We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel marred by sub-par service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Serles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Serles
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mieders
Amberg, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel marred by sub-par service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Hotel Serles was a very nice hotel located in Mieders. The sauna, swimming pool and spa area were exceptionally nice, and we had a wonderful time. The meals at the restaurant were delicious, and the portions were generous. Overall, the support staff was very friendly. But there were a number of times where the management made us feel like we were a huge inconvenience to them. Having never stayed in a hotel in Austria before, I'm not sure if that's par for the course. The restaurants and places we frequented elsewhere were exceptionally friendly and didn't make us feel that way. The enjoyable atmosphere in the hotel, the fantastic spa, and the great meals were marred by the feeling that we weren't really welcome, and we won't be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
17
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel has good ratings overall, but we didn't have a good experience. The location is great if you're looking to stay in Mieders. The food is also very good, which is important because there are very few other places to eat in Mieders. One tip: the drinks (even juice, water, soda) are not included in the dinner price and are expensive (4 Euro for water -- I don't even want to know how much the wine would be). If you are not dead set on staying in Mieders, I'd actually stay up the valley in a more interesting village.

As other reviewers have said, the room is best described as worn or old. Actually, the same could be said for the entire facility except the spa (which is modern but small and crowded during high season).

But the worst was the service. I'm really not one of those super picky people, but the staff -- and the owners in particular -- always seemed to be yelling at us for something. The owner lady scolded us for sitting down for dinner too early. Then she scolded us for not finishing a dish. The guy checking us in stopped the process to have a conversation literally about the weather with another member of the staff.

After all that, I was probably going to give the place three stars. But then the night before checking out, I was looking at the room descriptions and noticed that they had actually downgraded us to a smaller room with no bath. I had not remembered what I actually reserved until then. It wasn't that big of a deal -- and not worth it to move at that point. But upon checkout, they tried to charge me for the bigger room we did not get. Amazingly, rather than just fixing it, the owner lady said we did not object and didn't say anything, so we should pay the full amount. I figured it was an honest mistake at the time, but they were super defensive -- as if we had just exposed a fraud of theirs (now that I think about it . . .). In any case, we ended up compromising on a rate for a completely different room -- not as much as the rate for what I reserved, but not as cheap as the posted non-discounted rate for the room that I got. So if you do end up staying here, watch out to make sure you get the rate/room you were expecting -- object right away if there is a problem or you'll be stuck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unwilted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is located nicely next to the Serlesbahn, a small skiing/outdoor area. The bigger skiing centre Stubaier Gletcher can be reached by bus from the front of the hotel or by car(recommended if you have arrived by car).
The staff was amazingly friendly and nice, and hotel is really well maintained. The breakfast buffet was super with on-demand-omelettes! Sauna/wellness area at the basement was big enough with for example a Finnish sauna and a hot tub. Great place to relax after a day outdoors.

Why I am not giving 5 stars is that the room was a little bit dated with old furniture(but big and comfortable) and the shower doors made a horrible sound. Other than that the place was great and I would definately stay there again.

a tip: if you are not having a voll/halbpension, you might have trouble finding a place to eat in Mieders, since there are only a couple restaurants nearby. The other surrounding villages are bigger and have more shops/a pharmacy etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a great hotel for a family vacation. There is a spa area with an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and aromatic steam bath. My grandchildren enjoyed the play room and the playground. Our room was clean and comfortable. Nice extras in the room included a backpack, walking sticks, and hot water bottle. Our balcony had a fantastic view of Mount Serles and up the valley to the Stubai glacier. The breakfast buffet was extensive with cook to order eggs. Evening meals were great. We enjoyed afternoon coffee and cake on the large balcony outside the restaurant. The family who operates the hotel are very friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the hotel have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Native_Texan_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Great food, wonderful people, very, very comfortable beds all set in the charming Austrian village of Mieders. The hotel is a short walk from the ski/sledding mountain. If you have not tried sledding in Austria, you must! The course is 8 k long and a total blast. A gondola takes you to the top of the mountain, from there you can ski or sled down. The hotel has a very nice spa area with a pool, sauna and a jacuzzi. The hotel is non-smoking and it is so wonderful to be able to have a meal or a drink in the bar without all the smoke that is still so common in Austrian bars and restaurants. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisefromCA_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messini, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Excellent hotel, we arrived quite late after travelling from Ancona in Italy, although the restaurant had just closed they went out of their way to offer us an excellent meal beautifully presented. Our room was large, warm and comfortable, even had hot water bottle in bathroom, sewing kit, walking sticks.. attention to detail and very clean. Breakfast was buffet style and a lot of it. Staff were welcoming and helpful. I would most definitely stay here again. Only being there one night we did not have the opportunity to try any other facilities.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1191103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2010

After motorbiking across Europe, mainly through France and Italy, this was a refreshing and warm environment. We found this hotel on our way northward and both the staff and the proprietor's friendly and multi-lingual capability made our stay even better. The quality and maintenance is exceptional and our spacious room and views were welcoming. The bed was definitely the best quality and comfort we found anywhere we've stayed in the past 40+ days. This Village is all about outdoor recreation including biking, hiking and winter sports. The Serles offers and can coordinate all of it for you and with the quality facilities a four(4) or five(5) day stay here would be fabulous. The buffet dinner gave us an experience & taste of local Tirol specialties. Everything was fresh and wonderful.The buffet breakfast was the first and only breakfast we found that made an omelette fresh and was not only about pastries!! What a great change for us. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mieders
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wiesenhof
Hotel Wiesenhof
#2 of 4 in Mieders
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenstolz
Hotel Alpenstolz
#3 of 4 in Mieders
4.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sporthotel Cristall
Sporthotel Cristall
#1 of 17 in Fulpmes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
Hotel Der Stubaierhof
#5 of 38 in Neustift im Stubaital
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
Alpenhotel Tirolerhof
#3 of 17 in Fulpmes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.7 mi away
Habicht
Habicht
#12 of 17 in Fulpmes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serles

Property: Hotel Serles
Address: Dorfstrasse 58, Mieders 6142, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Mieders
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mieders
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Serles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Serles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing