We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round for families and couples -but a couple of downsides.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferienclub Bellevue am See
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walchsee
wirral
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent all round for families and couples -but a couple of downsides.”
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Most reviews cover excellent acommodation,location and food etc so we thought we'd comment on a few different things.
1. We got a great Thompson internet deal £495 each full board for a week so paid 105 euros for a lake view room upgrade by e mailing the hotel direct beforehand- the mountain view room we were allocated to originally was perfectly adequate (we were given it by mistake on arrival) but bore no semblance to the beautiful lake view and mountain vista -well worth the extra believe us -Wine on the balcony looking out was brilliant.
2. Bikes are free! Make use of them and follow some of the fantastic routes through Alpine valleys -you don't have to do mountain biking unless you want to -scenery along the trails is glorious.
3. The guest card from the hotel which you are given entitles you to free bus travel in the Kaiser Winkl region- this is as far as Kossen one way to and Kufstein the other (Kufstein is outside the region so there is a 2.60 euro supplement) - many villages in between too.The bus stops are outside the hotel front door and run once an hour
4. There is a good cable car up the Unterhorn from Kossen and great coffee/cake shop opposite the church- watch the para gliders jump
5. Get the local map and trail routes from the Tourist Info in Walchsee 6.95 euro it's a must- you can pick and chose were to go etc
6. One big negative for us is that after evening meal (you can chose 18.00 or 20.00 sitting-we chose the later to allow longer days) entertainment is about zero bar the one Tyrolean evening (that is free). Other than hotel bars the place is like a morgue after 20.00- but if you've been before you know Austria is like that- we did a small round of other hotels bars Schlik, Brunner and Panorama. Walchsee is more isolated than most though so no rep's doing quiz or bowling nights etc.-expect early nights!
7. One of the best things about full board is that you are encouraged to prepare your own packed lunch from the breakfast buffet. You are given a carry bag/plastic bags/carton drinks/cereal bar- we typically added two ham/cheese rolls each, youghuts, fruit and anything else you might want. Tip- take a flask with you you can make your own tea/coffee too
8. Finally expect Germans- no problem very sedate and civil but expect 95% German occupancy- so nearly everything is German related-announcements/entertainment (there was Bingo one night)- a few words helps but you might find a phrase book helpful!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    18
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Fine hotel - great for families. I recommend full board arrangement - the food is great.

Slight safety concern about exposed cooker rings in hotel rooms within easy reach of young kids.

If youre going with Thomsons or Crystal dont book any of their excursions. They are a rip off. Rent a car from the Esso garage at €65 a day and go wherever you want for half the cost.

By the way on a reltaed matter the Sound of Music tour in Salzburg is a waste of time and another horrendous rip off

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We went to Bellevue with another family in July. We both had one-bed suites which were very spacous and very clean (hotel cannot be faulted on cleanliness). The food was OK (very rustic food. lots of pork with heavy cream sauces and buffet selections). The staff were also friendly and very helpful. The all-inclusive scheme was a bit confusing (we were not sure what was included and when). THe pools and lounger areas were very nice and not too crowded.

The negatives of this hotel were as follows, and unfortunately, all quite big ones!

a) No air-conditioning - I would have expected this in a 4* hotel. In 38 degree heat, it became unbearable at night and almost impossible to sleep.

b) The kids club would not be suitable for kids under 7. No real interaction with little ones and probably a bit under-staffed. There seemed to be more to do for older ones. They do have a soft play area in the evening which the little ones enjoy.

On the whole, there is no encouragement from the staff to try and engage the children. One day, we walked in to find the lady flat out on the floor sleeping!

c) No drinks allowed by the pool area. This was a big downer for us and our friends. We enjoy lounging by the pool with a beer and this was a big no-no!! A real shame.

Overall, this was a lovely hotel in a stunning location (the most beautiful place I've ever been to, actually). The facilities were great, very clean and the staff friendly. It's a shame that the down sides to the holiday were probably the most important things for us.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondafletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uxbridge
Level Contributor
258 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We have just returned from our 5/6th visit to this lovely hotel, we have been twice now in the winter and 3/4 times in the summer. The food is excellant, rooms spacious and clean and the wellness area is lovely. In the summer there is a lovely outdoor pool for the kids as well as the lake to bathe in. We have never been disappointed here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 12 days and were not dissapointed at all. The hotel was fantastic for families with plenty to do, there was a childrens playground, a trampoline, volleyball, tennis, football, a games room, a bowling alley and a kindergarten. We didn't spend much money as when we arrived not only was it full board but all drinks were included with meals(not cheap stuff either-good quality), there was free ice cream for the children too. The food was amazing something for everyone and freshly cooked too, We also had 2 barbeques whilst we were there and the food was excellent. If you were going out for the day you could help yourself to making up a packed lunch. There was ample choice. There was also a childrens buffet which had georgeous homemade spaghetti bolognese, vegetables, potatoes of some description, meat and homemade chicken gougons and homemade fish gougons. We had free cycle hire, free safe and also free local bus journeys! There was a lovely pool outside and inside and the lake was also perfectly safe to swim in. There was plenty to do we were never bored. There are some fantastic walks for novices or true walkers. The rooms were spotless and ours was on the third floor overlooking the lake and the mountains - fantastic! We visited Salzburg which was beautiful and my husband had a trip on his own to the Eagle's Nest which he really enjoyed. We hired a boat on the lake and we also went to Kossen and took the cable car to the top of the mountain which had breathtaking views. We enjoyed this holiday so much that we have just booked to go back for 2 weeks next year. This was probably the BEST holiday that we have ever had!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral4
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

I stayed here with my younger sister, mum and dad. There are so many activities! Swimming,Badminton,Football,A playground and many more. Ice cream is served throughout the day, a big hit for children! This hotel is touching the lake. a 10 second walk from the pool and then you're at the jetti. Also in this hotel is a games room. You can hire table tennis bats or have a game of air hockey. There are also plenty of arcade games to have a go at including motorbike and car racing.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wirral4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2008

As a family we have stayed at this hotel for over ten years on and off.
The food and friendliness off staff always amaze me.

There is something there for everyone; walks, good food, relaxation. They cater for all ages I can not recommend the hotel more highly.

  • Liked — Ground floor location next to pool
  • Disliked — A little dated
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kittnsmom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walchsee
0.8 mi away
Hotel Seehof
Hotel Seehof
#1 of 7 in Walchsee
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schick
Hotel Schick
#5 of 7 in Walchsee
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#6 of 7 in Walchsee
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Riedl
Riedl
#4 of 6 in Kossen
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Walchseer Hof
Hotel Walchseer Hof
#3 of 37 in Walchsee
33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Brunner
Seehotel Brunner
#1 of 15 in Walchsee
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferienclub Bellevue am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferienclub Bellevue am See

Property: Ferienclub Bellevue am See
Address: Johannesstrasse 20, Walchsee 6344, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Walchsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Walchsee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ferienclub Bellevue am See 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ferienclub Bellevue am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferienclub Bellevue Am See Hotel Walchsee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing