We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic Lodge Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alphof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alphof
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Idyllic Lodge Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Great place as a base for first-time skiers, being the closest site to both lifts and easily walking distance (even in ski boots). Beware that Kirchdorf will probably not hold the interest of experienced winter sports travellers, as there is only a nursery slope with a conveyer, rope-tow and t-bar, and one chair lift. As an indication my wife and I were first time boarders and advanced past the nursery slope on day 2, and never got on to the chair lift due to poor snow.

There is a free ski-bus that runs reasonably regularly from Kirchdorf around the area, including St Johann, Steinplatte and Fieberbunn, but you will need an area lift pass. The bus stop is 3 minutes walk from the hotel, by the ski school.


Hotel staff were very friendly, poke good English (much as we tried with German), food buffets were always good quality, rustic fare, great for carbs. Lunches available include good pizzas at a reasonable price.

Comments around the bar area are fair- the reception bar itself is small and does permit smoking (no public smoking ban), although we didn't have any issues with smoke in our rooms and we were on the first floor.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dave0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a great hotel. Nice accommodations, very friendly serving staff and good food. If it only had a better server for the internet, it would be perfect. Unfortunately, most of us cannot escape the world completely during our holidays and internet is vital to maintain that connection. We informed the front desk several times of our inability to connect, and nothing was done. It is true there were dozens of kids playing on-line games, but they need to recognize this and put in a connection that will accommodate those of us who need to take care of banking, emails and such, as well. Still, I give this hotel a very high rating and if you are not in need of internet connections and speed, it might just be perfect for you.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the small slope of Kirchdorf and not the parking lot. Even with the latter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuminParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
178 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great location and ski school absolutely spot on, we had the delightful Edit. We Returned with crystal holidays but dissapointed by the bedrooms which were in need of an update. The bar adjacent to reception permitted indoor cigarrettte smoking and the smoke wafted from the bar up to the bedrooms and into the dining room. There were large coach parties which demolished the buffet very quickly at meal times.The staff were as always friendly. John the crystal rep was an absolute star and good company. Would definitely return to kirchdorf.

Room Tip: Room over looking main slope
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diswix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our second visit in 2 years. It was great to see familiar people. Peter, one of the waiting staff remembered us from our first visit. The hotel had changed very little from 2012. The main differences were that the waited service had gone and replaced by a buffet style for the evening meal. Whilst this may appeal to some, it is worth baring this in mind. The main problems we encountered was the occasional lack of "your" choice of meal and having to wait for the chef to cook more - or the fact that some people simply left the utensils in the hot-plates or warmers causing problems of handling the very hot utensils.
The food was excellent, well cooked and varied. The salad bar was always appealing with a variety of choices. Sweet was excellent too, as was the soup.
The accommodation was comfortable and we did not have any issues with this.
The hotel owner and his family were welcoming, and came to our rescue more than once thanks to a very inconsiderate skibus driver. We hired ski helmets for the first time (at 4euros/day). These were hired from the local shop nearby.
The weather this week (4th Jan-11th Jan) was ok, but a lack of a good base at either the Steinplatte (Waidring) or the more local St Johann meant skiing was not as good as it may have been. Skiiing in rain/wet snow was not fun! For those that may wish to break up the week, there is the option to catch the bus into St Johann and then take the very reliable train to many other resorts for shopping/sightseeing. We have visited Worgl, Innsbruck, Satzburg and Saalfelden. All great for shopping! Being a Biker Hotel, we were somewhat disappointed when the Harley Davidson dinner happened during our stay, but not a Harley in sight!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel. The staff were friendly, the food was delicious and the rooms were clean and comfortable. It's in a good location and perfect for the ski bus and ski school. Would definitely go back. Thanks for a great week!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vickitay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just returned from a brilliant week away at Hotel Alphof, with our two sons aged 10 and 13. The hotel was wonderful; such warm, friendly staff - a real home-from-home. The slopes were ideal for first time skiers - with a great red run too - and the tuition was fabulous and lots of fun. Would strongly recommend Geoff (adult beginners), Richie (adult int) and Fran and Chris who taught the boys. Food was buffet style, so lots of choice for the whole family (even for our fussy littlest!) Smoking was allowed in the bar area but not a problem at all, as we were able to enjoy pre and post dinner drinks in the restaurant, and the adjoining pool table area. Our boys loved the spa area too. Would thoroughly recommend the resort, hotel and ski school; a magical holiday we would love to repeat!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

we have stayed at 2 previous hotels in kirchdorf but we had friends who stayed at the alpof in 2012 so we decided to give it a try. We booked direct with the hotel for both new year and feb and they gave us a discount for doing the 2 stays.Brigitte on reception was faultless in corresponding and arranged our transfers to and from the hotel.The rooms were larger than we expected and of typical tyrolean decor which is what we like(dont want modern or i'd go to travel lodge). The hotel staff are very friendly if you make the effort to engage with them and especially the waiters. The smoke could be an issue for some people but you don't have to sit in the bar area and none of the rooms smelt of smoke.I have 2 children 13 and 7 and the relaxed atmosphere was perfect as they came and went as they pleased from the games rooms and to the whirlpool. We have only been back 3 weeks and have booked again next feb with friends..

Room Tip: kitzbuhler horn rooms are sunny side rooms overlooking the nursery slopes but get booked early
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kirchdorf in Tirol hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
#2 of 6 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seiwald
Hotel Seiwald
#2 of 17 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Gastehaus - Ferienwohnungen Bend...
#5 of 17 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Feriengut Oberhabach
Feriengut Oberhabach
#3 of 17 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Gut Kramerhof
Hotel Gut Kramerhof
#6 of 17 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
64.1 mi away
No photo provided
Gasthaus Marienhof
#7 of 17 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alphof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alphof

Property: Hotel Alphof
Address: Innsbrucker Strasse 23, Kirchdorf in Tirol 6382, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchdorf in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Kirchdorf in Tirol
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Alphof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alphof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing