We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More or less the heart and soul of Russia”

State Museum Preserve Rostov Kremlin
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Rostov
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
511 reviews
337 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“More or less the heart and soul of Russia”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our guide told us that of all the people who visit the Golden Ring fewer than 1% of them are foreign tourists. We mad an effort to see the real Russian country side and get a feel of the Russian spiritualism and the basis of religion. Rostov is one of the towns that forms part of the Golden Ring and the Russian orthodox churches that are dotted around are a sight to see. Unlike Moscow and St Petersburg, the crowds did not exist and we could spend as much time as we needed. Do make an effort to do the Golden Ring tour of a few days. There wasn't anywhere on this trip we felt unsafe or threatened. Language at best of times in Moscow is a problem but even more so in the Russian countryside. It is good to have an English speaking guide with you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eaa1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    112
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

A picturesque site on Lake Nero. The views from the walls are splendid and the whole area is so peaceful. Don't miss the "last judgement" fresco in the church of our savior!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank thall6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaroslavl, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Very historical place. It really wakes up your imagination.

Helpful?
2 Thank Maxim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

A must see. Not much else around town but this complex is totally worth a stay over in town,

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“The most interesting place in Rostov”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

I'm not sure that Kremlin is the only one reason to visit Rostov but it's really zest of this town. If you are going there watch russian film "Ivan Vasil'evich menyaet professiu" (very popular soviet film). So when you'll enter inside you'll think that you already have been at the Kremlin. I think it's interesting to visit walls and churches of Kremlin, if you have not enough time - forget about all expositions, visit only this, you won't be dissapointed.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BouH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Museum Preserve Rostov Kremlin also viewed

 
Rostov, Yaroslavl Oblast
 

Been to State Museum Preserve Rostov Kremlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing