We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“super view”

Krimml Falls (Krimmler Wasserfalle)
Book In Advance
More Info
$895.39*
and up
Full-Day Private Krimml Waterfalls Tour from Salzburg
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Krimml
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pszczyna, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“super view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

good to go for a walk, super view, in the forest, quiet, but many people (no problem), a litttle high

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pesta73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    232
    45
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the best waterfalls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The view is fantastic and worthwhile. It's a very pleasant walk both to the bottom and to the top of the falls. Don't hesitate to go there. The scenic drive is wonderful.

Helpful?
2 Thank byron0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
272 reviews
234 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
“KRIMML FALLS-AMAZING EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were in Zell am See in mid-September and visited the waterfalls when its flow is at its peak after the rainfall.
It was a clear day, we came to the Bus stand and took the Bus no.670 (which leaves almost every hour) which left at 11-35am and started our breath taking journey to Krimml waterfalls.
We were thrilled by the amazing sceneries! I knew it was a scenic route but never imagined it would be so beautiful! We had wonderful weather and the the falls could easily be seen from a few kilometres away approaching from the road.

A slow local train with 2 compartments also travels from Zell am See to Krimml/Mittersill. The trains depart every 2 to 3 hours (trip time: about 90 min.). There are also steam engine trains on peak period and holidays . The railway runs along river Salzach through the national park Hohe Tauern to Mittersill/Krimml and back.

We reached the falls at about 1 pm and so we did not have much time to stay long but in fact at least a day is needed to see the falls properly.
From the Krimml Waterfall bustand it took 15 min to reach the lower fall area. The entry fee was 2.5euro per head. The lady at the ticket counter was very helpful, she gave us directions and advised us to go to upper falls to the top- a 4km walk which would take 75 min after climbing up to 1500ft or so.
You do need to be fit to walk up and back down the three falls. There are taxis available which take you up to one of the three levels and you can walk back down. The timings set out are on the signs are pretty accurate and it took us about 2 hours 15 min to walk up to the top. There were many view points and places to stop and see different views of the falls. There are a couple of restaurants to eat at on the way, at the lower level and at mid-level.
The slope from the mid-level to top level was quite stiff- I could not walk more than 50ft at a stretch. So we had to take frequent stops to rest and then climb higher and higher.
The view after the mid-level was fantastic and amazing. On the top level we saw the river, flowing down the mountains and forming the falls. But we liked the view in mid-level the most.
We reached the top at around 3-15 pm. I walked further to explore a little more but the path continued and I came back as we had to catch the last direct bus to Zell am See at 5pm.
At 3-30pm we realised that we had to go back, so we ran down the mountains! Climbing to 1500ft was difficult but getting down was also difficult, it put lot of pressure on our knees and toes.
We reached the bus stand around 4-50pm, fully exhausted but fresh with memories of spectacular falls.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank DPMALLIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“return after 35 years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Waterfall and walk well laid out nothing hard in the assent we are both over 65 rained as last time but still beautiful to see. Easy car parking below

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Well worth a visit spectacular scenery hard walk up to the top but well worth it for the stunning views

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank janedock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krimml Falls (Krimmler Wasserfalle) also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Bramberg am Wildkogel, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Krimml Falls (Krimmler Wasserfalle)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing