whale swimming trips are a once in a lifetime and Boris ans Tom made it one to never forget..everything runned smoothly.
We would definitly come here again and stay longer...in paradise on earth.
Thanks again to everybody we had the time of our life.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SY12345
Penang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“GREAT Whale Swimming”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We could not book their hotel, but we could book the whale swimming with them for 1 day! So this review will be about whale swimming!

In Aug, whale swimming is really popular in Vava'u.
We were a little late to organise our booking and could not book our preferred date with one operator.

So we have contacted Karyn as well and she was really kind and booked us for our preferred date. Thank you very much!

We were lucky that only 4 people in the boat. There is a rule that every boat, only 4 people can enter the water at one time. Most of boats have 8 people and split in 2 groups, which is nice too but with them, we were 4! So whenever ready, it was always our turn!

Tom and Boris were very kind and we found that they are putting really great effort for customers with really relaxed atmosphere. Although the day we were on, it was a little difficult to find any whale (of course it is nature!), in the end, we had a AMAZING time.... We met VERY friendly calf and mother whale. They never go away from our boat, even after we entered water, the calf got so close to us!!!! The calf splash with his or her back fin and keep coming to us! We swam with mother and calf for quite long time since they seemed to be really relaxed with us... we saw sometimes the calf close his/her eye next to the mother..... What a great moment we had!!!

And one more great thing... The lunch!!!
I normally got sick on the small boat so I never enjoyed any food on the boat. But with their lunch!!!! OMG! It was so tasty and I ate them all!!!! Also I really liked the coconut Tom opened on the boat and home made cookies after the lunch!!

I imagine the food in your lodge must be really good!!!

Thank you very much for all!!!!!
I really hope we can get back to you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thanks Sachiko for taking the time to write us your review. I'm glad you had such a wonderful day and next time we hope we can accommodate you too for more whale swims!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schayes20...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Counting down the days until we can return”
Reviewed August 7, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Magical, bliss, most memorable days! The most amazing holiday was had in the most amazing location, in an amazing house looked after by amazing people. Can't wait to come back - this time with the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2017
Malo lahi for your review - we're looking forward to meeting the kids on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsnz
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed April 16, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing. From first communication to bittersweet farewell Karyn and Boris were incredible hosts and their slice of paradise was just what we needed to celebrate our wedding anniversary and step off the treadmill of our busy lives. Karyn, Boris and the boys were exceptional, sharing their knowledge of Tonga, offering kindness, care and privacy in equal measure.
We visited in the 'off-season' at the end of Tonga's so called rainy season. The weather was great, hot and a touch steamy but the odd shower didn't impact on our visit at all. Karyn helped us provision the house, we bought some extra treats from NZ and cooked for ourselves (baring a lovely anniversary dinner cooked by Karyn).
We snorkeled at least twice a day, swam, kayaked and explored. Oh and we lay about reading books and snoozing. Honestly this place spectacular. If you love getting off the beaten track, value the environment and getting amongst nature, and prefer personalized service over the resort conveyor belt this is the place for you! We will be coming back with our kids soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnMo99
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

4 days of bliss !
From Karyn and her family and staff to the beautiful accommodation - the food !! And off course the whales !!
A dream came true - swimming with whales and staying on your own private island in the middle of the Pacific with no other tourists in sight !!
This is as good as it gets !
Thank you !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinapsy...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfection! Book this immediately!”
Reviewed January 11, 2017 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

It is impossible to know where to start this review. This place is SO magical it defies description. From the moment we were collected by Boris from the wharf at Neiafu (after a lobster pasta at a local cafe) I knew that this was going to be spectacular. But I didn't know it was going to be this spectacular! The house and the island, at first sight, are breathtaking. Before I had even got off the boat I know I wasn't going to want to leave. We were greeted by Karyn and the boys, wading out to meet us in the kind of water you really only see in advertisements for South Pacific paradise locations, and felt like we were old friends. We had booked directly with Karyn which was an effortless preocess and involved getting to know her in a short series of emails.
The house is amazing. It really is pointless to try to describe it in words, and photos don't do it justice. It is exquisitely located, with everything you could possibly want: fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds, great showers with lovely views, and a beach to die for down your own flight of stairs. The balcony is the total highlight, complete with views to local islands across the lagoon, and a hammock to lie in and contemplate a place this beautiful.
We cooked for ourselves for the first few days. Karyn had sent us a list of groceries that were readily available, and purchased and stored them for us. We had also ordered a couple of pre cooked dinners which were in the freezer and they were home-made and delicious.
After a couple of days we moved on to the fully catered option. I can't rate this highly enough. We didn't really know what to expect but were stunned by the quality of the food. We had three courses for dinner, served to us on the balcony. An example a main course was garlic lobster pasta followed by home made mango and basil gelato. It was restaurant quality and relied heavily on all the wonderful things that the family grows in their garden or which local fishermen can find in the ocean. We couldn't have asked for more.
We went whale watching twice, a superlative experience which is pointless to try to describe in a review. Suffice to say it is a mind blowing experience, organised expertly by Karyn and Boris. We followed whales throughout the day, entering the water a number of times to swim with them. We managed to get quite close to a mother and calf and watch them frolic above and below the water for a couple of hours. It is understandable why some people find this an addictive experience and return to do it every year. It is really indescribable but will fill you with awe. Equally, the snorkelling is unbeatable.
We also visited the local island in Hunga and attended a church service there. I would recommend this so you can see how the local people live.
When we came to leave, we just couldn't. We had originally planned to stay for five days, and eventually decided on seven when we booked, but we actually extended our trip to nine days as we knew we had found something very special here and really wanted to maximise our time here as much as possible.
If you love beautiful, natural environments, nature at its best, all your creature comforts, great food, fantastic hosts and feeling that you have washed up in a tropical paradise where the problems of the world don't exist, then do yourself a favour and book in to the Beach House at Fofoa. Life will never quite be the same again, in the best way possible!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. We soooo enjoyed having you all to stay and extend your stay so we could spend more time together. We're looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOONSTRUC...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“THE MOST INCREDIBLE PLACE ON EARTH”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Wow. Where do i even start. This place really is heaven on earth! After visiting many beautiful places I can safely say this was the most beautiful place I have ever seen. We can't wait to go back! Karyn and her whole family were so friendly and accomodating to my sister and I and ensured we had everything we needed at all times. The food that was prepared for us was out of this world and a special thanks to Karyn for going to the trouble of finding me a dairy free milk alternative! This is a bucket list location and if you are thinking of going you must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Thanks Sarah. Always happy to accommodate different diets - just need enough pre-warning to ensure we can find alternatives. Hoping to see you both out here again in 2017!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing