We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Nearby Hotels
$63
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah(Dibba Al Fujairah)(Great Value!)
$65
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort(Dibba Al Fujairah)
$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$131
$86
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Beach Motel(Dibba Al Fujairah)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,688)
Filter reviews
1,688 results
Traveler rating
1,313
249
85
20
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,313
249
85
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach frontdubai airportkids clubmain poolhalf boardmountain topyour feethigh expectationsduring ramadanomani villagehour drivebeautiful resortamazing placememorable staythe general managerremote locationthe cliff
Filter
Updating list...
1,398 - 1,403 of 1,688 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2009

The resort is gourgeous and very well located.
But let's make it clear that this issue they are having with the red tide is a big thing which you must check before going.
Too bad, because the resort is in such a great spot that you cannot believe the main issue is with the nature itself.
We were actually lucky that we coudn't get a front beach villa, becasue there the smell of dead fish was really unbereable; no way to swim in the ocean, they let you a letter in the room telling not to do it.

Our villa was so nice and the plounge heated pool was absolutely very enjoiable.
If you know about six sense, then you know what kind of concept they propose. a kind of environmental friendly luxury resort, which i like very much i must say. From the design to the materials used. You really get relaxed and don't feel the need to care about nothing and just relax... no noise, no problem.

But they need to improve some issue:
the food concept - they have quite several alternatives, so i do not understand how it came that 3 on 5 nights i staied there i had to eat buffet dinner, which i hate. even when we ordered in room barbecue, we ended up eating the some food they had in the buffet.
Dining on the edge was very nice (but only set menu); the restaurant was almost always empty, i do not understand how come someone had problem in find a table...

There were some kind of small artificial water lakes in the resort, which were always dirty and full of dust...i just do not understand that.

Still, this resort is gourgeous, and if it was not for the red tide i will not hesitate one second to reccomend it and to go back myself as well.
They did not make me pay my entire staying for the issue of the red tide, and they even gave me a free coupon for one week staying during the year that i can eventually use in the future. That was very nice of them.

Six sense is creating a new trend in luxury conscious tourism and for sure i will give them a try in other resorts they manage.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Er_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Where do I start considering its taken me so long to write this...

We stayed in Zighy Bay for the first week of our honeymoon (August 2008) and it was fabulous. We arrived in the middle of the night after a long transfer from Abu Dhabi airport and we were greeted by three members of staff in the reception area with the most delicious orange juice I have ever tasted! Our butler brought us to our villa which was just opposite the main restaurant.

The villa was amazing it has everything you could ever want. We had a standard pool villa which was very spacious with beautiful pool. The bed was comfy with plenty of pillows to choose from the pillow menu! The rooms were cleaned twice daily and the mini bar restocked everyday full of drinks and snacks. These items are more expensive than at home but its what you'd expect to pay in a mini bar! However the wine did seem to be extremely expensive (luckily we don't drink it)! If your planning a trip here there is no need to bring much - just your clothes as there is ample toiletries, towels, books, dvd, ipod station and films on demand on the television and free internet access in the library.

Our week got off to a relaxing start as we were so tired. It was very quiet in Aug and we hardly seen another person all week. As part of our package we had a free spa treatment, free in villa dining experience and a free dhow cruise.

The spa is amazing we visited it twice during our stay. It is definitely a must at some stage.

The food was excellent and there are themed nights each night. I am a very fussy eater but always found something to eat - the buffet breakfasts were lovely with plenty of fruit, bread and pastries to choose from. We didn't dine on the edge as we felt it wouldn't be worth due to my appetite!

The Dhow cruise was good although it took up the whole day it was great to get out of the resort and see the surrounding area albeit by boat! It was extremely hot 40 plus degrees !!! When we arrived back from the cruise our butler had organised champagne and canapes for us on the beach. This was so beautiful and we really felt like the only two people in the resort.

The actual resort is well maintained and easy to get around. We would definitely return again maybe at a cooler time of the year. Dubai was our next stop on the honeymoon and it was nothing in comparison to Zighy Bay!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pawpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

As with previous reviewers my wife and I have stayed at Soneva Fushi and were looking forward to the same ethos being applied to completely different surroundings but wondered if ZB could live up to the extremely high standard set by SF.
We need not have worried!
The resort was indeed very different being 'village' like as opposed to the isolation of SF but our Villa was very private and we loved it (No 17). The service throughout the resort was very friendly and we really were spoiled!
The food was lovely and we enjoyed the many different dining options. As others have noted there were frequent barbeques but we only had 2 during our week as we had the private meal in the 'Vinotheque' (outstanding,many thanks to Chef Basha and John),Dining on the Edge (marvellous setting,service and food..set menus of haute cuisine only though, I would like to see an A la Carte option), Dining on the Sand (seafood and arabic menus) and our final meal which was for returning guests to Sixsenses properties (special thanks to Sas and Gerald for a very memorable finale to our stay!) We enjoyed the BBQs but are glad we varied our choices. Breakfast was lovely with the Arabic option a special surprise to me. The freshly baked arabic and nan breads were addictive.
We enjoyed many of the 'experiences' during our stay including the Dhow Cruise (shared version but nobody else booked it so we had the boat to ourselves and had a lovely romantic day), tea tasting, Indian Cookery class with Chef Basha who gave us a book of recipes and tips and lots of great ideas, and paragliding...this is dependant on the wind so book early (our jumps were postponed twice).. which is unforgettable as I have never jumped of a mountain before and probably never will again!
We only had one treatment at the spa but loved it and would have done more if we hadn't tried so many other things.
One thing I do recommend caution over is choosing a trip outside the resort. An outside company runs these and the one we choose (Majestic Mangroves) was very poor value and a total waste of half a day...lots of driving about with very little else. The resorts brochure described factually what you would see but seeing is believing. (We mentioned this to Rochelle, the manager who expressed concern and promised to investigate....when our final bill came the experience had been removed). Another couple had a problem with their day out but Rochelle dealt with that as well.
I have never found a management team who are as interested in their guests views and ideas. Gerald Bergue the Executive Chef was very pro active and we learned a lot about the background of running kitchens and restaurants in our chat with him.
The Red Tide was still in evidence but was on the decline. We did not notice any fish smell but sometimes the water was murky.
When the sun goes down in January it becomes quite cold and a fleece could come in handy particularly at the beach BBQ and at Dining on the Edge.
The airport pickup was a nice touch and the transfers were smooth.We were not offered the choice of how we arrived at the hotel eg speedboat, paragliding etc but maybe we should have done this when we booked.
The price of wine etc was truly shocking (huge tax in Oman) and when combined with the nightmarish exchange rate we had a very dry holiday by our standards! The bar is lovely but empty as the prices are so high and when we tried to order a snack we we sent to the adjacent Deli despite the in room guide saying you could enjoy a light meal in the bar. Before we went on this holiday the exchange rate was 1 Omani Rial = £1.55 and when I checked on arrival at home it was 1 Rial = £1.89! Ouch!
Aside from the wasted day trip and the exchange rate the holiday was super. We would thoroughly recommend Zighy Bay and would love to return when the exchange rate is not so punitive.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JimandColette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

We stayed at the Zighy resort from 20th Dec - 2nd Jan . We normally travel to the Maldives at Christmas, but this year we fancied a change and we have been following the reports on Trip and thought that Zighy Bay would be the place to try.
We arrived very early in the morning 4am Zighy time, this i think was our only mistake, if you can you really need to arrive in daylight to fully appreciate the Wow Factor as you come over the mountain and see the resort below.
The check in was at our Villa No69 on the row behind the sea front villas, There was a great selection of nibbles and soft drinks in the room awaiting us.
The rooms are as everyone else says, extremley spacious, clean and very well thought out, very understated but delivering everything you could possible want. This is what you come to see as your holiday progresses, that the Devil Is In The Detail, whether it is the food, location, waiters or butlers everything seems to happen with no fuss attached to any situation.
The food we found excellent throughout the resort ,however we thought that the restaurant on the Edge is a little expensive,and it could do with some of its own character, it really is not a lot different from the resort apart from the view which is absolutely stunning.
A little tip would be to try the in villa dining, complete with chef and waiter, excellent 2.5 hours, the outside was prepared with candles etc and the feeling you came away with at the end of the night was very special.
The only draw back we had and the hotel could not control was the red algae in the sea, you couldnt swim and the smell some days was quite intense, so it was nice in our villa not to be right onto the beach. The free boat trip offered was great, nice and relaxing, it was just us and one other couple on board .
The Christmas and New Year's galas were extremely well presented, the food was endless and fresh and you would be hard pressed if you could not full fill your pallet, however the New Years party was a little prim and proper for our likeing, people did not let their hair down and party like the would have done on a Maldives resort. However my wife thought that the dj was excellent and danced with just one other girl for 1 1/2 hours!
The spa was a little weak we thought. They messed up our reservation the first time, however the girls massages were to die for the 80 min massage flew by, watch out for the area you wait until the masseur fetches you it is in the changing room overlooking wash basins and showers, not very sophisticated.
Would we go back, absolutley, but it would be when the children were at school, there was a lot of kids about, which we was not expecting,
We think we will come again probably for 5 or 6 nights in conjuntion with a stay in Dubai,
Overall it is a fantastic place with superb staff and great food, What more could you wish for ??????

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I went to Zighy Bay in early December 2008 for some rest and recuperation , and I came back unwound and relaxed. It's set away from any type of every day life and tucked behind a range of mountains. You feel secluded but not cut off.

I reserved a standard villa but was upgraded to a spa villa (the extra being a private massage room) on arrival. The room is spacious, the bath huge, king bed, own small swimming pool and lots of outdoor space. All the usual 5* hotel facilities. Each villa has a butler allocated to it who was attentive but not intrusive and able to advise on the dining options each night.

I did a private yoga class each day at the spa - one evening on the roof top. There are a few free classes arranged for you, and a walk a couple of times a week. You can also do cookery classes, wine tasting and assorted other things....or you can just lie by the pool.

I travelled alone, which was a cause of much curiosity amongst the staff, certainly in the restaurants. Once the novelty had worn off the team were chatty and kind. The food at Zighy Bay is really quite excellent. As well as being well executed, the menu pushes your culinary boundaries without being so quirky that you feel uncomfortable doing so. I stayed four days and had I been there any longer I may have had to resort to elasticated waist bands.

I live in Dubai so a drive out of the city and through the "country side" of the UAE set the mood to the right tone for the rest of my little trip. It took me about 2hrs and is a lovely drive through the mountains and desert of northern Dubai and other Emirates. The last 5k is on dirt track, so there was a moment of doubt when the road ran out, but the landscape is phenomenal.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BallyBlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews