We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Holiday”
Review of Hotel Kirchboden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kirchboden
Ranked #1 of 51 Wagrain B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The best hotel that I have stayed in Austria. Clean and comfortable.Patrick and his staff were very efficient and friendly. Patrick has a great sense of humour. The holiday was with National Coach holidays and gives good value for money. Our drivers Marcus and Garry were great and also had a good sense of humour. It was our first coach holiday abroad and it won't be our last. Brilliant !

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113. No balcony but would be happy with the same room again. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with CoopTravel
5  Thank valleyaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 114 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

.
.Stayed in Kirchboden Hotel the first week in September with National Holiday coach tours.
The hotel was a typical Austrian Hotel
Rooms were very nice and cleaned every day.
Food was also very good,some weird names on the menu cards but if you asked Tanja and Patrick they would explain to you what the dish entailed.
Of course there are always people who moan about the food but hey this is Austria not England.
The holiday was excelent some loveley trips and we where in safe hands with oure excelent drivers Dave and Ken.
Looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the Hotel is where the sun is in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mariaBrunssum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed in July 2012 as part of National Holidays, The hotel was in a scenic location Kirkboden being a small hamlet approximately 30-40 minutes walk from Wagrain. Our room on the second floor had twin beds adjoined and a sofa bed. A small portable tv which worked temprementally. A small bathroom and a very claustrophobic shower. We had a good sized balconey with 2 chairs. The room was very clean but we found the beds and wooden surrounds very uncomfortable i.e thin matresses.
The positives of this hotel were the exceptionally clean indoor swimming pool although it was small we thoroughly enjoyed the pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna areas. The hotel caters for children with an indoor play area and games room for older kids i.e playstations etc. The hotel has a good outdoor play area with swings slides and a trampoline.
We enjoyed the hotel location it was near the outdoor and indoor water park. We also walked into Wagrain and rode the "Flying Mozart" cable car , shops and sampled food in other resteraunts. We found the locals helpful, kind and the food outside of the hotel wonderful.
The negatives of this hotel are it is on a steep mountain incline ; so very hard work walking back! I have the calve muscles to show! We were part of an all inclusive holiday so we found the evening meals appalling, food was recycled for example we were served pancakes one night and noone on our table ate them the next day we had pancake soup. There was a salad bar but that mostly consisted of tinned cold peas/carrotts. I have to say the food was the worst I have ever tasted, dessert being a chemical substance like a cross between Angel delight/instant whip or a small slice of fruit and ice cream. Breakfast was a chaotic affair help yourself with a fight for bread rolls/ fruit for the packed lunch. The waitresses worked hard but were understaffed. LThe hotel had an inclusive bar and I think this is where the holiday budget went.
Unfortunatel on our vacation we witnessed a preventable accident a woman on our tour fell on the raised/disrepaired surface on the terrace. I was shocked that noone was first aid trained in the hotel no first aid box and lack of any help. The manager Patrick was useless and was more concerned that he would have to pay a taxi for a Dr. No Dr was called and inadequate care was given . The manager never once asked how the poor woman was or offered an apology. Numerous people also fell in the exact spot and a yellow line or warning was required. The manager was ineffectual preffering to pose in a tawdry apron rather than assist guests. Would I stay here? yes if there was a new chef and a different manager!

Room Tip: Ask for a balconey room and in the main building not the out buildings. Take enough money to eat ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leedsFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Travelled to this hotel on a National Coach Holiday. June 2012.Cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. The rooms were clean, comfortable and roomy and the views from the balcony excellant(Room 105) The hotel was run by Patrick and his staff very efficiently. Nothing was too much trouble. The holiday was an all inclusive so suited anyone on a budget. The hotel is situated a little way out of the village up a rather steep road so would probably not suit anyone unable to walk far although there is a taxie service in the village to get back.We would definitely book on this trip again without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem more roomy and sunny. Only one neighbour on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went with National Holidays 16th to 24th June this year. Hotel is very nice, rooms very comfortable and immaculately clean. Food good, although only two choices available for main meal. We were on an all inclusive deal and if you are on a budget it's a no brainer, all beer, wine and soft drinks included until 10.00pm (no spirits). Wagrain is a pretty village but is very small so don't expect a bustling night life. Met a great bunch of people and all in all would certainly recommend it. Downside for me was two days each way travelling on a coach, which although was comfortable, they were long days.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank loverofAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

A beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Stayed here last week as part of a National Holidays tour to Austria. Patrick and his team were marvellous, always friendly and helpful. Dining room was cosy but made the experience much more fun. Food was very Austrian but what do you expect when you are in Austria. Being able to make your own packed lunches was brilliant. Nice to be able to choose your own fillings. The hotel was at the very top of the village but we never felt the need to go down. The bedrooms were very spacious and absolutely spotless. The only thing missing was tea and coffee making facilities but we brought our own kettle so that was not a problem. Our room had a balcony on which smoking was allowed. The views from the balconies were spectacular. Downstairs was a pool and sauna area which we did not use but other holidaymakers said it was superb. If you want to spend time in the Austrian Alps I could not recommend a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Bring your own kettle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Petercrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

What a fantastic place. I’ve just returned from a 5 day stay at Hotel Kirchboden a tour which was organised by National Holidays. The management and staff were very friendly. The bedrooms were spacious and very clean; most rooms had balconies with spectacular views. The Hotel was at the top end of Wagrain which meant there was a bit of a clime form the town centre. Our holiday was an all inclusive which made the holiday very reasonable. A nice touch was to be greeted with cake and coffee on our return each day. Would I stay here again, you bet I would.

Room Tip: If you get the chance of choosing your room, then I would request either first, second or third floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank Zena31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wagrain
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wagrainerhof
Hotel Wagrainerhof
#4 of 10 in Wagrain
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sporthotel Wagrain
Sporthotel Wagrain
#2 of 10 in Wagrain
130 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Planai
Hotel Planai
#14 of 35 in Schladming
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Enzian
Hotel Enzian
#10 of 12 in Altenmarkt im Pongau
23 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel Pinzgauerhof
Hotel Pinzgauerhof
#32 of 42 in Zell am See
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grafenberg Resort
Grafenberg Resort
#4 of 47 in Wagrain
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kirchboden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchboden

Address: Kirchboden 61, Wagrain 5602, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Wagrain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Wagrain
Price Range: $116 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kirchboden 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Kirchboden offers traditional Austrian charm and all modern amenities. Ideally located in Wagrain, Austria the ski bus stops a mere 50 meters from the entrance and both the next ski lift and the town center are only a short walk away. The small wellness area is the perfect place to relaxe after a tiring day of hiking, biking or skiing. You will fin many activities for the whole family in and around the hotel in both sommer and winter. Hotel Kirchboden is a Non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Kirchboden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing