We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de Chabanettes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We chose to stay at the Auberge because other reviewers had rated it highly but this delightful little hotel far exceeded our expectations. Located deep in the Livradois Forest area of the Auvergne, the Auberge is great for anybody who loves walking, cycling or spotting birds of prey. The owners, Simon and Shirley, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived and provided excellent service throughout our stay. Our room was large and clean and the bed supremely comfortable.
Whilst the continental breakfasts were ample and tasty, with fresh fruit salad, cereal, yoghurt and freshly baked croissants, the dinners were exquisite. From tasty home made soups and salads, to beautifully cooked chicken and mouth watering desserts, we thoroughly enjoyed every meal.
Throughout our stay, Simon and Shirley were friendly and always happy to provide us with local information and tips on how to make the most of our stay in the beautiful Auvergne.
The worst thing about our stay at the Auberge de Chabanettes was having to leave. We really wished that we had booked to stay for much, much longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    38
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
83
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Three of us used this hotel as a base for 5 days motorcycling in the surrounding area on 26th May - 30th May 2014 . A friendly welcome from Shirley and Simon started the week. Good beer, plenty of excellent home cooked food and a warm log fire to boot (excellent for drying our clothes when we got drenched in the rain). We couldn't have found a better place to stay as both Shirley and Simon have a good knowledge of the area and were great to chat to in the evenings. We were really made to feel at home. I would recommend to anyone who wanted to stay in this beautiful region of France.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francescas, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have cross(spend) that one night in the inn of the chabanette on April 30th.
A magnificent welcome, in a very attractive inn and in a restful frame, far from everything.
A very good meal full of taste realized by Shirley.
A night calms down in a very spacious bedroom and a delicious breakfast prepared by Simon.
Very pleasant, simple hosts.
Thank you again for this short but good stay.
HERVÉ and MÉLANIE

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melyanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived weary after a long trip in a small car with dog from the South, to a wonderful welcome from both Simon and Shirley. we were greeted like long lost friends and taken to a large bedroom with 2 double beds which was simple but immaculate.

A beautiful walk by the nearby river and our energy levels rose again. We walked back to the Auberge to be greeted once again by our hosts who introduced us to a group of people all of whom lived in the nearby village and surrounding area. We joined them for a beer and spent an hour exchanging stories.

Dinner was excellent...all homemade with great care and a delicate hand. Tomato soup , lasagne and salad, local cheeses and a wonderful ginger and lime cheescake and all for 19 euros! The wine was fab and well priced at 16 euros.

A great nights sleep and down to a lovely breakfast prepared and served by the charming Simon!

Thankyou both for your marvellous hospitality and attention to detai, making our brief stay memorable. We will be back!!

Shirley ,Gill and Little Boo!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mishka02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Auberge on 17/8/13 on our way down to Perpignan. What a fantastic place. Simon and Shirley are great people that welcome you and make you feel at home. We arrived a bit late due to traffic but our hosts helped us relax with a lovely meal - a home made Lasagne was perfect for our family of 6 !

The ambience was great and our family room slept 6 meaning we had no worries over split rooms ( unlike last year at a horrible Campanile in Thiers which is to be avoided like the plague ! )

The room was very spacious even with 6 people in 2 doubles and 2 singles. The surrounding countryside is breath-taking and Auberge is completely worth the extra 15 minutes off the A75 road.

Auberge is highly recommended and we will be back !

Thank you Simon and Shirley :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaytee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent a couple of days here on a touring trip of France. What a lucky find! Thank you Tripadvisor. Even if you have to go a bit out of your way, don't miss a stay at this wonderful auberge. We were made to feel so welcome, the food was so good, the room excellent, the atmosphere so relaxing, everything you could want on holiday - we wished we'd planned to stay in the Auvergne, not tour around. We can still see that scenery and smell the fresh, clean air. It was a wonderful stay and gave many happy memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a start to our week in France! This wonderful auberge appears in the middle of nowhere, in a lovely forest area in a beautiful part of France. We were welcomed by the owners, Simon and Shirley who immediately made us feel totally relaxed with a welcome cup of tea, swiftly followed by a glass of wine. Within minutes of arriving we felt as though we were on holiday and work was a long way behind us. There are only a few rooms and ours was perfect, fairly basic but had everything we needed, plenty of room, a clean and tidy bathroom with a good shower and most of all, a very comfy bed.
We loved the relaxed feel of Chabanettes, local friends drop in to say hello and share a glass of wine which emphasised the informal feel of the auberge but without taking away the feeling of being looked after by excellent hosts.
There are not many places to eat in the area but I would suggest that anyone staying here take up the chance to have dinner at the auberge. The food that Shirley cooks and Simon serves is as good, actually better than many meals served in expensive restaurants in France.
They both have extensive knowledge of the area and will be happy to suggest places to visit or even a good running route if you feel the need for an early morning run to burn off some of the wonderful meal from the night before!
If you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel, plush rooms with expensive toiletries at 5 star prices then look elsewhere, but if you want a relaxing, comfortable place to stay in beautiful surroundings and great hosts and excellent value for money, then Auberge de Chabanettes is perfect. We will definitely be back. Thank you Simon and Shirley for a great few days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auzelles
19.3 mi away
Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie
Best Western PLUS Hotel Gergovie
#1 of 2 in Perignat-les-Sarlieve
334 reviews
12.8 mi away
Chateau De Codignat
Chateau De Codignat
#1 of 1 in Bort-l'Etang
210 reviews
12.9 mi away
Logis Le Pariou - Restaurant Le Jardin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Hotel Princesse Flore
16.2 mi away
Le Clos St Eloi
Le Clos St Eloi
#1 of 5 in Thiers
97 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel de l'Abbaye
Hotel de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Sauxillanges
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Chabanettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Chabanettes

Property: Auberge de Chabanettes
Address: Cotes de Chabanettes, 63590 Auzelles, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Auzelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special hotel in a very special location. Auberge de Chabanettes is a true family-owned business run by Multi Award-winning UK hotelier, Tim Bell and his French Partner Ingrid Boyer. Set in the tranquil heart of the Livradois-Forez in the Puy-de-Dome department of the Auvergne, yet easily accessible from Clermont Ferrand, Issoir and Ambert, this historic and famous Auberge now offers you an even better experience. 5 Newly refurbished bedrooms, all with ultra-comfortable beds, high quality linen, towels & toiletries, Free fast Wi-Fi, bluetooth speakers/USB charging alarm clocks and new digital LCD TVs. 2 En-suite Double Bedrooms, 2 very spacious En-Suite Family Bedrooms (up to 5 pax) plus our brand new "Superior" Family Room with Luxurious Bathroom and can sleep up to 6 guests. The Auberge offers a cosy restaurant with our daily "Menu du Jour" celebrating French & International Specialities, and a selection of wines from small, award-winning artisan producers, all in the cozy surroundings of our real fire. Our "Whisky Bar" is stocked with a large selection of high quality beers, spirits and an impressive selection of Single Malt Whisky. The Auberge is ideal for family holidays, romantic breaks, a convenient stop-over en-route through France, or as great a base to explore this area which is a Mecca for Walkers, Motorbikers, Cyclists and outdoor enthusiasts. The Auberge can also be available for exclusive use groups for up to 21 people. Auberge de Chabanettes is committed to Green Tourism and uses local suppliers, recycles everything it can, and supports local environmental initiatives. Open all year round except January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Auberge de Chabanettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing