We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced on everything.”
Review of Paras Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paras Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mambajao
Wexford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced on everything.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights last week, this was my third time and they have not changed one bit. Food, drink, cigarettes, gifts, activities all overpriced. I asked for fresh milk in my coffee instead of powder milk and they charged me 110 pesos for it. The coffee was only 60 pesos. How can they justify 110 pesos for a drop of milk. I seen a family hire snorkelling gear from the reception for 350 pesos per set, the hotel were renting them from guys on the jetty for 150 per set. I know because I rented them direct from the local men. Menu prices look good but the portions are for 1 person NOT 2-3 as it says. There is a beautiful italian restaurant just up the road called LUNA, great food and really friendly staff. Overall the staff are quiet good and are as helpful as they can be. Management and Owner need to take a good look at how they are running this place, they seem to be more interested in ripping off the guests than running a resort.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    70
    37
    18
    9
See reviews for
68
19
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My first visit to Camiguin in 2004 made me aware of Paras Beach Resort.it was commendable that they chose this spot due to its close proximity to the White Island which was accessible by boat for FREE.we stayed in a regular room in where we forgot to lock our room while we slept, but were assured by staff that Camiguin is such a safe place one need not worry about anybody going in your room while you sleep.
My second trip to Camiguin was in 2009, and this time, stayed in the cottage directly overlooking the pool and a marvelous view of the sunset. Still the boat to the White Island was available for free.
This time around, we got the same cottage and got still a superb view, but the boat to the White Island now costs 400.00!
All in all, our experience is still good. Free wi-fi is also available. The food is good and the staff is also commendable.
Through the years, Paras Beach Resort has evolved in a positive way. I hope they stay this way and continuously improve their service!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MBoncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I read about Paras Beach Resort at Trip Advisor, but it was my cousin’s anniversary trip that made me decide that our group will be staying here. I was hoping that the resort would give us the best Camiguin experience but they gave us more.

We availed of their package for 12 pax at Php803 per pax inclusive of an overnight stay at the dormitory room, plated breakfast, round trip port transfers via Multicab, trip to White Island, welcome lei & drink upon arrival, usage of resort swimming pool, billiards, table tennis, & Wifi.

Upon arriving at Benoni port, we were greeted by the driver and quickly assisted on the bags. The multicab was big enough to carry 10 of us at the back with all the luggages. JP, our biggest, stayed in front beside the driver. Took us about 30 mins from the port to Paras.

When we got there, checking in was a breeze. We were greeted with a welcome lei which is a necklace, and of course welcome drinks for everyone which was four seasons. After traveling for over 5 hours that was a refreshing treat. We were ushered to our dorm room which was at the 2nd floor (no elevator). The room was very nice, with 12 single beds, it did not feel crowded at all. The beds were soft, and we had individual towels and toiletries. The only downside is that we only have 1 bathroom ensuite, good thing though there was a common cr just beside our room, at least we got to use them as well.

We went to White Island at around 4:45pm, there was an entrance fee which is Php20.00 per person. We used 2 small boats, 6 pax each that is their maximum capacity. It was a short boat ride from Paras to White Island. We enjoyed the island while the boat drivers waited for us to finish. We were each given beach towels to use when outside which was really cool and very convenient. You just have to make sure to return all the towels to them after use because they account everything.

We also used their swimming pool which felt like a hot spring. We had dinner at their restaurant, the food was delicious but a bit over priced.

Breakfast was a choice between American and Filipino cuisine.

We availed the package Half-day Tour A (Php2,200/van). Again, beach towels were provided for our convenience. The van used was brand new so the ride was sweet.

Just a little glitch upon check-out, we settled the payment immediately but then we were not allowed to leave just yet because 1 of the beach towels we used were not accounted for in their record books. After about 10 mins of waiting, we were finally given a go signal to board the multi-cab which will take us back to Benoni port. Over-all a great experience at Paras Beach Resort.

P.S. You could also arrange land transfers from CDO and back at Paras.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lanell Ian Boot... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limay, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My family spent 2 days in Camiguin last March 23-24, 2013, and though we did not stay in this Hotel (we stayed over at Pabualan's Cottage), we had our breakfast here. Upon entering the hotel, the security guard told us we had to pay 150.00 php *consumable* for food. we love seafood so we ordered mostly that. :-) great value for money. and the view was excellent, me and my brothers enjoyed picture-taking in their beach, with the White Island in the background. I would recommend this for future Camiguin-travelers. And what's more, the staff are all-smiles! Something that we Bisayans are known for, our warm hospitality. Proud to be Bisaya! :-) thanks Paras for a great food trip! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KRDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We ate dinner here since they said that the place is great. They have Php 150 entrance fee consumable.
* Food is OK
* Service is perfect-- since my father is on a special diet, they attended to our request and the waiter is very patient with us.
* View-- nice architecture and with warm smiles from the staff and tourists-- love the place
* Price-- just OK, could have been less expensive:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordMarkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

the hotel is strategically located across the white island. one has the choice to get their boat service of Php 4000 or opt for the cheaper service outside the resort.

staff are impressive and ever helpful.

the rooms though needs some cabinets/closets for long staying guest to place their clean clothes in.

Room Tip: please do a room check first before getting any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nice hotel and staff. Complimentary drinks are provided during check-in process. Staff will literally ask you just go to your room and every luggage will be delivered right away. Super nice view of the White Island. Nice room, clean bathrooms but the only cons would be, there are a lot of mosquitoes. So remember to always close all your windows and doors. The swimming is stunning, and the water is like luke warm. Price for a family loft is soooo affordable, good for 4 to 6 persons. It's nice to be a wedding place. Will definitely recommend this resort in Camiguin. White Island is a must and a good pre-nup venue.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robes04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambajao
3.2 mi away
Camiguin Highland Resort
Camiguin Highland Resort
#7 of 10 in Camiguin
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balai sa Baibai
Balai sa Baibai
#1 of 9 in Mambajao
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Camiguin Island Golden Sunset Beach Club
5.3 mi away
Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin
0.7 mi away
Caves Dive Resort
Caves Dive Resort
#7 of 9 in Mambajao
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paras Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paras Beach Resort

Property: Paras Beach Resort
Address: Yumbing, Mambajao, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Mambajao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paras Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Paras Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paras Beach Hotel Mambajao
Paras Beach Resort Camiguin/Mambajao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing