We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopover on my way to vienna”
Review of Hotel Seiwald

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Seiwald
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stopover on my way to vienna”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

There was an accident at the border between Germany and Austria so my trip to viena needed a pit stop. I booked a room at this hotel without much expectation than a bed to sleep and a breakfast. I was in for a nice surprise. very clean place, pleasant personnel, ( well except for the hostess at the breakfast that barked "zimmer bitte" 3 times with a look on her face that i thought she's going to bite, no pun) good size room.
I didn't necessarily look for issues but i found the following . The walls are not soundproofed(i could her the snoring of the guy next door). The shower head was clogged so there was little pressure. I reported to reception and they thanked me for letting them know.

The rest. Outstanding! And the view, breathtaking. I am seriously considering this place for a ski vacation.

Good place i liked it.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank mpuiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We loved this hotel. It was really like staying in a bed and breakfast. The owners were the ones to check us in and we saw them everyday. We could walk out of the hotel and to the ski school and the T bar lift, which took us to a higher ski lift. The location was great. The food was excellent and we all had our own table assignment. The maid service was very good. We loved everything about the hotel and our time there. The also had a wonderful spa and a huge sports center.

Room Tip: You can choose from the modern rooms or the classic Austrian rooms. They have all been remodeled in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyMo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Food good and varied throughout our stay.
The pool and sauna areas were immaculate and welcome after a day on the pistes
Helpful staff
Amazing wine list
Apres-ski very yummy!
Quiet in the evening
Great little gym over the road which was also very quiet

Sad to leave...........................................................

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mich13uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed the last week of February.
Arriving in the evening, we were immediately taken into the restaurant, where we had soup, salad, a choice of our main course & dessert. The food through out the week was excellent.The drinks where reasonably priced, although we all had drinks with the evening meals they charged 2.20 euros per litre of tap water!
The rooms were large, clean & tidy with plenty of storage for ski gear, the only slight issue with the room was the time it took to fill a bath [25mins], this was because we were on the top floor [the header tank for the hot water must have been just above the ceiling in the loft, as the cold water flow was fine].
The Staff are all very helpful & friendly & each day there is Cake served between 4 & 5pm.
The wellness facilities were also first rate,sauna,steam rooms,different types of showers, plunge pool & swimming pool with water jets.It also has an indoor tennis court.
There is a Boot room with heated boot racks & ski stands, the access is by a side door to outside.
The Hotel is within 100 metres of the nursery slopes, access is across a small quiet lane, then a pisted surface. The Ski School is at the opposite end of the nursery slopes, just behind the Alphoff hotel. In the 'Ski Total' School shop there's a coffee bar which is a good place to meet up.or finish the day with some friendly banter.
K|irchdorf isn't a big ski area, but is great for the 1st few days of learning, then onto Stienplatte & St Johann, both only 10-15 mins by bus.
The Tuesday ski show is a very family orientated evening, with an exhibition of skiing/snowboarding & a wonderful story of Ski-derella. The Ski School run a bar & after the show the T-bar lift is open for skiing till 10pm.
This was the 2nd time visiting Kirchdorf, & we thoroughly enjoyed it again, staying at this special hotel, joining the ski school for 3 days then exploring the other resorts including Kitzbuhel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

When looking for a place to stay and ski, almost all reviews only talk about the hotel and don't give an insight into the skiing and with that tips.
I chose Kirchdorf as Crystal web site said blue and red slopes were ample. Seiwald we chose as it was a good size hotel with none of the pretending to be a hotel you see... called Gasthof in Austria. We ski about twice a season and always in Austria in 4 star hotels and without a shadow of a doubt Seiwald is the top hotel so far. The food is sublime - choice and amount just extraordinary. The rooms and creature comforts are superb with housekeeping having an eye for detail and cleanliness. Service is slick, friendly but not overly familiar. There is nothing that I can comment negatively on regards Seiwald.
In respect of skiing and the set up; once you are in the know then getting organised is less of a shlep each day. Seiwald is not in Kirchdorf but in the next door hamlet so even though getting the hired equipment is made easier by a taxi being offered free of charge - if you need to change anything its a fair old walk to get it sorted. The equipment is kept over night in a small ski shed on other other side of the nursery slope - a bit of a walk. Actual skiing in Kirchdorf is extremely limited and easy - ideal for a beginner skier. That said once we got organised and took the bus (3 in the morning and 3 in the afternoon) on a 10 minute bus ride to Stein Platter with great long blue and red runs we had a superb time. We did not head of to St Johann which is a 10 minute bus ride the other way as we lost 2 days skiing due to bad weather.
Now we know how best to get organised which is either to hire the equipment directy at Stein Platte and leave it in the lock up or still hire in the village but leave it at Stein Platte; you will cut out loads of walking in your ski boots.
We loved it so much that we are returning next month in a group of more than 10 - half will be first time skiers who will love the nursery set up, some of us to Stein Platte and the really good skiers to St Johann but we will all catch up at one of Austrias best hotels - Seiwald.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saltrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Seiwald for 15 years with my family and am continuously impressed with the service, facilities and -- most important -- the commitment and effort of the proprietors, Reinhardt and Kristina Seiwald. For many years we went to Kirchdorf over the English school holidays in February but in the last 2 years we have gone over the New Year period. Rienhardt and Kristina organise wonderful new years eve events ranging from a torchlight walk through the village to a sumptuous and creative 8-course dinner. and the obligatory fireworks and dancing too. the dining room features a harpist playing tradition tyrolean music once a week and the famour "ice bomb" is a last-night ceremonial treat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CED5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

As long term annual patrons, over 15 years our family loves this hotel and Reinhart and Cristina who put such effort into welcoming all of their guests and taking care of them. Every year there have been improvements such that the Hotel fully justifies its ratings for amenities and food. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brianfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirchdorf in Tirol
5.6 mi away
Familien-Wellnesshotel Seiwald
2.1 mi away
Hotel Gut Kramerhof
Hotel Gut Kramerhof
#2 of 16 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
28 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
Hotel Gasthof Neuwirt
#2 of 5 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Babymio
Hotel Babymio
#1 of 8 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
37 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Gasteiger Jagdschloessl
Hotel Gasteiger Jagdschloessl
#1 of 16 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
24 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pension Sonnleit'n
Pension Sonnleit'n
#3 of 5 in Kirchdorf in Tirol
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seiwald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seiwald

Property: Hotel Seiwald
Address: Habach 8, Kirchdorf in Tirol 6382, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Kirchdorf in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kirchdorf in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seiwald 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Seiwald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing