We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memories to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2010

I would start by saying that I would go back tomorrow, on the basis that some things were changed. Yes this resort is not a budget location, it is a 6* soon to become a 7* holiday resort, that has only been going 3 years. The name " Six Senses" says it all, and if you are expecting a cheap holiday look elsewhere.
Is it value for money?.......... Yes, as long as you are expecting to pay for the treatment, you receive and the quality of all that is on offer, which is well above normal expectations.
My family were there for 4 nights, living in the most incredible beach front Villa. We would come out every morning at around 8.00am walk all of 40 yards for a dip in the warm sea. Then we would wonder back to the villa and take a dip in our own private pool before heading off for a magnificent buffet breakfast.
The only let down was that we like to go scuba diving, and currently this activity is being outsourced to another company, who are more 3* at 6* prices. I could see that they are building their own diving facility which will be ready next year, and am sure will be run in the same way as the rest of the development.
I would sum up by saying that rarely do you find such an idealic location hidden behind mountains. which can only be reached either by sea or by road in a 4x4. The staff are just magnificent and cannot do enough. The signature restaurant "Sense on the Edge" located up in the mountain, looking down over the Bay is awesome. The Spa treatments were just the best we have experienced. And the piece de resistance for us was the Chef cooking a barbeque just for us on the beach outside our own villa.
But of course it comes at a price...............and in our view well worth it.
Thank you to all at Zighy Bay for an experience which we will not forget.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbotswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,566)
There are newer reviews for Six Senses Zighy Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,241 - 1,247 of 1,566 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

We had a wonderful holiday with the whole family trying new things such as paragliding and microlighting which was tremendous fun. Plenty of food, sun, sea and relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaWHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at Zighy Bay with my grownup daughter who was on her way back to Australia after a holiday in Europe. This was our second stay at ZB and we wanted our daughter to experience it too. The arrival at ZB is something else - I drive in, but am always tempted to try hang gliding in from the top of the mountain. The setting of ZB has to seen to be believed and can only be accessed by 4WD over a mountain road only a small step up from being passable by only the local goats. We were met by the General Manager Godfrey who had just taken over and thereafter looked after by our Villa Host, Bastian. I could not speak highly enough of the attention that we received from Bastian during our stay as it was pitched at just the right level. Stayed in a Beachfront Pool Villa - trust me its worth paying the extra to wake at sunrise and go for a swim. The villas are very understated, eco-chic style, and all serviced twice daily and kept at the highest levels of comfort, cleanliness and presentation. We love the outdoor shower after a swim either in the ocean or the small, but perfectly formed pool at your front door. Breakfast at ZB is always a 2 hour tour de force after an early morning swim or walk along the beach. After that there are plenty of activities, but our preference for this sort of resort is always to laze, read, nap, swim, nibble and sip our way through the day and ZB is very conducive to that style of break if that's what rocks your boat. We did venture up to the restaurant at the top of the mountain to be served an 11 course micro-gastronomic extravaganza prepared by visiting Michelin Star chefs from Europe - good but not WOW!! ZB is not cheap, but you experience what you pay for and it is an EXPERIENCE! However, if you come expecting the Emirates Palace or Burj Al Arab, then you will be disappointed; the ZB experience is far more subtle and more akin to staying at top line Maldives resort . ZB does have "deals" at certain times of the year that takes the edge off that sharp intake of breath when reviewing the credit card statement, and the management keeps repeat guests updated on these - half board is always a safe choice as the breakfast is more than enough to keep you going through the day, and food & wine is expensive. Activities are also expensive such as the private dhow cruise so a good tip if you fancy such an excursion is to go to Khasab first where you can charter a dhow for the day for just AED1200 including lunch to explore the Mussandam fjiords - when compared to ZB at AED4,500 its a no-brainer!!. BOTTOM LINE - if you don't like parting with money or are on a tight budget then don't come to ZB; only come if you can forget what it costs so that you can enjoy the experience to the full. LIKES: just about everything, especially the beachfront villas, the service, the sunrise, the water, the breakfast, the privacy and the total peace of mind that comes from working hard at doing nothing all day. DISLIKES: you would be hard pressed to find any, so I might have to go back again to look harder!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisanddhabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

A perfect hideaway! Excellent resort in keeping with the local environment. Omani style villas were superb, comfortable and spacious. The feeling of peace and tranquility was instant. Food of a very high standard and dining on the edge is a must! The mountains have a beauty of their own and the coastline is dramatic. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They are friendly, courteous and polite and make your stay unforgetable. 'Relaxation and rejuvination' is a term you will appreciate forever at the end of your holiday!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardBerkhamsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

Unique, remote location between rocky desert mountains and blissfully warm sea. Exudes luxurious, rustic charm (trust me this is possible!) From the top man down, for all hosts, nothing is too much trouble through thoughtful, efficient, friendly yet discreet service. Villas are spacious, comfortable and very private. It doesn't get much better than this. The cocktails are pretty good too!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JARVISCANDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

With its starkly dramatic setting, excellent food and superb service, Zighy met all of our hopes and expectations. Although we only had a few days to spend there, it was a wonderful and relaxing addition to our visit to Dubai.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandman1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

In October we had nights for the price of one, which gave this stay incredibly good value.
We loved the little streets reproducing an imaginary bedouin village, lined with wonderfully scented fig trees, henna trees, pomegranates... Having the plunge pool AND the beach was amazing. I really recommend getting the villas along the beach front, because you really savour it. Also loved the bikes at disposal. They were circa 1960s, but charming as you crashed into mini sand dunes on the way back from dinner. We paraglided into the resort, which was so fun! Overall, super super romantic... though it would be nice for families with small children too (ours were at home being babysat :-)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zighy Bay
9.9 mi away
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
188 reviews
2.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
#1 of 1 in Dibba Al Bay Ah
236 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#2 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
15.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
23.8 mi away
Oceanic Khorfakkan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range: $756 - $1,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing