We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent view and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mambajao
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“excellent view and service!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 3 days with some friends this June 2013, and the place is excellent. It is about 5-10 minutes from port (Balbagan) if you're coming from Jagna, Bohol, or about 30min from Benoni port. The amenities, the pool, the rooms, spa, restaurant are just great. The service staff are efficient and courteous. The view is excellent, especially from the pool side. There's even a jacuzzi. Am glad we chose this place, especially for us since this is our first time in Camiguin. Great experience.

Room Tip: choose the one nearest to the pool side and the restaurant. gives you excellent view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winterover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    18
    5
    16
See reviews for
39
38
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Spent our honeymoon here in early 2010 and I don't think we could have chosen a better place. Really first rate. The rooms are just about the coolest I've ever seen. Everything here is first class...but the rates are so reasonable. Even the restaurant is fantastic. I rate this the best place we stayed in the Philippines. We both can't wait to stay there again on a future trip.

BTW, the pics you see of the grounds in the brochures and on their website...it actually is that beautiful. Those are 100% accurate depictions of what you will see when you get here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for an overnight last 5 yrs ago here. The experience was so amazing! We really had fun even if for just a short time. We haven' t seen the sunken cemetery, other falls ,mangrove , etc... I brought their famous Cocoa Tab and Pastels buns with filling. Will surely comeback for more exciting adventure to come as we are or come again - Camiguin!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank La-AaBi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been to many places and I know what makes a trip memorable or terrible. When I and my buddies went to Camiguin, we had a good time there. We have booked 1 month in advance luckily, with Bahay Bakasyunan sa Camiguin.

It's a 20-minute ride from Benoni Port where we arrived by fast craft from Cagayan de Oro. The staffs gave us a warm welcome with drinks. We booked 2 Deluxe rooms which are not just spacious but cozy.

The whole resort scenery is stunning. Bahay Bakasyunan's architecture is a mix of both traditional and modern designs. The room exteriors resembles the traditional Filipino house called "Kubo" in local dialect. But when you're inside the room, the look and feel is that of an upscale 5-star hotel room. The Mini-gym, bar and restaurant and the mini-spa also have the same exterior designs.

The place is very quiet, clean and well-maintained. The resort is just by the seaside which adds a tropical feel when you're outside. For me, it's a very nice place for contemplation and meditation.

We were supposed to start our 2-day trip in the Island that day but because we were so mesmerised by the resort's pristine beauty, we decided to stay, explore and enjoy the resort for just one day. I guess my buddies were also exhausted from the 1-day non-stop trip Manila to Cagayan de Oro then to Camiguin though.

I, together with my friends, had no regrets for choosing Bahay Bakasyunan. Early morning next day, we availed of the complimentary breakfast by the sea. I guess Bahay Bakasyunan which literally means "House of Vacation" is one of the best reasons to keep coming back to Camiguin in the future. I highly recommend the place!

Room Tip: For guests who are on a group trip, they can add two more beds on their rooms so that they can save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I heard Bahay Bakasyunan was the best resort on Camiguin Island, and although I haven't been to any other resort there, I can well imagine that is true. The resort grounds are impeccably maintained and absolutely beautiful. I love the ceiling filled with coconut husks in the lobby! All the rooms are little cottages done in native style -- thatched roof and banig walls -- so they blend into the surroundings really well. Each cottage has thoughtful touches like racks outside to dry your swimsuits and water taps just outside the door. The only two things I didn't like about the room were, (a) the room key was tied into the power switch, so if you took the key away from the room, all the electricity was cut off; and (b) the cocks crowing at dawn drove me crazy! Staff is very friendly and helpful, they really went out of their way to help my husband find his swimsuit that I had mistakenly left outside our cottage with our used hotel towels :) The breakfast was really yummy, my kids loved it!

Room Tip: There is wifi throughout the resort but it is very weak in most places except the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonggamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Overpriced, overpriced. Restaurant(terrible menu)and accomodations were way overpriced. The beach is very rocky (not a grain 0f sand) and the property is about 100 meters from the local port...looking at rusty ships and hear the racket from them is not very romantic or relaxing. Not very recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melba P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mambajao hotels

Istanbul turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

First when we arrive in cagayan at 7:00 the driver was there on time which was good the van is fine good driver and a good tourist guide first of all we avail the 3d/2n package tour which cost to 6k which is worth it than spending room from 3k-8k which is so expensive. So we arrive in the port of cgy which is called balingoan idk what is the spelling but i think thats close to it the guy from the hotel gave us the tickets and it went smooth when we arrive at the benoni port of camiguin the driver fetch us on time and went directly to the hotel in not time after 20 mins or so we arrived the hotel is just so wonderful so modern than the suppose hotel we chose paras which is cheaper by a thousand or two but they have the same amenities but not the same as their exterior and interior was so modern and i guess the only luxury hotel in there yet since its just a small destination. So we got the standard room which is fine its on dark side of the hotel opposite to the pool/sea view rooms its scary at night but its fine. Then the tour went smooth despite of the heavy rain we went through some huge waves but we went all spots despite of the rain. The driver was nice and good. Then the breakfast was ok not too fascinating i was expecting some extravagant but it was like a cheap breakfast. The rooms are great aircon worked well , shower worked crazy sometimes , good lightning , nice tv , nice bed , good staff , huge gym , and ok game room.
But there were some minor problems it was raining so hard at that time and we were shock when we arrive from dinner that our room was so wet and there was a small leak which they fixed the next morning . Too long to ask for hot / bottled water it took them 20-30mins to deliver atleast we are patient so no harsh comment on that. But overall we are here back home remembering our trip in camiguin which is memorable one props to bbc they made everything smooth despite of the storm they tried their best to let us remember this trip for a lifetime. Thanks bbc thank you. It was totally worth it! :) ting!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool and the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh ambio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mambajao
2.1 mi away
Camiguin Highland Resort
Camiguin Highland Resort
#7 of 10 in Camiguin
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
No photo provided
Cabua-An Beach Resort
#9 of 9 in Mambajao
9 reviews
4.8 mi away
Balai sa Baibai
Balai sa Baibai
#1 of 9 in Mambajao
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Camiguin Volcan Beach Eco Retreat & Dive Resort
4.8 mi away
Caves Dive Resort
Caves Dive Resort
#7 of 9 in Mambajao
28 reviews
5.3 mi away
Paras Beach Resort
Paras Beach Resort
#6 of 9 in Mambajao
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin

Property: Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin
Address: 106-110 Gomez St., Mambajao, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Camiguin > Mambajao
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Mambajao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin Hotel Mambajao
Bahay Bakasyunan Sa Camiguin Mambajao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing