We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded, luxurious, bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six Senses Zighy Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Zighy Bay is very special. It's a good 20 minutes drive from the gates across craggy mountains to the private resort and what a dramtic entrance it is. We chose car, but some of the guests had par-glided in and you can also arrive by boat.
Our beach pool villa was lovely, although friends of ours had a pool villa and I'd say this was just as good and a much lower rate. You'd obviously loose out on direct access to the beach but gain on £££ - you need to weigh up what's most important to you.
The food and drinks (although the wine list is excellent) are expensive so be warned. No sure the buffets offered value. Also the shop was very dear and therefore a bit disappointing. The service is fantastic - right across the resort and the hotel has some fantastic little touches like "pillow menu's"; a great wine and in villa bar; one of the very best breakfasts I've ever had and "wow" make sure you make the most of the dinner in their mountainside restaurant The Edge. Really stunning - very special.

Room Tip: Make sure you go to their mountain restaurant - it's stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay at Six Senses Zighy Bay and would like to thank you for writing such a constructive review. The effort taken is sincerely appreciated.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and would like to thank you for all the positive comments you have made. We are delighted that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.

We have noted your specific feedback on the price of food and beverage as well as choice of items in the gallery shop. We are in the process of enhancing the items on offer and very soon a marked improvement will be seen in this front.

Thank you again for supporting our scenic hideaway, and for the time taken to provide us with your valuable feedback. We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and we look forward to welcoming you back at Six Senses Zighy Bay soon…

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,638)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,079 - 1,085 of 1,638 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at Zighy Bay for the tail end of our holiday in Oman. We were really excited to be coming here as we'd spent the last few months dreaming of relaxing in the sunshine in our villa and plunge pool.

When we arrived just before 3pm our villa wasn't ready (apparently the guest before was late leaving and they were fully booked so no alternatives were available) - although the manager did offer us lunch rather than have us wait in reception it wasn't a great start as we were looking forward to making the most of the villa/pool before the Sun disappeared in the early evening. Still, the complimentary lunch was very good and did appease us.

We then got taken to our villa by our 'butler'. The villas themselves were everything that we hoped for and had real character (all the architecture/layout of the place is very nicely done), the rooms are huge and the plunge pool and outside seating area are fantastic.

We then tried to book a number of spa treatments, paragliding and confirm a meal booked for Sense on the Edge (the restaurant on the top of the mountain overlooking the resort). As the resort was full we had a little bit of a struggle to fit things in when we wanted them (so worth booking ahead if there are particular things that you want to do). I was particularly disappointed that there had been an error with our booking for sun-downers and meal at Sense on the Edge on the Saturday as I had called ahead earlier in the week to book both but only the meal was reserved (there is a small area for pre-dinner drinks at Sense on the Edge which is lovely for sun-downers but Six Senses had only booked us in for the meal), we were able to rearrange for another day but not the kind of mistakes you expect.

My wife raved about the spa treatments, particularly the treatments from the guest therapist there during our stay, and I also went paragliding which was a great experience.

The food at all the restaurants, and especially Sense on the Edge, was very good - the Sense on the Edge 3 course meal was easily the best food that we had in Oman.

Overall, the location is spectacular, the accommodation is fantastic and the food and activities on offer are exactly what you would hope for at a high end beach resort. However, given that the accommodation on it's own is expensive, the pricing when you get to the resort is generally excessive (particularly when you factor in the exchange rate to pounds - a meal for two with a few drinks was costing the best part of £200 - which really was only justifiable for the Sense on the Edge restaurant where the setting and the food is worth the extra money) and the little unnecessary add-ons (i.e. basic still water with a meal was charged for) left you feeling that you were being squeezed for every last penny money - to pinch a quote from another reviewer that still makes me laugh... "charges like a wounded bull". Add in that the service wasn't always faultless (in addition to the things above, towels taken and not replaced/mini bar items not replaced etc); this was possibly because they were full and the staff were stretched - but that's not an excuse when you're paying top whack.

You could argue that you know what you're getting in terms of cost when you go to a place like Zighy Bay (although elements of the pricing still took me back), but if you're going to charge through the nose then the service should be spot on. It's possible we were just a little unlucky and this took the shine off, but when I compare Zighy Bay to the type of spectacular service you get at somewhere like Mnemba Island (an &Beyond beach resort in Zanzibar we stayed at a few years ago) or lots of the resorts in the Maldives, I'm not sure it does enough to justify the price tag.

Room Tip: The beach villas looked worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTorps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Six Senses Zighy Bay.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

Very happy to note that you loved the food at the resort as well as the Fine Dine Restaurant Sense on the Edge. Great to know that the SPA treatments as well as the paragliding was a memorable experience.

We have noted your concerns on the issues you have mentioned and please be assured that corrective measures are being taken. We do sincerely appreciate constructive feedback from our guests always and make positive changes to add value to their experiences.

Please be assured of our untiring efforts to ensure that nothing but the highest levels of service is delivered consistently to all our guests.

We do hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience all the services and facilities as expected of us.

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed in a beachfront Villa for 1 week around the midgle of October. The Villa is beautiful, with lots of space outside (lounge area and sun beds) but since it still was very hot, there was not enough shade in the morning hours (until about 11:00), and not much you could do about it. Also, since the Villas have no space between them, if you end up like us, being sandwiched in between 2 Villas that have 2-3 small children each, the relaxation factor rapidly goes down. You hear everything, each jump in the pool, each scream...for hours, this was really too much to handle at times! We like children, but we chose the place because we thought we would have more privacy. In general, there were a lot of small children, it sometimes felt more like a Club Robinson!
The beach is incredible, fine, white sand and kilometers to walk.
I expected more from the ocean though - the water was very warm but not very clear, the lagoon is dead, no corals, almost no fish (no need to bring your snorkeling gear, there is nothing to see), and sometimes there is lots of garbage swimming in the water (the hotel staff is constantly cleaning the beach, so you don't see it there), and for 2 days there was red stuff (algies?) coming in, so we did not go in at all.
The food in the restaurants is very good, especially the breakfast buffet. There is a restaurant (Senses on the edge) on top of the mountain which is spectacular. And as others have already pointed out, the service is outstanding.
The Spa was ok, not as good as other Six Senses we have been too. The treatments were average, the Spa atmosphere average, and it always was too cold in the treatment rooms for my taste, too much air-condition, within minutes your skin felt like a dried plum.

In Summary: A perfect place for couples with children,lots of space in the villas, good food and service, but if you want a quiet, intimate place this is not the right hotel to go to. Also, if you are into snorkeling and fish watching, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tauchmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay with us.

On behalf of the team, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay. You certainly did not experience us at our best.

I do appreciate your comments on the presence of kids in the resort. Our resort does welcome different segments of guests... We do try our best to allocate villas separately so that couples are allowed the privacy the resort is known for. Sometimes, due to the high occupancy, we do not have this luxury.

Please be assured of our untiring efforts to ensure that nothing but the highest levels of service is delivered consistently to all our guests.

We do hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience all the services and facilities as expected of us.

Best regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed in a standard pool villa (room 71) for a couple of days and our stay highly exceeded expectations.

Three things make the resort stand out: its location, it's design and its level of service.

The location is stunning: remote, in a beautiful bay behind a vast mountain range. On your way to the resort you feel like you are driving on the moon at times.

The villas are designed in local style, but with all comforts you would expect from a five star resort. The design is rustic; all modern technical equipment is there (air con strong enough to cool the massice room, bose sound system, flat screen tv etc) but everything is hidden behind blinds, inside boxes. At night the resort becomes very romantic with thousands of lights illuminating the pathways, again hidden in basket like structures, so that you never see the lights and only get the diffused glow. The gardens are kept impeccably clean. Turndown service included the setup of tealights around the pool area.

The service is outstanding. We requested a villa away from the main pool and our request was fulfilled without the need to remind them. We also requested a late checkout at 8 pm - again this was arranged without any problems. A small complain was handled very well by our GEM, who was exetremely helpful throughout our stay and available every time we needed him.

The only negatives were:
- too many noisy kids in the main pool area. I would have preferred a seperate kids pool
- one of the restaurants were closed (the one on the beach) due to the construction of a saltwater pool, so the restaurant choices were limited to two during the week
- the edge restaurant is only open a few times a week
- i forgot my jacket at the resort but it was never found and the request wasn't handled very well (ie had to call numerous times in order to find out if it was found. I was promised a call back, but never received a call and when i called again, no-one knew what I was talking about and I had to explain the issue again)
- the sunset cruise wasn't great and rather bad value for money

Those minor complaints were far outweighted by the positives and all in all I would really recommend a stay here for a few nights even as only a side trip from dubai.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank London_Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the generous compliments and we are delighted to know that you loved the location, design and level of service during your recent stay.

The unique location, spacious villas, serene atmosphere and imaginative friendly service does make the stay very enjoyable for all our guests. I am glad to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

I am delighted to read your kindhearted comments and the team at Zighy Bay is already looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

I do apologize for the inconveniences caused due to kids in the main pool. The design of individual pools in all villas is to ensure guest privacy.

I am glad to inform you that the Saline Pool work has been completed and this is the latest addition of the facilities of the resort.

Please be assured of our untiring efforts to ensure that nothing but the highest levels of service is delivered consistently to all our guests.

We do hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back so that you can experience all the services and facilities as expected of us.

Best wishes and kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for 1 week in a 2 bedroom suite villa beachfront (no 31). The villa was more than 200 sqmtrs and was elegant and comfortable. I has 2 huge bathtubs, 3 indoor showers and 2 outdoor showers. On both floors there are very spacius bedrooms. 2. floor also has a very nice dining area and a wonderfull outdoor terrace. 1. floor has a spacius living area. All rooms have wondefull views to the sea. The private pool is lovely (especially for the children) and we had direct acces to the nice and clean beach. we also liked the bicycles that all guests get.
Our butler was very, very helpfull. We got our luggage mixed up in Dubai - and he managed - very fast - everything out - meaning that we could enjoy our holiday in spite of the problems with the luggage. He also arranged a cruise and a private dinner on top of the wine tower. I can recommand that.
The in villa dinning service is very fast and effective - and the daily cleaning was spotless.
Regarding the prices I do not think it is that expensive buying foods, drinks etc. It is very high quality and compared to f.e. The Chedi prices are lower. I think you go to Zighy Bay to relax. It is not a place to go if you want a lively bar in the evening and getting together with other guests. There are no local shops, no local restaurants, no local souk etc. nearby the hotel. If you are looking for that you should go to The Chedi instead. But being with your Family in Zighy Bay is absolutely fantastic - and we would be happy to be back again to relax.

Room Tip: A beachfront villa with direct acces to the beach tops the holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eriksen90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay at Six Senses Zighy Bay and would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here on Trip Advisor.

Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with all our hosts.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Six Senses Zighy Bay, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We would like to thank you for the recommendations you have made and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Six Senses Zighy Bay soon!


All the best,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I have just returned home from a memorable 8-day holiday in Zighy Bay. Our Beach-side-villa was so very comfortable, elegant, yet very unique in its Oman-style. The friendliness, the attentiveness and the charm of the staff made the stay immensely pleasant. Whether it was the butler, who can read the mind of the guest and knows what to arrange or care for personal needs, or the smiles of the waiters at the breakfast…just a perfect way to start the day…or the reception, the waiters at the restaurants, the room attendant or any gardener, one passes on the compound, it all boils down to feeling welcomed and comfortable. Not to forget the mouthwatering food so expertly prepared and served.
A special mention has to be given to the activities, like paragliding into the resort on your arrival, if you care to do so, which is an absolutely amazing experience, or a trip to a village in the mountains guided by a very interesting gentleman who grew up there, just to mention two of many choices. However, if one wants total relaxation, this is the place to go to, too, as everybody will do their very best to make you comfortable.

It is the very best resorts we have ever stayed in!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing such generous compliments on our resort.

I am delighted to note that our resort was one of the very best resorts you have ever stayed in. The rustic chic luxury is what makes our resort design stand apart.

The Sabatyn trip with Humaid from our Experiences team is certainly an memorable outing which many of our guests have carried back fond memories of.

On behalf of all at Six Senses Zighy Bay, I would like to thank you for letting us be of service and would certainly look forward to the earliest opportunity to welcome you back to our scenic paradise.

Kind regards,


Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here with my wife in one of the beach front villas. We loved it. The staff were always very helpful and friendly but without getting in the way. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable (especially the bed!) as would be expected of a top end resort. The ensuite pool was refreshing and the sea was several hops away over hot sand. We enjoyed some spa treatments which were particularly appreciated by my wife who has very dry skin. We also took one day's scuba diving which was well organised but the visibility wasn't great. The food was especially good though the menu gets a bit repetetive after a few days. Two issues I had were that it is very hot (we were there in May) - even eating dinner outside I found a struggle and it was too unnecessarily complicated trying to listen to music on my mp3 player in the room.

Room Tip: It depends on your budget but the seafront villas are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SS-ZighyBay, General Manager at Six Senses Zighy Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Six Senses Zighy Bay.

We are pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all the positive recommendations you have made.

We have noted your concerns on the issue you have mentioned and please be assured that we have already initiated to upgrade the facilities and services. The Saline pool is indeed the latest addition to the resort facilities.

Once again we thank you for your valuable time taken to post such great review and for all the recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Six Senses Zighy Bay.

Best regards,

Axel Jarosch
General Manager
Six Senses Zighy Bay, Oman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zighy Bay
2.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
Golden Tulip Resort- Dibba
#1 of 1 in Dibba Al Bay Ah
241 reviews
9.9 mi away
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
Fairmont Fujairah Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
304 reviews
15.1 mi away
Le Meridien Al Aqah Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
Radisson Blu Resort Fujairah
#2 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
1,594 reviews
9 mi away
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
Royal Beach Hotel & Resort
#3 of 5 in Dibba Al Fujairah
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Zighy Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Zighy Bay

Address: Zighy Bay, Musandam Peninsula | PO Box 212, Zighy Bay 800, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Musandam Governorate > Zighy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Zighy Bay
Price Range: $701 - $2,179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Zighy Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eighteen acres self-contained Zighy Bay is set on a 1 mile (1.6 Kilometers) stretch of sandy beach fringed with rugged dramatic mountains and sea at the northern peninsula of Musandam. It features some of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Zighy Bay, temperate climate both summer and winter including an award-winning Six Senses Spa and Wellness Centre spanned over more than 20,450 square feet (1,900 square meters). As the first Six Senses resort in Middle East, Six Senses Zighy Bay blends exceptional guest experiences with a unique style - authentic, personal, adapt seamlessly to Middle East especially to Omani cultures, sustainable and in harmony with individual surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Six Senses Zighy Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Zighy Bay
Six Senses Zighy Bay Hotel Zighy Bay
Zighy Bay Six Senses Hideaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing