We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge de Chabanettes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

What a start to our week in France! This wonderful auberge appears in the middle of nowhere, in a lovely forest area in a beautiful part of France. We were welcomed by the owners, Simon and Shirley who immediately made us feel totally relaxed with a welcome cup of tea, swiftly followed by a glass of wine. Within minutes of arriving we felt as though we were on holiday and work was a long way behind us. There are only a few rooms and ours was perfect, fairly basic but had everything we needed, plenty of room, a clean and tidy bathroom with a good shower and most of all, a very comfy bed.
We loved the relaxed feel of Chabanettes, local friends drop in to say hello and share a glass of wine which emphasised the informal feel of the auberge but without taking away the feeling of being looked after by excellent hosts.
There are not many places to eat in the area but I would suggest that anyone staying here take up the chance to have dinner at the auberge. The food that Shirley cooks and Simon serves is as good, actually better than many meals served in expensive restaurants in France.
They both have extensive knowledge of the area and will be happy to suggest places to visit or even a good running route if you feel the need for an early morning run to burn off some of the wonderful meal from the night before!
If you are looking for a 5 star luxury hotel, plush rooms with expensive toiletries at 5 star prices then look elsewhere, but if you want a relaxing, comfortable place to stay in beautiful surroundings and great hosts and excellent value for money, then Auberge de Chabanettes is perfect. We will definitely be back. Thank you Simon and Shirley for a great few days.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    37
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our two day stay in September was all too brief. Chabanettes is located in a beautiful, peaceful and heavily forested part of the Auvergne. Shirley and Simon, our English hosts, have in a few short years, made Chabanettes the centre of the community where locals drop by for a drink, chat or meal. They are terrific hosts and made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed their company sitting by the fire talking with other guests before dinner, and sharing a glass of french wine. Chabanettes is centrally located to many beautiful parts of the Auvergne. Our one regret is that we couldn't stay longer to enjoy Simon and Shirley's hospitality and to explore more of the Auvergne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We found this "hidden gem" in the area where we were going to be for a family wedding anniversary. Following Tripadvisor advise, we were not dissapointed! In fact, overly pleased! Simon and Shirley; our very English hosts,( they do speak french too,) made us feel so welcome; I felt like I was in a forested hidden B&B in the center of England! Of course, this being France; they follow customs, with a wonderful array of fresh sliced fruit, yogurt, freshly baked croissants, and bread , wonderful coffee, or tea for breakfast; (all done by Simon , himself!). If you want a dinner,(asked for in advace,) they will prepare a wonderful 4 star meal, which wil not dissapoint! Shirly is a chef par exellance! They have a full bar available; and tea in the eveing if disired. They proposed an evening platter of cheeze and wine too, if we wanted. They have very spaceious rooms most of them are en suite . What was more special is that, we had made our reservation a few weeks in advance, for the holiday weekend All Saints Day..; not realizing that they were closing at the end of October! They still welcomed us with great pleasure!;Us being the only guests, we were really treated like family! We talked by the roaring wood fireplace until midnight!..; But they are like that! Charming; and are super hosts, that will make you feel so welcome you won't want to leave! Their chambres d'ôte is in the beautiful quiet rolling forest hills of the Livredois-Forez area of Auverge. We made new friends and will retuirn again!

Room Tip: alll rooms are excellent; but the ones facing the (very quiet road) have a nice view of the old br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbknopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked into the Auberge de Chabanettes for two nights, but ended up staying for four. Simon and Shirley made us so welcome and Molly, the dog provided the floor show.
The room was super clean and comfortable and the food was delicious. We could not have found a better place to stay.
The drive into Clermont-Ferrand and to places such as the Puy de Dome are panoramic.
Thank you Simon and Shirley, this was the relaxing sojourn we needed

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a wonderful welcome in August. Sitting across from the Auberge, Simon and Shirley welcomed us with Rose and beer from the bar - much appreciated after a long drive through France. They were lovely with our young dog and suggested going to Puy de Dome as well as Besse et Saint Anastaise and Lake Pavin. The scenery around the area is gorgeous and the hospitality we received was superb. Shirley produces and excellent dinner which is better than some of the meals we have had in France. Thank you.

Room Tip: The rooms are all en-suite with good size double beds and all the facilities required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairyork727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband Josef and I stayed at the hotel and had an incredible time. Shirley, Simon and Molly were incredible hosts, made us feel so at ease, as if we were family. The food was beyond perfect, the gin was spectacular and the place was cosy and perfect and everything we wished for.
Can't wait to see them next year!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looloo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

OK, what about Auzelles? And why go there anyway?

We needed a stop-over for one night and selected this place based on previous TA-reviews and because it was more or less right in the middle of our route.
We have been to France numerous times, but somehow always ´forgot´ about the Auvergne/Puy de Dome/Massive Central. What a mistake. This region of France is spectacular. Nature is overwhelmingly beautifull.
But Auzelles itself does not have that much to offer, except for this place.

Very nice and brave English hosts who just over a year ago started their `adventure` in France, opening up this place. And in our view they are doing an excellent job. Great attention to detail
A modest but pleasant B&B. From the outside it does not appeal that much; on first sight a place where you have something to drink ´en route´ and then move on. We had a very good size room with a perfect bathroom and good beds. Very clean. Bit noisy perhaps but that has to do with the wooden floors. They serve a delicious ´table d´hotes´ at an absolute bargain. One point of advice; a bit more attractive/comfortable spot to sit outside could be recommaned

Main attraction here are however the friendlyness of the hosts and the very good value for money. Whenever back in this region we are sure to visit this place again. Well done Simon and Shirley!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auzelles
24.3 mi away
Hotel Princesse Flore
12.9 mi away
Logis Le Pariou - Restaurant Le Jardin
12.8 mi away
Chateau De Codignat
Chateau De Codignat
#1 of 1 in Bort-l'Etang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Le Clos St Eloi
Le Clos St Eloi
#1 of 5 in Thiers
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
19.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Gergovie
Best Western Hotel Gergovie
#1 of 2 in Perignat-les-Sarlieve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
20.2 mi away
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
Chateau Royal de Saint Saturnin
#1 of 1 in Saint-Saturnin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Chabanettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Chabanettes

Property: Auberge de Chabanettes
Address: Cotes de Chabanettes, 63590 Auzelles, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Auzelles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Auzelles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very special hotel in a very special location. Auberge de Chabanettes is a true family-owned business run by Multi Award-winning UK hotelier, Tim Bell and his French Partner Ingrid Boyer. Set in the tranquil heart of the Livradois-Forez in the Puy-de-Dome department of the Auvergne, yet easily accessible from Clermont Ferrand, Issoir and Ambert, this historic and famous Auberge now offers you an even better experience. 5 Newly refurbished bedrooms, all with ultra-comfortable beds, high quality linen, towels & toiletries, Free fast Wi-Fi, bluetooth speakers/USB charging alarm clocks and new digital LCD TVs. 2 En-suite Double Bedrooms, 2 very spacious En-Suite Family Bedrooms (up to 5 pax) plus our brand new "Superior" Family Room with Luxurious Bathroom and can sleep up to 6 guests. The Auberge offers a cosy restaurant with our daily "Menu du Jour" celebrating French & International Specialities, and a selection of wines from small, award-winning artisan producers, all in the cozy surroundings of our real fire. Our "Whisky Bar" is stocked with a large selection of high quality beers, spirits and an impressive selection of Single Malt Whisky. The Auberge is ideal for family holidays, romantic breaks, a convenient stop-over en-route through France, or as great a base to explore this area which is a Mecca for Walkers, Motorbikers, Cyclists and outdoor enthusiasts. The Auberge can also be available for exclusive use groups for up to 21 people. Auberge de Chabanettes is committed to Green Tourism and uses local suppliers, recycles everything it can, and supports local environmental initiatives. Open all year round except January. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Auberge de Chabanettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing