We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“James Knight-Pacheco is a serious chef”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The stand out feature of this hotel is the cooking of James Knoght-Pacheco at the restaurant above the main resort - Sense on the Edge. His cooking would command one, possibly two, Michelin stars in Paris or London. Favourite dishes in two visits included a crab and avocado starter on the tasting menu; Farkhar - a local fish dish - with exquisite balance between the firm white fish and a citrus sauce; a deconstructed fruit crumble light enough to tease the palate but not to lie heavy on the stomach. Visiting this restaurant is a must for any kind of foodie at the resort.

Food at the main restaurants was of an acceptable standard for a luxury resort though, perhaps to accommodate children, there are more buffets than is ideal.

At the time of our visit, the failure to provide an adequate wifi service was a serious failure. The hotel manager said that the service would be upgraded during April 2013. Dear trip advisor please knock my rating down a notch if it isn't sorted by May.

Beach is good and service levels are high. Air conditioning is very noisy - fortunately in our visit we were able to manage using just the room fans. The sitting areas and plunge pools for each room are delightful. Bathrooms are generally adequate but the baths themselves are too big for regular use so its really a shower room.

Spa was rated excellent by my wife but was too busy for me to fight for a slot.

I will happily go again while James is cooking at Sense on the Edge.

Room Tip: All rooms looked pretty equal to me - the extra for a beachfront wasn't necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Less_is_more2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Less_is_more2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to again leave your comments and excellent feedback on TripAdvisor. I thoroughly enjoy such accounts and pass them along to the team in our meetings. It is also a great exercise to read your reactions of improvements from your first visit, and areas of which we have yet to excel.

Our Wi-Fi situation in the remote area of the Musandam Peninsula can be slow at times, though I guarantee we have already purchased an upgrade since your first stay. An additional upgrade is also on the way.

Air conditioning in our part of the world is also unavoidable during certain times of the year, though should never disturb your stay. Our Chief Engineer is looking into this further, and we put our villas through preventative maintenance regularly.

Your remarks about Chef James are not the first, and I am happy to read you enjoyed a culinary journey with us. Indeed, depending on the time of the year, we may increase buffets based on guest feedback, and have also taken yours into consideration. Normally guests can expect buffets twice a week: offering local seafood and Arabic live stations.

We are already addressing the busy nature of the Spa and hope that the next time you visit we are able to provide you with a relaxing treatment. Reservations are always recommended in advance, and please let me know personally if I can assist with this in the future.

Please do not hesitate to ring or write if I can be of assistance for a future reservation, and hope to welcome you back to our piece of paradise a third time.

Warmest regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
gm-zighy@sixsenses.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

A gorgeous Property located on the seasides of Oman. Stunning pool villas with gorgeous sea views. and Also hill views.

Butler service, very helpful and courteous staff. They upgraded us upon request to the Pool villa.


The breakfast in room was amazing.

Room Tip: The Pool Villas are the ones to go for. Simply Amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BharatGrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear BharatGrover,

Thank you for your glowing review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that you not only enjoyed your experience with us, but that you also hope to return.

I see that you did not give us full credit for "location." If you have further comments to impart, please reach out to me at gm-zighy@sixsenses.com. Please do not hesitate to ring or write if I can assist with a future reservation.

Warm regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

As the name suggests this is a hidden jewel, true to itself.
A great romantic or even family quite hideaway where one can see where one's food come from.

Hidden from the rest of the World and its troubles.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Azijada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Azjiada,

Thank you for your positive review of our resort. I enjoy reading accounts of memorable experiences, and if you have additional feedback, please do not hesitate to ring or write at gm-zighy@sixsenses.com.

I hope we will again have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back into our piece of paradise.

Warm regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Zighy Bay for 7 nights at the beginning of March. We loved it. I can't add much more than what other people have said so far. We had a few minor issues, such as the air conditioning broke one night, but they sent someone straight away to fix it. They went the extra mile being that it was my husbands birthday. Our house-keeper, Cel, was not only very helpful but she also put tea-lights round the pool for his birthday and we had a cake delivered to the room. You get a 30 OMR credit per person for any restaurant in the evening, (on the half board option). No drinks are included of course, and they are very expensive but we knew it would be before we went. I had a kir royale champagne cocktail at Senses on the Edge and it was around £30 which was to be expected. The food in general is outstanding and we ate very well all week. The middle-eastern al-a-carte was our favourite. The setting is beautiful and very very quiet. We loved the fact that all we could hear was birds and waves all week! The staff are trained to a high standard and nothing is too much trouble. Your butler is on speed dial so if we had any issues or questions, he was able to help us immediately. We don't have any children and usually stay at Adult Only resorts but even though there were some children it wasn't really too much of an issue for us as they were so quiet and well behaved. The drive to the resort was an experience in itself. We were told that the journey time was 1 hr 30 but I would say it was more like 2 hours. The salt-water pool was under-used which we couldn't understand why. We enjoyed the walk up the beach every day to take a dip! The only thing left to say is ....... when can we go back!

Room Tip: We had Villa 55 which was close to the main pool, but an end villa. This seemed larger than some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Catmoo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to read you thoroughly enjoyed your couple getaway, and also that you have taken the time to share with us areas of improvement. We depend upon the details in order to excel at our guest experiences, as you have also witnessed.

Cel is certainly one of our superstars, and you are not the first to comment on her success. It is also very rewarding to read that your Butler excelled at creating memorable experiences during your stay. Our apologies that that the air conditioning in your villa needed attention one evening.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back, and please let me know if I can personally assist, or if you have additional remarks.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
gm-zighy@sixsenses.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently my husband treated the two of us to 5 nights in a beach front pool villa for my birthday. These few days of tranquility and relaxation made this holiday the best yet.
On our arrival day, my husband had forgotten to check he had his passport on him and after a frantic rummage through everything in the car, there was no choice but for him to head back home to find it. Meanwhile, the hotel came to pick me up at the boarder post and couldn't have done more to help.
The food was superb, the Arabic food was the best I've ever tasted. The staff (or hosts as they are referred to by the hotel) are knowledgeable about the menu and wines. The service in every aspect of the hotel was world class.
The resort feels like a village, with paths and little roads weaving here and there, connecting the many varied villa sizes. Leave your high heels at home though.
Our beach front pool villa (studio size) was so spacious with a large lounge area, plus the enormous outdoor area had table and chairs, sun loungers and a lovely shaded lounge area. With the good sized infinity pool, we never felt the need to leave our room! Loved lazing in the pool, watching the sand crabs on the beach do their dance with the sea and pop in and out of their holes.
We're spoilt now, how is anywhere else we stay ever going to beat this slice of heaven!

Room Tip: Do beach front if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bearclan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Bearclan04,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide your positive feedback and warm memories. We revel in compliments such as the ones you have provided, and are also delighted to read you fancy our hummous and Arabic offerings.

Please feel free to reach out to me personally if I can assist in making your next stay even more unique, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Perhaps we can even give you occasion to show off your heels.

Warmest regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay
gm-zighy@sixsenses.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

On the plus side - all staff excellent! Meals, excellent, service excellent. Weather - excellent!! Beach front Pool Villa is a must as you can lie by your pool or choose to swim in the sea which is a stones throw away. We had a lovely relaxing time. A much needed break to recharge the batteries we were left in peace to spend our time as we wished but knew the staff were only a phone call away should we wish to take part in any of the activities (which are plenty)
Downside was the drinking water, the resort take the water from the sea and purified it, sadly we found it very unpleasant to drink. This is a personal opinion but for us it did make a difference to the enjoyment of our holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a Beach Front, Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is indeed very heartening to read that you had a totally relaxed time during your stay with us and did enjoy the excellent service render by our team as well the culinary experiences.

We have noted the concern regarding the taste of the water. Please note that we have made use of Reverse osmosis technology, also known as hyper filtration, which is the finest filtration known. This process allows the removal of particles as small as ions from a solution. Reverse osmosis is used to purify water and remove salts and other impurities in order to improve the color, taste or properties of the fluid. It is used to produce water that meets the most demanding specifications that are currently in place.

The drinking water generated at the crystal water plant is regularly tested and absolutely safe, however due to the supplement of minerals can have a different taste compared to imported mineral waters from Europe.

The beachfront villas certainly give the added flexibility to the guests to enjoy the beautiful location and closeness to the waves....

We do hope that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our scenic hideaway soon.

Best regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned from five nights at Zighy Bay and what an amazing place it is. Arriving at three o'clock in the morning after a long journey from the UK the drama of the 4x4 drive on the rough shod road to the resort was amazing. It is as if you are entering a secret kingdom. We were no less impressed in the daylight, our Pool Villa was excellent with a great location and plenty of private outdoor space to relax. We also chose to sunbathe on the beachfront where the guys really looked after us with regular drinks top-ups and good food at the Pool Bar. The resort's restaurants are varied and very good quality particular mention to Senses on the Edge, the signature restaurant back up the mountain with fabulous views of the bay below. It was a pity that we were not able to dine earlier or take a drink at the bar in daylight, but the hotel told us they were looking at this for the future, the food however was fantastic and a most memorable evening. Also try the Arabic cuisine at the Spice Market, or better still the Beach dining sat on rugs eating wonderful lamb cooked in banana leaves in the sandpit. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToffeeDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Six Senses Zighy Bay.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

Thank you for the suggestions made to make your stay even more memorable in future. We listen to our guests as always and make positive changes to add value to their experiences.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and for all the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

Best regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zighy Bay
2.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
#1 of 1 in Dibba Al Bay Ah
242 reviews
9.9 mi away
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
308 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#2 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
1,595 reviews
9 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
#3 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range: $697 - $2,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing